We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Everything perfect”
other travellers have booked this property
Living room
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Living room
Living room Gold Award 4 star accommodation
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
27 reviews
Living room
Living room
Gold Award 4 star accommodation
WiFi free of charge
Dining room fireplace
Dining room -  kettle, toaster, coffee machine and free coffee capsules provided
Dining room - historic brick wall dating from 16th century
Stairs from the dining room
Bedroom 1- King-sized bed and en-suite shower
Egyptian cotton 400 thread bed-linen
Bedroom 1 - fluffy white towels
Bedroom 2 - twin single beds and bathroom with bath tub
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 2
Kitchen - oven, microwave, hob, fridge, washing machine
Kitchen
En-suite shower room for bedroom 1
En suite to Bedroom Two - combining  historic charm with contemporary facilities
En suite to Bedroom Two - bath tub, basin and toilet
The Old Bakery - front of Chalkley's and The Bakery
Historic photo of The Old Bakery - Mr & Mrs Chalkley with their delivery cart (minus the horse!)
Fruit from Deli-on-the-Green
A basket for food from The Larder, a lovely local cafe and food shop
The Green Winchmore Hill - pubs, cafes, resaurants and great food shopping
Deli-on-the-Green  - food shopping, coffee and lunches
Menu at Deli-on-the-Green
Grovelands Park in Summer - the park is near The Old Bakery.
Guide books are provided for your use
We start you off with some basic provisions
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 4
London, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Anke A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Everything perfect”
Reviewed 19 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015
1
person found this review helpful

The apartment is located very close to the next station and it is possible to reach central London in a very short time.
The location is very quiet and relaxing.
There are many shopping and dining opportunities in the area.
The apartment is well suited for 4 persons with its two bedrooms, each with own bathroom.
Nina is very friendly, provided us with some breakfast credentials for the first day and is very helpful if you have any questions.

All in all a very nice apartment which I would recomment to everyone.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Close to station, very quiet
Liked least: Nothing, everything perfect
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marlingc
Redwood City, California
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Flat in a Lovely Village”
Reviewed 4 August 2015 for a stay in June 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for four nights in late June as we began our European vacation. This was the perfect place to start as we felt like we were at home! The Old Bakery is a beautifully converted, updated cottage from the 1500s. It is very comfortable with living space downstairs (living and dining room) and two bedrooms/bathrooms and kitchen upstairs. As everyone else has mentioned, the stairs are steep and you have to be careful navigating them but it was not an issue for us. The beds were comfortable and the bathrooms were both modernized. The train station is just a few minutes walk and getting into Central London was easy and took around 15-20 minutes. Nina, our hostess, was extremely knowledgeable and provided a lot of great tips for sightseeing. She was also very accommodating and allowed our jet-lagged weary family to check-in early for some much needed rest. Nina also was kind enough to provide a fresh loaf of bread, cheese and farm fresh eggs which we enjoyed the next morning. The cottage has great wifi and is packed with books and maps.
The village is fantastic and we enjoyed coming "home to our village" for dinner at night rather than stay in central London. If you like Indian food, the Winchmore Tandoori has excellent food and great, friendly service. The King's Head Pub also had delicious food and of course, a great assortment of local beers. There is a washing machine in the cottage but no dryer so since we were out sightseeing every day, we did not have time to wait for our clothes to dry. There is a laundromat around the corner from the cottage where they will wash/dry/fold your clothes for a very reasonable amount of money so use them if you run out of time like we did!
Overall, we had a wonderful time at the cottage, enjoyed the lovely village and enjoyed sightseeing in London. If you are looking for a retreat away from the big city craziness, this is a wonderful alternative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Extended Family
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Aug 2015
I am delighted that these guests had a good time in London and that they welcomed the opportunity to check in a little early. We are happy to offer early check-ins whenever we can. This depends on whether the apartment is occupied the night before.
We keep looking out for interesting guide books to add to the collection in the apartment. We realise that carrying heavy guide books with you in your suitcase is not ideal and so provide a selection for you use while you are here. It also means that you can read some more quirky and specialist guide books, which you are unlikely to find at home. I found a new guide book today called "London villages" which has some good things in it, although it includes some areas of London which don't really qualify as village-like to my mind, and omits several which do!
Also in the apartment we have "London Hidden Houses" and "The Thames Path". Those are both excellent books, particularly if you have been to London before and are ready to explore the many less well known places of interest.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alina H
Stockport, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful cottage in a great location”
Reviewed 23 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I stayed for 4 nights with my sons aged 12 and 9. The cottage has been beautifully converted (it has a very smart, modern bathroom, kitchen and en-suite) and is well looked after. It's surprisingly spacious, very warm, and extremely comfortable. It is very old and unusual but we all loved its quirkiness. Central London is easy to get to - just over 30 minutes on a train and tube and we were in front of Big Ben! The small railway station is a 2 minute walk across the green and the ticket office was very helpful. Winchmore Hill is lovely, leafy and quiet with a scattering of pretty pubs and cafes, restaurants and quirky shops all a few minutes walk away. There is a deli almost opposite the cottage and a really nice Sunday morning farmers market next to the station. Sainsburys is not far but we easily arranged a delivery online. There is a beautiful park 5 minutes walk away with a lake, fields and woodland (including a woodland playground for kids next to a stream). We didn't need a car at all. Nina was very friendly and helpful with lots of suggestions for things to do and see. She has left household instructions that are very easy to follow and lots of helpful guides, maps and leaflets. It was nice to know that she was nearby if needed. We will definitely stay here again. I do recommend it to other families with children but do advise that the stairs are an issue. They Are very steep and would be a problem for small children and some elderly guests.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Uniqueness of cottage. Pretty location. Lovely bath and shower. Warm.
Liked least: Steep stairs and upstairs kitchen
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
24 Mar 2015
We are delighted that this pleasant family had a good time in London.
We agree with her about the Deli; I go there for coffee most days and their selection of food for eating at home or in the cafe is terrific. The Sunday farmers market, which is a recent initiative, is a great local asset- lots of lovely food and a good atmosphere.
We hope this guest will visit us again. We offer a small discount to returning guests to show our appreciation.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Nathalie0...
Antwerp, Belgium
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“Really enjoyed our stay”
Reviewed 27 May 2014 for a stay in April 2014
1
person found this review helpful

We stayed for 5 days with two teens. Train station is really close by so you're in London really quick. Lovely host, comfy beds, charming house, good wifi, lots of extras (travel guides, first breakfast, etc). Well equipped kitchen, even though the fact that it's upstairs takes some getting used to. My son is over 6 ft, so he hit the rather low ceilings and doorways a few times. Didn't keep him from loving the house, mind you.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jun 2014
I am so glad that this family from Germany enjoyed their stay in London. We also have two very tall young men in our family. So, the need to duck through some doorways is a familiar story. Some of the rooms in Chalkley's apartment have very high ceilings, and some quite low ceilings. The high ceilings are in the upper floors on one side of the house (currently a twin bedroom and a bathroom) and they had the experts rather perplexed as to why they were so high. But a few years ago an historic buildings architect worked out that the central part of the Old Bakery, which dates for about 1595AD, was originally a village meeting hall and was formed of one large space with a huge fireplace in the middle; this space was later divided up when it became a farmhouse. Working out the story of the building has been one of the joys of living here and we are delighted that our guests take pleasure in its excentricity. Nina
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$196
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing