We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awful awful awful”

The Old Ship Hammersmith
Ranked #17,000 of 24,437 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$17 - US$47
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Description: The Old Ship Hammersmith has been providing refreshments along the river since 1722. It's still the perfect place to enjoy a slice of riverside life. Come and share this unique part of the Thames with the rowers, the sailors, the swans, the ducks, the coots, and all the rest of us. At any time of the year the combination of our Old Ship hospitality and the ever changing river views will ensure a truly memorable visit whether you're popping in for a drink, dining with us or coming to a party in our beautiful Drawing room.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Have been here a few times. Cool location, good aesthetics BUT awful manager- JAKE
We were having drinks, spent a lot of money. My friend had bought some bottled juice, water and bar of chocolate from a shop before hand and placed these items on the table. They had not touched them during our stay here ( we had spent £200 on drinks) and the MANAGER ( JAKE) came up to us and said “ DONT EVER BRING DRINKS AND CHOCOLATE IN TO THIS PUB AGAIN” and walked away.
We understand the etiquette of not consuming drinks Bought for elsewhere in another establishment but this was damn rude.
Not good enough and unacceptable behaviour!!
Will not be coming back here!

Thank Kinjal P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OldshipCrew, Public Relations Manager at The Old Ship Hammersmith, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2018

Hi Kinjal,

I have spoken to our Assistant Manager Jacob about this and we're assured that he did not shout at you and speak to you in the manner described he simply said that the drink and food bought from outside the venue needed to be put away and it wasn't to be consumed in the venue.

Kind regards,
Sarah
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (340)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

12 - 16 of 340 reviews

Reviewed 26 March 2018

Visited here on a Sunday with family & a baby, staff were friendly and very welcoming. A great pub for young children & babies, highchairs available and lots of room for prams.
Park in the streets near by, no problem.
Clean pub, good selection of food - I would have like more vegetarian food e.g. veggie sausages and burgers but they had an ok choice for vegans. Large selection of beer and ales.
Prices are the standard London prices, not cheap by any means by not overly extortionate for the area (although the roast was sixteen pounds)
Lovely walk along the Thames after.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Melanie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Old Ship Hammersmith, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Melanie.

We're so happy to hear you had a good Sunday lunch with us and that the staff looked after you more.

We apologise for the veggie options, we tend to make all our veggie options vegan as well to maximise accessibility on the menu but we've made a note of this for the future.

However, we're glad you liked the location and the beer selection.

Kind regards,
Sarah
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018 via mobile

Went along last night for the reopening. Excellent evening with great customer service. Especially Jamie, who made sure the vegetarian in our group got some food!

Thank joejohnsey1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Old Ship Hammersmith, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Joe,

We're so glad you enjoyed yourselves and that Jamie looked after you so well. I'll pass the compliments onto her.

Kind regards,
Sarah
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

We went for the relaunch night and yeah had a great time! We all work locally so will be coming back. Beer selection is good, loving the new refurb and the rooms upstairs, plus the outside area's gonna be great in the Summer. Special mention to Jamie who really looked after us all night as we were sitting outside, made sure we got some of the food and goody bags and genuinely had great chat.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Michael S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
David C, General Manager at The Old Ship Hammersmith, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Hi Michael,

We're so glad you popped down and enjoyed yourselves so much. We look forward to seeing you again for a pint or two.

Kind regards,
Sarah
Sales & Marketing Coordinator

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

Wonderful warm and cozy winter weekend Sunday lunch with visitors from the the US. Super friendly service and the The Old Ship has just has re-opened after a complete refurbishment so all new inside. Everyone happy, ladies had salads, boys had burgers and fish and chips, and the Sunday Roasts looked delicious. A good Selection of beers and a good wine list.

Thank Philippe B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Old Ship Hammersmith also viewed

 
Walton on the Hill, Surrey
London, England
 

Been to The Old Ship Hammersmith? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing