We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its usually business, but my family loves it too”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Crowne Plaza London The City
Ranked #176 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 5 weeks ago

For a frequent business traveller, this hotel is brilliant in its location right opposite Blackfriar station, and being right next to offices like JP Morgan and Unilever. But as a Family, we were pleasantly surprised by how this Hotel and its People represented themselves in multiple engagements we needed help on . while we had issues ranging from plumbing to maintenance , we also got the attention of the hotel management who ensured the responses were quick. The room size also is quite the right size for a family of of four. The windows may open directly into the office next door, but we only used the hotel to unwind after our day long tour around London. We also have the benefit of having some nice restaurants and some express retail counters around. In case you want to mix up your travel around London, just step out after your breakfast at the Chinese Cricket Club in the hotel and flag down a London cab , or get onto a Bus or get into the the Subway station , or even step over to the Thames river and get onto the river taxi over to the other bank . Either ways, do run through the pricing the hotel offers as the week day tends to be more expensive than weekend.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms that don't look into the office block next door .
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TarunNPV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (2,556)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

12 - 16 of 2,556 reviews

Reviewed 11 November 2017 via mobile

As first time tourists in London, we read extensive hotel reviews before booking the Crowne Plaza (the City), which proved to be good value for what we paid. If I return to London, I would definitely consider staying here again.

Things I liked and reasons I would return:

1) The Hotel is right across from the Blackfriars Station, so taking the tube to all the key attractions is easy. It’s about a 10-15 minute ride to Westminster, which puts you right at city center with access to the Parliament, Big Ben, London Eye, etc.

2) The breakfast buffet was good and included an omelette station, porridge, a variety of fruits and juices and a good selection of pastries. I loved the mini chocolate croissants!

3) The room was clean and comfortable with all the amenities you would expect from a hotel in the states. I also liked that it was fairy quiet at night - so you can definitely get a good night’s sleep.

4) There was complimentary bottled water left in our room each day, which was nice! Two bottles of regular water, and two sparkling waters. As an FYI, there is also a Tesco (like a 7-eleven) right on the corner of the block, so that was a convenient way to get snacks for the room. Fun fact, they carry Krispy Kreme donuts!

5) There are two restaurants on the property- one is Italian and the other Chinese. There really aren’t that many restaurants around the hotel, so these are good backup options if you aren’t planning on getting dinner somewhere else in the city. We had dinner at the Italian restaurant the night we arrived, and the food was delicious.

6) Front desk staff and the concierge were very friendly and helpful. We didn’t have any issues ordering taxis or getting recommendations on restaurants or transportation. In fact, we had a 5:30am departure to the Eurostar train station for a day trip to Paris, and the front desk arranged a breakfast to-go bag for us and the concierge had the taxi ready to go.

Another thing to note is that this Crowne Plaza is located in the financial district. Using a NYC analogy, you’re not staying in “Times Square”. So if you want to stay in the middle of the action, this wouldn’t be the place to stay and you will likely pay quite a bit more. From my viewpoint, however, it’s not a factor, especially when getting around London on the tube is so easy and efficient; and even coming back late at night, the Blackfriars station and area around the hotel always felt safe.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank vbeltran17
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017

Spent 3 nights at the the Crowne Plaza City in October. On the first night of our stay the hotel had a burst water pipe resulting in the disconnection of water to all rooms. The manner in which this was handled by all staff at a difficult time for them was exceptional.
They went to great lengths to ensure guests were looked after with extra staff available to advise on breakfast and offer of transfer to another hotel. As we had organised to spend the day with friends at Brighton we said we would decide on our return. A staff member insisted on taking us to the station and assisted us with ticket purchase, platform etc. On return water had been reconnected and we decided to remain at the hotel and were given an upgrade. We will certainly be staying at this hotel when we return to London next year.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank lynwb1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 November 2017 via mobile

We normally stay at this hotel when visiting London and have never really found any problems but on a recent weekend visit we were disappointed by our stay. The first issue was the bathroom - both the kitchen sink and the bath were blocked and water was backing up, this was not nice. Secondly we were not happy with the concierge. We were due to go to the theatre on the Saturday evening and arrived in reception at around 6.40pm to ask for a taxi. We have always done this and always a taxi has been there within minutes. There was another couple waiting who had pre booked bit their taxi hadnt appeared. The concierge wasnt at his post and we waited a good 5 mins fof him to reappear, we did ask tge receptionist if she could help us but were told that he wouldnt be long. When he eventually appeared there was alot of scratching the head as apparently he couldnt find us a taxi. 20 mins had passed at this point and the show started at 7.30. He eventually found one but said it would be 10 mins. The other couple were still waiting too. At 7.10 a taxi drew up outside but the concierge went off with the other couple to flag them a taxi but failed to tell us the one waiting was ours. At 7.15 we went out to ask the taxi driver who said it must be for us. To cut a long story short we were late for the show and very upset about this. We had wasted 35 minutes messing around and did not expect this from a top hotel. This has put us off staying again.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled with family
Thank lesley4132
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IHGService, Guest Relations Manager at Crowne Plaza London The City, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear lesley4132,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your stay with us. We would like to apologize for the level of service you received from our staff and for not living up to your expectations regarding our bathroom condition. Reviews like yours are very valuable as they enable us to target areas we need to improve on. Rest assured your feedback has been forwarded to the management team to ensure similar situations can be avoided in the future.

We value you as our guest and hope to accommodate you again for a chance to provide you with a much better experience.

Sincerely,

Joel A
Case Manager
IHGService

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 November 2017 via mobile

First time in this Crowne Plaza, we were upgraded to Club level which was nice. Room is comfortable with a separate desk and sofa. Interior is what you can expect from a big chain four star hotel. Annoyingly, the service staff has a habit of walking into the room without waiting. Knock knock and straight after that open the door. Happened more than once. Club lounge wasn't open to us despite the upgrade.

The breakfast area on the upper ground floor is very good. Spacious, cozy, located in the corner of the building, provides a good start of the day. Food selection is excellent, staff is friendly and helpful, apart from the guy making omelets, I think he operated on a different rhythm.

The club in the basement is good. Nice personell, good choice of drinks and a DJ on the Friday night.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Jeroen070
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
South Kensington
Crowne Plaza London Kensington
City of London
Club Quarters Hotel St. Paul's
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#66 of 1,077 in London
3,691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
City of London
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
Grange St. Paul's Hotel
#339 of 1,077 in London
4,408 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza London The City? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza London The City

Address: 19 New Bridge Street, London EC4V 6DB, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > City of London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#81 Family Hotel in London
#119 Business Hotel in London
#123 Romantic Hotel in London
#140 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: RM674 - RM1,736 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza London The City 4*
Number of rooms: 205
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel provides perfect accommodation in central London near local attractions such as The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral and Buckingham Palace. This luxury hotel also offers meeting rooms, gym, spa facilities and a Michelin star restaurant. The Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel is a modern central London hotel, located in the heart of the city. This deluxe London hotel is just a stone's throw away from Blackfriars mainline train station, with a direct connection to the Eurostar terminal at St. Pancras International. For tubes, the Crowne Plaza hotel is equally well located: just a short walk to Temple & Mansion House on the District & Circle Line, or St Paul's on the Central Line. Whether you're in London for business or sightseeing, this London City Centre hotel is ideally located, minutes away from some of London's most famous attractions: The London Eye, St Paul's Cathedral, Millennium Bridge, Tate Modern & West End theatres. Crowne Plaza Club rooms, King Studios and Suites are available at your request. And all rooms are air-conditioned and have High Speed Internet Access. There's also a Fitness Club with sauna in the hotel should you wish to work out and wind down. While you're here, don't forget to eat at our Rosette awarded restaurants; Diciannove offers authentic Italian food including a variety of freshly made pasta, whilst and at Chinese Cricket Club you can enjoy fresh dim sum and Sichuan specialties. The easiest and most exciting way to do some sightseeing in London city centre is to take a trip on the London Eye. On a clear day, you can see as far as the Queen's other residence, Windsor Castle! The Crowne Plaza London City Hotel is only minutes away from the London Eye. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com, IHG, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Crowne Plaza London The City reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Crowne Plaza London - The City Hotel London
Crowne Plaza The City
Crowne Plaza London City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing