We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter Treat”
Review of Friend At Hand

Friend At Hand
Ranked #1,362 of 24,255 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$21
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Bloomsbury
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My husband and I visited the Friend At Hand earlier today. What a fab pub with a great atmosphere. The staff were very polite and helpful. They have an extensive menu with plenty of choice for vegetarians. Having seen the menu we were tempted by the Sunday roast, and it didn't fail to deliver. Would definitely go back and have no hesitation in recommending this brilliant pub.

Thank MrsDigs73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Friend At Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Mrs Digs

Thank you so much for your 5* review

We are delighted you and your husband visited us over the Easter weekend, Thank you for describing us as a fab pub with a great atmosphere. Many of our guests describe us like this, which is most gratifying.

Our team are very polite and helpful, we are glad you encountered this.
We do have an extensive menu, catering for all our guests needs, we are happy you enjoyed the Sunday roasts.

We have a new menu coming out on May 2nd, we do hope you will visit us again to try some of our new dishes.

Thank you for highly recommending us to other TripAdvisor users

Like our page on Facebook
Friend At Hand
friendat.hand.5

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

6 - 10 of 506 reviews

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was in London with a group of friends from Germany. Started and ended the stay with drinks here... And also between. Barman James a great character and look forward to my next visit in July

Thank Gunnerbelieveit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Friend At Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Hello Gunnerbelieveit

Thank you so much for your 4* review.

We are so happy you chose to visit us nearly everyday on your visit to London with your friends.
Yourself and your friends were an absolute delight, brightened up my day bantering with you all.

Look forward to meeting you all again when you visit us in July, I'll reserve your favorite table for you : )

Like our page on Facebook
Friend At Hand
friendat.hand.5

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

With building work opposite it isn't easy to spot this pub if you don't know it's there. Good choice of real ales, friendly and efficient service and good food.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chris S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Friend At Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hello Chris

Thank you so much for your 4* review.

We are glad you discovered us, we are a little gem hidden away, the works opposite on the hotel finish in a couple of weeks,.

We have many guest from all over the country and from all over the world, as Britain is renowned for it's Real Ales, we endeavor to provide a wide choice for you to select from.

We are delighted you encountered a friendly and efficient service, and enjoyed the food on our extensive menu.

We have a new menu rolling out on May 2nd, so we would do hope you will visit us again,and sample some of our new fayre.

Follow us on Facebook
Friend At Hand
@friendat.hand.5

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2018 via mobile

We went to Friend At Hand for 2 suppers while staying in a hotel nearby. The pub was lively but there was a table available both times. Great service at the bar by the friendly ladies and a fabulous selection of beers on tap and whiskies. Food always came out within 15 minutes piping hot. One of our visits the bartender misheard my husbands order and the wrong food was brought out, they quickly and efficiently took care of the mistake with no questions asked. I felt they handled it very professionally. On our visits we tried the fish and chips, chicken platter and the beef and half chicken Sunday dinner and everything was delicious! I definitely recommend this to anyone staying in Bloomsbury area!

Thank Samantha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Friend At Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 17 March 2018

Hello Samantha

Thank you so much for your 5* review.
Firstly may i apologise for the misunderstanding when your order was taken, but it was my pleasure to rectify the matter, thank you for your kind comments.
The ladies behind the bar are a credit to us, they are always smiling and friendly to our guests.
Thank you for recommending us highly to other TripAdvisor users.
We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook
Friend At Hand
@friendat.hand.5

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

Stopped in for a late dinner. Staff was really nice. Had the steak and ale pie and fish and chips. Both were good.

Good atmosphere. Games on.

1  Thank BBlkburn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
James C, Manager at Friend At Hand, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2018

Hello BBlkburn

Thank you for your lovely 4* review.

It was a pleasure accommodating you for you late dinner. You couldn't have chosen two more British dishes (Steak & Ale Pie, Fish & Chips) delighted you enjoyed along with the sport.


We make every effort to provide a warm and welcoming atmosphere and pride ourselves on the warm and friendly welcome our guests receive from our team.

We do hope to welcome you again soon.

Follow us on Facebook
Friend At Hand
@friendat.hand.5

James

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Friend At Hand also viewed

 

Been to Friend At Hand? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing