We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ideal for a visit to Apollo Victoria Theatre”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #535 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 4 May 2017

I booked tickets for Wicked at the Apollo Victoria theatre as a present for my mum, so we looked at staying somewhere nearby for the night. This hotel is in a great location, just 5 minutes from the tube and a 10 minute walk from the theatre. The rooms are okay, quite small but perfect for an overnight stay. Our room was on the third floor, up 6 flights of stairs so not ideal for elderly people (I came across an elderly person trying to take her luggage down from the same floor!). Breakfast was okay, just a small buffet of croissants, cereal and yoghurts and finishes quite early I though (9am). Overall it was ideal for a night away and at a good price compared to the other hotels in the area.

Room Tip: Beware of the stairs if you have limited mobility.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Laura B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (501)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

14 - 18 of 501 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2017 via mobile

Stayed here for one night whilst on business. Rooms quite one the small side and quite thin as you can hear people in the next room. Long climb up to the top floor but this was expected. Personally I feel that the rooms are a bit dated and need updating. Breakfast was cold buffet/continental style and was sufficient, as expected and replenished as necessary. I've stopped at very similar hotels on the road that are similarly priced and feel that they are slightly more modern.

Stayed: April 2017, travelled on business
1  Thank Steven S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 February 2017

We stayed here for two nights in January, 2017.
We always stay in this general area of London on our visits there as Pimlico is a pleasant area with plenty of restaurants. It is relatively quiet too. Transport links on the Underground are good and you can walk along the river to Westminster Bridge.
We were impressed with this small hotel. Our room was spotless. It was always warm and the staff were always friendly.
Breakfast was good and included in the daily rate. The only issue with all of the hotels that we have visited on Belgrave Road is the lack of a lift. We had to go up 6 flights of stairs to get to our room! However, don't let this detract from a good hotel.

  • Stayed: January 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Seasonedtravellers50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2017 via mobile

Had a one night stay here and it was spotlessly clean. Small bathroom but big enough. Tea and coffee making facilities in the room. Very friendly lady on reception desk and located in a safe area. Lovely little continental breakfast in the morning included in the price. One criticism was that there were no spare pillows in the room and reception was closed when I realised this. We were attending wicked in the Apollo theatre and it was a ten minute walk from this guest house or one tube stop. Fabulous location and brilliant value for money!

Stayed: January 2017, travelled with friends
1  Thank Connie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2016

Very nice and quiet hotel in very nice neighborhood. Friendly and accommodating staff. Close to the tube station and numerous buses. They don't have an elevator though. Also you may find rooms really small.

  • Stayed: April 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OLEG V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#196 of 1,081 in London
649 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#121 of 1,081 in London
2,129 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#184 of 1,081 in London
1,462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#544 of 1,081 in London
806 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#115 of 1,081 in London
780 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in London
#307 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: RM 416 - RM 903 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing