We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #178 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Spent 3 nights at the the Crowne Plaza City in October. On the first night of our stay the hotel had a burst water pipe resulting in the disconnection of water to all rooms. The manner in which this was handled by all staff at a difficult time for them was exceptional.
They went to great lengths to ensure guests were looked after with extra staff available to advise on breakfast and offer of transfer to another hotel. As we had organised to spend the day with friends at Brighton we said we would decide on our return. A staff member insisted on taking us to the station and assisted us with ticket purchase, platform etc. On return water had been reconnected and we decided to remain at the hotel and were given an upgrade. We will certainly be staying at this hotel when we return to London next year.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lynwb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

14 - 18 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We normally stay at this hotel when visiting London and have never really found any problems but on a recent weekend visit we were disappointed by our stay. The first issue was the bathroom - both the kitchen sink and the bath were blocked and water was backing up, this was not nice. Secondly we were not happy with the concierge. We were due to go to the theatre on the Saturday evening and arrived in reception at around 6.40pm to ask for a taxi. We have always done this and always a taxi has been there within minutes. There was another couple waiting who had pre booked bit their taxi hadnt appeared. The concierge wasnt at his post and we waited a good 5 mins fof him to reappear, we did ask tge receptionist if she could help us but were told that he wouldnt be long. When he eventually appeared there was alot of scratching the head as apparently he couldnt find us a taxi. 20 mins had passed at this point and the show started at 7.30. He eventually found one but said it would be 10 mins. The other couple were still waiting too. At 7.10 a taxi drew up outside but the concierge went off with the other couple to flag them a taxi but failed to tell us the one waiting was ours. At 7.15 we went out to ask the taxi driver who said it must be for us. To cut a long story short we were late for the show and very upset about this. We had wasted 35 minutes messing around and did not expect this from a top hotel. This has put us off staying again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank lesley4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear lesley4132,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the level of service you received from our staff and for not living up to your expectations regarding our bathroom condition. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the management team to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

First time in this Crowne Plaza, we were upgraded to Club level which was nice. Room is comfortable with a separate desk and sofa. Interior is what you can expect from a big chain four star hotel. Annoyingly, the service staff has a habit of walking into the room without waiting. Knock knock and straight after that open the door. Happened more than once. Club lounge wasn't open to us despite the upgrade.

The breakfast area on the upper ground floor is very good. Spacious, cozy, located in the corner of the building, provides a good start of the day. Food selection is excellent, staff is friendly and helpful, apart from the guy making omelets, I think he operated on a different rhythm.

The club in the basement is good. Nice personell, good choice of drinks and a DJ on the Friday night.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeroen070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 November 2017

After reading about they pulled out all the stops! I decided to book this hotel for a celebration stay, wished I hadn’t bothered! We had a confirmation call the day before to see if we wanted a 2 double bed in one room, or just a double bed room, because I’d booked another room for my daughter and they wanted us as close as possible, how lovely I thought, so I confirmed yes I wanted 2 doubles in our room, ok was the response, on arriving we told that we had 3 double rooms as they didn’t have a twin or 2 doubles available for our stay as they’d had a flood on our floor, I explained we didn’t need 3 rooms just the 2 and things happen don’t worry, then thought later we’d ask for a receipt, good job we did, we’d been charged for the room we could have! My daughter had 2 dressing gowns and slippers in her wardrobe, we had 1 dressing gown and no slippers, my daughter had a pair of dirty men’s socks on the floor by the head of her bed, her room obviously hadn’t been cleaned properly, they didn’t replenish our milk the next day, took the shower cap and left a scrunched up towel hanging on the towel rail in our room, my daughters bathroom products weren’t replaced either, feeling let down we complained and we got the difference in room charge refunded, my daughters room was cleaned and she had a small bunch of flowers as an apology, we were given some slippers but no gown, we managed to get some fresh milk from the restaurant and my daughter bought some bathroom products from Tesco near by. The breakfast at the hotel is plentiful, fresh fruit and cooked breakfast available, continental is also available. The hotel is ideally placed for the Blackfriars tube station, it’s in a central location for sightseeing. We’ve stayed in better travelodges for less, crowne plaza needs to sort out their housekeeping, it’s really let you down on this occasion!

Stayed: October 2017, travelled with family
Thank d3vonbird
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago


Hello d3vonbird,

Thank you so much for staying with us and taking the time to leave us your feedback. I can assure you that your comfort and satisfaction are of utmost importance to us and for that please accept my sincere apologies for the overall cleanliness of the room assigned to you. I have shared your comments with hotel management, who responded with genuine concern for the impact this had on your stay. I know they appreciate you sharing your experience, and I am confident they will take appropriate steps so this doesn’t happen again.

Though I would prefer you had a better experience at our hotel, I would like to thank you for sharing your thoughts. I hope to have the opportunity to serve you again in the future and show you just how much we care about delivering an above average experience.

Sincerely,

Krysllin G
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 October 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Crowne Plaza London - The City for a week in a King suite. We had lots of room for relaxing, and just loved the club lounge. The breakfast was fantastic, with lots of hot and cold options. Cocktail hour was a lot of fun, and we appreciate having access to the lounge for a snack and water while waiting for the room to be made up. The gentleman in charge made a great effort to make everyone feel welcome and meet any needs. The location is fabulous - we walked along the river each day, up to Parliament and Big Ben or the other direction to Tower Hill. We also walked to Covent Garden, St Paul's, and to a variety of pubs and restaurants in the area. Tube and train are within a block. We ate at the Italian restaurant in the hotel for lunch, and loved it so much we came back another time for dinner. The hotel arranged a car to bring us to the airport. A great choice for business or pleasure.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank SylviaZ180
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#64 of 1,077 in London
3,683 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#337 of 1,077 in London
4,406 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#115 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#141 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: RM699 - RM1,802 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Ctrip TA, IHG, Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing