We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
1 Lexham Gardens
Nearby Hotels
US$220
US$184
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Savings alert! 11% below average rates

The price you found is 11% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$206/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

US$171
US$121
Doubletree
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Park International Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$135
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
London House Hotel(London)(Great Value!)
US$98
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$221
US$165
Doubletree
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$276
US$239
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$224
US$159
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
US$73
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
US$167
US$133
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
Savings alert! 15% below average rates

The price you found is 15% lower than this hotel's average rate of US$156/night.

We analyze rates over a 60 day period, and compare your selection to the average rate of comparable stays to ensure you're getting the best possible deal.

Grand Plaza Serviced Apartments(London)(Great Value!)
US$191
US$157
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Internet
Reviews (649)
Filter reviews
649 results
Traveller rating
47
129
182
127
164
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
47
129
182
127
164
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsearl's court stationsmall bathroomkensington high streetflat screen tvhotel roomfew minutes walkcereal
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 649 reviews
Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Visited with my partner for a night and can safely say I will never be visiting again. To start with the carpets are stained and dirty with god knows what, the walls were also covered in stains and peeling paint with also what looked like human faeces smeared down the wall. The tv was hanging off the wall and had wires hanging down from it making it one of the many health hazards. The wall behind the bed where a headboard should have been was covered in dirty marks. The bathroom was uncleaned upon our arrival with hairs in the shower and sink. The wardrobe door was also non existent. There was no temperature control of any sort in the room and when we requested a fan they gave us a broken one which did not work. So we were left to sleep in the 24 degree heat meaning not only were we in a dirty room but we were now unable to sleep due to the temperature. There was also no hot water in the shower. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The Lexham Gardens Hotel is a smaller non-chain hotel located in the heart of Kensington, a 10- minute walk from the Earl’s Court Stop on the London Tubes. Making an evaluation of the Lexham Gardens is difficult because what people want out of a hotel differs widely. Some folks want a complete base-camp experience where they can essentially live out of their room. Others seek luxury and the total hotel pampering experience. Neither of these approaches come cheap.

We did not fit these two profiles. Our needs were for a clean, well-located, and moderately priced accommodation. The Lexham Gardens more than met that need. It would not have satisfied either of the two aforementioned groups. Our room for the three of us was small, with two beds, a double and a single, contained within. You could be generous and say there was no wasted space. The bathroom was also quite small and could not contain two individuals at the same time, unless they were circus contortionists. (We aren’t). That being said, the furniture was tasteful and comfortable, as were the beds. The window opened out to the back alley, so we did get circulating air. As we traveled during the Summer, we did not test the heating system. TV worked. Hot water kettle worked. The plumbing worked. Internet worked. In addition, there were extra (good quality) towels and some toiletries and snacks thrown in.

Breakfast is served in the dining area next to the lobby, which also doubled as a reading area. It is extra to the room charge, but the breakfast is a traditional English and hearty, with fresh eggs, meat, potatoes, beans, croissants, fruit, and tea or coffee, reasonably priced and good.

In our book, hotel staff is the difference between a bad, good, or excellent hotel. In our limited experience, the staff at the Lexham Gardens was helpful and in one instance heroic. We got excellent directions to places to eat, ways to get around, odd sites to visit, etc. They invariably honored our sometimes-needy requests with grace and tact. In one case, they saved us from an expensive booking error in which we had originally set our rooms a day too early, not taking into account the overnight flight. Bookings.com through which we had made our reservations was unhelpful despite our finding our error 10 minutes after we made it. A direct call to the Hotel was sufficient to move the reservation one day ahead. (Another review is warranted on Bookings.com squirrely web site that simultaneously tells you your reservation cannot be changed and that it can always be changed – an idea that might work in quantum mechanics as well as deceptive marketing?!) Bookings.com then refused to honor the change but after we insisted they contact the hotel, Bookings.com relented. A hotel that is willing to literally bite the hand that feeds it to help a guest? Need we say more? Lexham Gardens 1, Bookings.com 0.

If you find yourself in London and in need of a room, and your raison d’etre is the whole wide city, and not a 10x15 foot space, you should consider staying at the Lexham Gardens.

Please note. The Lexham Gardens is not handicap friendly. Entrance alone requires about 10 good-sized stone steps. The elevator does not go to the lower floor (where our rooms were located).

Room Tip: Try the upper floors.
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as it it was cheap and in an excellent location for travelling along the main tube lines. Reception was nicer than the rooms and our room was a small double on the 4th floor. The walls were thin so you can hear other people in the rooms. For a cheaper option turn stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank TheTravellerRC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

1 Lexham Gardens is a dirty, (carpet stained, chip peeling, etc.) outdated, malodorous place that I had the misfortune of staying at in London for 3 nights. It was somehow listed as 3-4 stars depending on where I looked prior to booking and the hotel pics and positive reviews are inaccurate, or about another hotel. Fortunately, I made sure I was busy and only had to sleep there. My room was the size of a prison cell and so small literally you could not open the wardrobe without getting at it sideways. The bathroom was equally ridiculous and on some days you could only get hot OR cold water, as the shower was impossible to adjust. The two positive factors, but not redeeming enough to EVER stay there again, is that the front desk staff were nice, and the location is good-near restaurants and the tube, so escaping the pre-paid horrible place was easy to do.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackILjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 July 2017

My friend booked this hotel for us based on the deceiving photos. The room was in the basement, smelled horrible, was dirty with hair on the backboard and what looked to be a blood stain on the bed cover. There was no air-conditioning, the window blinds were filthy, and when I turned on the light to use the bathroom at night, a huge cockroach was crawling along the floor in the bathroom. This hotel was so disgusting that my friend's husband reported it to the health department primarily because of what appeared to be blood stains on the bed covers. DO NOT STAY IN THIS DISGUSTING HOTEL.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank jveasey2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews