We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“No charm, but clean and convenient”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Melbourne House Hotel
Ranked #527 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Reviewed 8 November 2017

I booked this hotel via the Internet, wanting to stay in a locally-owned hotel which I thought would have more personality and charm than the nearby Best Western and Comfort Inn. I was disappointed in this aspect. The front desk is off the main hall, and has a very tiny sitting area, so even though I stayed for a week, I barely spoke to the front desk staff. The hotel was clean and breakfast was adequate. Best feature is the location - only two blocks from Pimlico Station and about 5 blocks from Victoria Station and some good restaurants nearby. I felt very safe walking back alone after dark.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jax712014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (502)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 502 reviews

Reviewed 29 September 2017

Wife and I enjoyed our 4 night stays here. Staffs were fantastic. Good housekeeping, Excellent breakfast served in the basement. We had a balcony room looking into the street. However, the building was doing façade renovations, a big scaffolding with screens were outside blocking the view. Worst part is we can't step into the balcony due to the alarm system outside to prevent break-ins.... reason for a missing star.

Room was small (like any boutique hotel) and clean. Street and area is mostly boutique hotels, quiet, safe, close to buses and Underground. Nice restaurants and grocery store within walking distance.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank bcmatrixman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 September 2017 via mobile

This hotel was really great! Especially considering the great price. The hotel employee s were extremely nice and helpful (they even excepted a package for us). The hotel was clean and breakfast was pretty good. Highly recommended!

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank noga l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017

My wife and I enjoyed staying in this hotel for 3 days. It is perfectly located within walking distance from bus and train stations and close to most of the main attractions: Buckingham Palace, Westminster Abbey, Parliament, etc. The stuff is very polite and friendly, especially Manager John. He gave us few good suggestions and even sent back to us a piece of clothing which we left in the room. The breakfast is quite good, especially keeping in mind that it is included in a very reasonable room price.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Boris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017

By no stretch of the imagination can this be called a hotel. As Alex Polizzi (the Hotel Inspector) might be prone to say, there’s a world of difference between a B&B (which is what this is) and a Hotel. In fact, ‘Hostel’ is not far from the truth either. Admittedly we got off to a bad start. When we booked the hotel through Booking.com we made it very clear that because of mobility problems (arthritis) and as the hotel has many floors but no lift (a problem identified by other users) we needed a ground floor room. Instead, and seemingly as a special favour, we were allocated a second-floor room, up four flights of stairs. Customer service seemingly does not extend to carrying luggage, whether you’re disabled or not. On that point – this hotel is not suitable for anyone disabled.

We should have been alerted as soon as we checked in really – but by that time we’d already prepaid. The check-in desk is reminiscent of a hostel check-in – and what is jokingly referred to as the lounge is smaller than most bedrooms – right in front of the check-in kiosk.

Then we’re told that breakfast finishes at 9am – and check-out is 10am. Breakfast is served in the breakfast room in the basement, so on check-out day that’s five flights of stairs – twice. Breakfast itself is a bit of a joke – continental – but not sure which continent. Tinned fruit in 2017? Again – it’s somewhat like you’d imagine a hostel dining area to be. No wonder breakfast is included. I wouldn’t bother really. As the extravaganza of a breakfast stops being available after 9am it’s probably a good idea to rest quietly in your room until 10am when you must leave. That’s unless you also have builders taking down scaffolding directly outside of your bedroom window from 8.30am until you leave at 10am. Once again, customer service does not extend to advising builders to wait until guests have checked out before they launch into banging, drilling, and shouting. Actually, all in all, that’s the problem – this hostel operates based on what’s best and convenient for the owners and the staff – certainly not for guests. And all of this for a rip-off £120!
Here’s one guest who won’t be back.

Room Tip: Stay elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank LeoDurham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
manuelaLondon, Manager at Melbourne House Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 September 2017

Dear Guest
We are very disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us.
We feel the comments you made are very unfair and do not tell the truth and we need to clarify your statement.
I am insulted by describing us similar to a hostel; I guess you have never stayed in one in central London.
We are a small family run hotel and we strive to give our guests a more personal atmosphere than you would get in bigger chain Hotels, that does come with a compromise as the hotel is an old victorian building and limited in space and on 6 different levels and without a lift, stairs are the only way to get to rooms but that is reflected in the price.
Our rates are very reasonable for the area £120 for a room for 2 people including breakfast and all taxes, this is central London, we are 20 minutes from Buckingham palace, big ben and the houses of parliament. Running a business in central London is very expensive, not just do you get a breakfast you also have a room for 24 hours with clean sheets that we pay for. The online agent also takes a very hefty slice of the room rate. Staff also have to be payed and taxes such as rates and vat not to mention heating, hot water, cleaning material and much much more, the list is endless. If you think the room rate is a rip off, you should get out more and live in the real world.
Our value for money is very good as previous reviews have proved.
The customer service we provide is an excellent one as we always strive to help our guests for whatever queries they might have, for example if they need to print any documents or boarding passes it is printed for free, take time to have a chat or book activities, help them book a cab.

Our male receptionist always offer help with Luggage. This was offered to you but you declined. As you may recall we also offered to change you to a ground floor double room but you insisted on a twin which was on the second floor, no other twins are below.
Our rooms are clean and the Breakfast is NOT just tinned fruit, we also offer fresh fruit like bananas and apples. Our breakfast includes a variety of meats, cheeses and eggs. Our hot croissants and pancakes are a favourite of many of our guests. We also offer Yogurts, cake, cereals, a selection of toast including brown seeded bread. We serve tinned fruit as it goes well with our yogurts and a lot of people like the combination.
It is true we did have the exterior of the building painted and the scaffolding was taken down on your departure but they started at 10 am which was at a reasonable time.
Unfortunately it is people like you which cause demise to small family businesses. Your review is very one sided and hateful, which we feel is not deserved which your review history on TripAdvisor confirms this.

It will come as no surprise to you that we certainly will not welcome you here again, I sure where ever you visit next, you will find something to complain and moan about by expecting 5 star accommodation at cheap budget prices.

Kind Regards
John Desira

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Pimlico
Blades Hotel
Blades Hotel
#200 of 1,081 in London
652 reviews
Pimlico
Luna & Simone Hotel
Luna & Simone Hotel
#120 of 1,081 in London
2,130 reviews
Pimlico
The Belgrave
The Belgrave
#183 of 1,081 in London
1,463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pimlico
Mornington Hotel London Victoria
Pimlico
Best Western Corona
Best Western Corona
#542 of 1,081 in London
811 reviews
Pimlico
The Windermere Hotel
The Windermere Hotel
#114 of 1,081 in London
782 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Melbourne House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Melbourne House Hotel

Address: 79 Belgrave Road, London SW1V 2BG, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Pimlico , Victoria
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Room Service
Hotel Style:
#123 Family Hotel in London
#306 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: RM 421 - RM 913 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Melbourne House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Melbourne House Hotel is a family run Bed and Breakfast a short walk from Victoria Station,Houses of Parliament, Big Ben and Buckingham Palace. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Melbourne House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Melbourne Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing