We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good as a base for the museums”
Review of 1 Lexham Gardens

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
1 Lexham Gardens
Ranked #904 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Reviewed 6 September 2017

The Lexham Gardens Hotel is perfectly fine as a base to explore the nearby V and A, Science Museum etc. It seems to be well run, basically clean (although the carpets could do with attention) and comfortable. We had a good nights sleep, being on the upper floor and so a bit away from traffic noise. The room was hot (no air con) but there was a portable fan. It would have been helpful if there was a bracket on the wall to attach the fan to. As it was we had to precariously balance it on the TV!
We didn't try breakfast as there are plenty of places to eat locally, although the price didn't look unreasonable.
I think the Lexham Gardens Hotel is fine for the price, but I wouldn't rave about it.

Room Tip: Higher is quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Peter Mills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (607)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

6 - 10 of 607 reviews

Reviewed 29 August 2017 via mobile

Visited with my partner for a night and can safely say I will never be visiting again. To start with the carpets are stained and dirty with god knows what, the walls were also covered in stains and peeling paint with also what looked like human faeces smeared down the wall. The tv was hanging off the wall and had wires hanging down from it making it one of the many health hazards. The wall behind the bed where a headboard should have been was covered in dirty marks. The bathroom was uncleaned upon our arrival with hairs in the shower and sink. The wardrobe door was also non existent. There was no temperature control of any sort in the room and when we requested a fan they gave us a broken one which did not work. So we were left to sleep in the 24 degree heat meaning not only were we in a dirty room but we were now unable to sleep due to the temperature. There was also no hot water in the shower. Avoid at all costs.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

The Lexham Gardens Hotel is a smaller non-chain hotel located in the heart of Kensington, a 10- minute walk from the Earl’s Court Stop on the London Tubes. Making an evaluation of the Lexham Gardens is difficult because what people want out of a hotel differs widely. Some folks want a complete base-camp experience where they can essentially live out of their room. Others seek luxury and the total hotel pampering experience. Neither of these approaches come cheap.

We did not fit these two profiles. Our needs were for a clean, well-located, and moderately priced accommodation. The Lexham Gardens more than met that need. It would not have satisfied either of the two aforementioned groups. Our room for the three of us was small, with two beds, a double and a single, contained within. You could be generous and say there was no wasted space. The bathroom was also quite small and could not contain two individuals at the same time, unless they were circus contortionists. (We aren’t). That being said, the furniture was tasteful and comfortable, as were the beds. The window opened out to the back alley, so we did get circulating air. As we traveled during the Summer, we did not test the heating system. TV worked. Hot water kettle worked. The plumbing worked. Internet worked. In addition, there were extra (good quality) towels and some toiletries and snacks thrown in.

Breakfast is served in the dining area next to the lobby, which also doubled as a reading area. It is extra to the room charge, but the breakfast is a traditional English and hearty, with fresh eggs, meat, potatoes, beans, croissants, fruit, and tea or coffee, reasonably priced and good.

In our book, hotel staff is the difference between a bad, good, or excellent hotel. In our limited experience, the staff at the Lexham Gardens was helpful and in one instance heroic. We got excellent directions to places to eat, ways to get around, odd sites to visit, etc. They invariably honored our sometimes-needy requests with grace and tact. In one case, they saved us from an expensive booking error in which we had originally set our rooms a day too early, not taking into account the overnight flight. Bookings.com through which we had made our reservations was unhelpful despite our finding our error 10 minutes after we made it. A direct call to the Hotel was sufficient to move the reservation one day ahead. (Another review is warranted on Bookings.com squirrely web site that simultaneously tells you your reservation cannot be changed and that it can always be changed – an idea that might work in quantum mechanics as well as deceptive marketing?!) Bookings.com then refused to honor the change but after we insisted they contact the hotel, Bookings.com relented. A hotel that is willing to literally bite the hand that feeds it to help a guest? Need we say more? Lexham Gardens 1, Bookings.com 0.

If you find yourself in London and in need of a room, and your raison d’etre is the whole wide city, and not a 10x15 foot space, you should consider staying at the Lexham Gardens.

Please note. The Lexham Gardens is not handicap friendly. Entrance alone requires about 10 good-sized stone steps. The elevator does not go to the lower floor (where our rooms were located).

Room Tip: Try the upper floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Ira B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017 via mobile

We stayed here as it it was cheap and in an excellent location for travelling along the main tube lines. Reception was nicer than the rooms and our room was a small double on the 4th floor. The walls were thin so you can hear other people in the rooms. For a cheaper option turn stay here.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank The_Traveller_RC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017

1 Lexham Gardens is a dirty, (carpet stained, chip peeling, etc.) outdated, malodorous place that I had the misfortune of staying at in London for 3 nights. It was somehow listed as 3-4 stars depending on where I looked prior to booking and the hotel pics and positive reviews are inaccurate, or about another hotel. Fortunately, I made sure I was busy and only had to sleep there. My room was the size of a prison cell and so small literally you could not open the wardrobe without getting at it sideways. The bathroom was equally ridiculous and on some days you could only get hot OR cold water, as the shower was impossible to adjust. The two positive factors, but not redeeming enough to EVER stay there again, is that the front desk staff were nice, and the location is good-near restaurants and the tube, so escaping the pre-paid horrible place was easy to do.

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JackILjack
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Earls Court
Trebovir Hotel
Trebovir Hotel
#836 of 1,076 in London
741 reviews
Earls Court
Lord Jim Hotel
Lord Jim Hotel
#657 of 1,076 in London
327 reviews
South Kensington
St. Mark Hotel
St. Mark Hotel
#933 of 1,076 in London
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
South Kensington
Avni Kensington Hotel
Avni Kensington Hotel
#731 of 1,076 in London
1,065 reviews
South Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
Westbury Hotel Kensington
#793 of 1,076 in London
656 reviews
Kensington and Hyde Park
Kensington West Hotel
Kensington West Hotel
#748 of 1,076 in London
459 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to 1 Lexham Gardens? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about 1 Lexham Gardens

Address: 1 Lexham Gardens | Kensington, London W8 5JL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > South Kensington
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #904 of 1,076 Hotels in London
Price Range: RM301 - RM1,093 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — 1 Lexham Gardens 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia and HotelQuickly so you can book your 1 Lexham Gardens reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
1 Lexham Gardens London
1 Lexham Gardens Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing