We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No sleep for a tired traveller...”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in London
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
The Ivy House Hotel
Ranked #841 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 18 December 2013

When we arrived, we got our keys, and it turned out it was a "two in one" hotel: There were actually two hotels, with two doors, sharing owners, reception and "dining room". Our room was at the part called Ivy House Hotel, even though we had booked at the Holly House Hotel, but it didn't really matter.

The room faced the railway, and we could hear the noise from the trains though out the night, so we didn't sleep very well. The so called en suit bathroom was really tiny, and not very nice, so we couldn't bear the thought of showering there.

The breakfast room was in the basement, and very small and cramped. We were very happy we didn't have breakfast there on the first day, as it was boring, white toast, with some crappy "jam" (it looked very artificial).

The room was also very small, so moving around was hard, and even after we turned the heat off, it was sticking hot.

The only good thing I can say about the hotel is that it was very cheap, so I guess you get what you pay for...

Room Tip: Might help to ask for a room facing the street, but would rather go for another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NordicCityGirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (89)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 89 reviews

Reviewed 15 August 2013

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Gregorio Cezar O
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 August 2013

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
1  Thank Roei G
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 23 July 2013

This is the worst hotel I have ever booked.I was told the bathroom is being worked on so I was walked to another hoteI (about 5 min walk in the hot sun) shown a room 'underground' which was hot and dump/humid. I was walked to another hotel which was dirty. I was walked back to Ivy House Hotel.I Ieft this place and had to look for another hotel. I would be very happy if I could be contacted for more details, please. I paid for nothing!

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank Harriet W Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 July 2013

Room was clean, comfortable and quiet. It was very hot and there was no fan, but had the weather been cooler, it would have been an ideal stay. Wifi was fast and reliable. Would stay here again happily.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com
Thank A P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Enrico Hotel
Enrico Hotel
#913 of 1,081 in London
561 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#792 of 1,081 in London
471 reviews
Pimlico
Stanley House
Stanley House
#805 of 1,081 in London
1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Venture Hostels
#712 of 1,081 in London
144 reviews
Pimlico
easyHotel London Victoria
easyHotel London Victoria
#775 of 1,081 in London
2,145 reviews
Pimlico
Comfort Inn Buckingham Palace Road
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ivy House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ivy House Hotel

Address: 18 Hugh Street, London SW1V 1RP, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #841 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Price Range: RM 213 - RM 372 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Ivy Hotel London
The Ivy Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing