We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Five star? More like 1 star” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Ranked #176 of 1,078 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersSilver level
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
113 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 47 helpful votes
“Five star? More like 1 star”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 March 2012

I rarely stay in five star hotels, and tend to splurge once-in-a-while for a night out. This hotel does not meet any expectations of a five star hotel. The room was so-so, the view was HORRIBLE, and the service was poor (behind the desk and those who help). I also agree with a previous reader, the staff puts younger guests (even thought I was traveling solo) in rooms with poor views. Who really wants to look at wasted space. The Marriott West India Quay does not even have free wi-fi! What a waste of money! Waste!

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled solo
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank PondCrosser82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,932 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    986
    669
    183
    65
    29
See reviews for
240
853
109
445
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (436)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
middle england
Level Contributor
151 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 February 2012

We stayed for one night in February 2012, on a very good weekend rate for a standard room £139 inc VAT. As a Marriott Silver card holder, I was expecting no special welcome, but we got upgraded to a lovely studio room overlooking the quay. The room was very welcoming, the hotel staff said 'hello' whenever we passed one. When we asked for directions we were taken outside and shown the way, rather than just told.
The hotel is just adjacent to the DLR West India Quay station, and a short, pleasant walk to Canary Wharf, where you can connect to the Jubilee line. It is a pleasant area, but if you are planning on going to the theatre, you must allow at least 35 minutes, as it really is quite a way out in East London. However, the area is very pleasant. We stayed at the weekend, which made the rates very low. In the week, being in the financial district, the rates are very high indeed of course. Currently they are changing the hotel restaurant to a steak house, so there is little chance to eat well. Just down the road is an excellent if pricey Indian restaurant called Dockmasters which does a lovely meal. Look for a good deal on Toptable

Room Tip: Try and get one overlooking the quay rather than the DLR, as the DLR starts very early in the mornin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank upperdeckplease
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 February 2012

We stay in this part of London on a fairly regular basis. For the first time we recently stayed in the West India Quay Marriott for one night. We had a lovely big room with a king bed. The hotel has friendly and helpful staff. But why do Marriott not provide free wi-fi in the bedroom or public areas like Radisson? At the price of the room, this is a really cheapskate approach. Breakfast was nice but poor value. Marriott should review their pricing policy.

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bathgooner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Irving, Texas
Level Contributor
87 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 145 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 February 2012

Stayed here for one night as I flew into London a day before my business meetings began. Since it was on my own dime I was looking for a good value at a name brand hotel. Well, I found it at the Marriott in canary Wharf.

The entire area is fairly new. Lots of financial companies have their offices here. There are also lots of shops restaurants/bars to choose from if you don't want to go into central London. Since I had never stayed in this area before I decided to fight the jet lag and stick close to the hotel for the night.

Rooms are very nice and spacious for London. Staff was very friendly and helpful. We also had breakfast included in our rate. Standard buffet, but it did the job. Tube and DLR stations are right out the door and easy to get to central London in a few minutes. Also, there is a jogging path along the river if you like to get out and run!

Only drawback was actually getting to the hotel from Heathrow. We hired a private car and it took well over an hour on a Saturday to get there.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the water
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank pikapptcu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 11 February 2012

Our stay was outstanding.

The staff were very polite and welcoming, with big smiles which always helps.

The executive room on 7th floor was clean and a reasonable size, the view is great.

As it was the coldest night ever(!!) we decided to eat in the hotel. The steaks we had were cooked to perfection and eaten very slowly to enjoy every mouthful. Food and drink prices were as expected for hotel/London!

A fantastic night away, would stay again.

  • Stayed February 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Millink
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Hilton London Canary Wharf
Hilton London Canary Wharf
#106 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,815 reviews
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
Canary Riverside Plaza Hotel
#182 of 1,078 in London
4.5 of 5 bubbles 836 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Marriott Executive Apartments London, West India Quay
Greenwich
InterContinental London - The O2
Fraser Place Canary Wharf
#417 of 1,078 in London
4.0 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to London Marriott Hotel West India Quay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about London Marriott Hotel West India Quay

Property: London Marriott Hotel West India Quay
Address: 22 Hertsmere Road | Canary Wharf, London E14 4ED, England (Formerly London Marriott West India Quay)
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Docklands / Canary Wharf / Isle of Dogs
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#18 Green Hotel in London
#115 Romantic Hotel in London
#135 Luxury Hotel in London
#145 Family Hotel in London
#175 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): RM574 - RM1,840
Hotel Class:5 star — London Marriott Hotel West India Quay 5*
Number of rooms: 301
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ideally situated in the Canary Wharf district, the London Marriott Hotel West India Quay offers luxurious accommodations and access to the city's most popular attractions. Indulge in a deluxe steakhouse experience at Manhattan Grill or maintain your workout routine with our state-of-the-art fitness center & sauna. We boast a prime location just 11 minutes from London City Airport and 10 minutes from Europe's largest indoor shopping mall. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd and Agoda so you can book your London Marriott Hotel West India Quay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
London Marriott West India Quay Hotel London
Marriott London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing