We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and nice place”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
YHA London Oxford Street
Ranked #13 of 846 Speciality Lodging in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
41 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great location and nice place”
Reviewed 14 November 2011

We had a private room for 2 people. Room was clean and nice. Bed was good to sleep and I extra-liked the warm blankets. Unfortunately the elevator didn't work well so had to walk to the 4th floor many many times. This was only negative thing in this hostel. Toilets and showers were clean and good. In the basement there was a luggage room. The lockers were 3£ and we put 3 big bags there. The staff was friendly and helpful. All in all, the place was very cozy and would stay there again. The location is very good. Oxford circus underground station is near and oxford street is only 1 minute by walk. Near hostel there are a lot of coffee houses, restaurants and pubs. YO running sushi is only 50 meters from the hostel and if you like sushi, you should go there.

I highly recommend this hostel in London. Especially when you'll have a shopping break in London. Soho, Covent Garden, theaters, museums etc. are all in walking distance from the hostel.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Livena
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

593 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    242
    53
    7
    3
See reviews for
87
114
175
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 26 June 2011

We had a private room for four which was on the top floor. The lift only goes up too the third floor (where reception is), so we had two flights of stairs to go up, but that wasn't really a problem for us.

The showers were great, there were three on our floor which we shared with the other rooms on our floor, there was never a queue for the showers, and there was always hot water.

There was a kitchen downstairs where you could cook food etc

There was also a luggage store in the basement, for £3 you could have a large locker, we managed to fit all our luggage in one, so on our last day we could make the most of our time on London and didn't have to cart our luggage around with us.

The location is brilliant, just one road over from Oxford street and about a 5 min walk from oxford circus underground station.

Our only complaint was it was too hot in the hostel, we left the window open at night but you can only open it a crack and it meant we were woken up early then the traffic picked up in the morning. So if you are thinking of staying here I would take ear plugs so you can leave the window open.

Room Tip: Book early to get a good room
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PinkFairy186299
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Galway, Ireland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 June 2011

We stayed here for two nights in July 2010. It was comfortable and clean, which was all we needed as we stayed out all day sightseeing.
The one problem I had with the place is the staff - they weren't very interested in their guests. When I asked for advice on things to see they literally shrugged their shoulders at me. Also, charge you out the ear for little things like use of washing machine..

  • Stayed July 2010, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SopherzX3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Only complain is that there is a bit flooding issue in the shower...
Things you need to know before you book this hostel:
Internet is not free, storage is not free, there is no lift access to all floors.
Central location, close to everything, 1 minute walk to Mark and Spencer supermarket, 2 minutes to Soho, Oxford street, lots bus stops, 3 minutes to Oxford street metro, 6 minutes walk to China town, 10 minutes walk to Piccadilly circus, theater area..

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CKJANICE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hong Kong, China
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2011

The hostel has been renovated recently. Everything is new, in very good condition. Every bed has own socket! It is a must for modern electronics life. The location is excellent. The self-catering kitchen is good. Really nice stay! The hostel is easily fully booked. So, book the bed early.

  • Stayed April 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank joyfulowl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Soho
The Nadler Soho
The Nadler Soho
#33 of 1,068 in London
2,164 reviews
Soho
The Piccadilly London West End
Soho
The Soho Hotel
The Soho Hotel
#20 of 1,068 in London
1,452 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fitzrovia
YHA London Central
YHA London Central
#20 of 846 in London
1,156 reviews
Euston / Kings Cross /St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
YHA London St Pancras
#25 of 846 in London
683 reviews
Whitechapel
Wombat's City Hostel London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA London Oxford Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA London Oxford Street

Property: YHA London Oxford Street
Address: 14 Noel Street, London W1F 8GJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Soho
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 846 Speciality Lodging in London
Price range (per night): RM180 - RM475
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come and stay in the heart of bohemian London. YHA Oxford Street is a modern backpackers hostel offering comfortable yet cheap accommodation in London's West End and offers an eclectic mix of cafes, pubs, cinemas, quirky boutiques and a great alternative nightlife, all within a 5 minute walking distance of the hostel.This is a busy city centre hostel offering a range of 3 and 4 bed dorms, twin bunk or double bed private rooms, all with shared facilities. Breakfast is available daily as well as a fully equipped self catering kitchen. Our cafe/bar offers a range of hot and cold beverages to refresh you after a long day of sightseeing or prepare you for a night out. Families with young children might prefer YHA London Central, YHA St Pancras or YHA St Paul's for a quieter London break. This hostel is not suitable for groups of more than 8 people- see YHA Thameside or YHA St Paul's. We apologise, but due to the building architecture we have no wheelchair accessible facilities at YHA Oxford Street, the lift only goes as far as our 3rd floor reception. Access to rooms on level 4 and 5 is by stairs. Our nearest hostels with full access is YHA London Central or YHA St Pancras. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld so you can book your YHA London Oxford Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oxford Street Youth Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing