We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Avoid basement rooms”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Grange Buckingham Hotel
Ranked #582 of 1,072 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 19 July 2017

I like grange hotels and I am a frequent user of their hotels. However, the Buckingham basement rooms are not good, not enough natural light, no windows you look out of and room 3 has a musty smell to it. On the positive, it was a very big room and bathroom, but take a room on the upper levels. The other issue is that room 3 is directly below the breakfast room and breakfast starts early with the inevitable chair and table scraping.

Room Tip: Take upper level rooms
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank DerbyhireHappycamper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Buckingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2017

Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you were disappointed with your room on this occasion.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (163)
There are newer reviews for Grange Buckingham Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 163 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2017

Stayed here for a couple of nights. It is a small boutique hotel in a quiet road but within walking distance of The British Museum, the West End and Oxford Street.

We stayed in room 5 (in the basement). It was clean a well maintained and very large. Added bonus was a small kitchenette with large fridge, microwave, sink etc. The bathroom as well as a bath had a separate shower. The small breakfast room at the back of the property provided an English breakfast cooked to order. - something you don't get in larger hotels. i would highly recommend it.

Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Pethalliwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Buckingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for placing your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you were satisfied with the quality of the bedroom, our location, breakfast and service provided.
We hope that you will return for a future stay.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2017

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay if we hadn't picked the record hottest weekend for years. The hotel was clean and well maintained. Staff were friendly. The breakfast was described as continental but we had cereal and fruit, followed by toast and marmalade. (I normally think of continental as just a croissant and coffee) The bed was big! The only down point was that there was no air conditioning, which would not normally have been a problem except for the exceptional weather. We have booked for a return visit early next year.(Hoping February will be a little cooler)

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank christopher o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Buckingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 26 June 2017

Thank you for taking the time to place your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us and found the hotel and its facilities, breakfast, bedroom and the staff all to be fully satisfactory.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2017 via mobile

If you can avoid it please do. Upon arriving we were greeted with scaffolding at the front of the building it was barely recognisable, that's fine it happens. We checked into our room still very excited to be in London. Trying to find our room we had to go through 3 doors and 3 corridors to find the room. The bathroom ceiling was peeling and had rust down the walls, the bathroom was just poorly presented and dirty. The bedroom we received was nothing like the pictures. To top it all off we could hear movement from upstairs constantly, one night we had reception knock on our door poke there head into our room and tell us to keep it down. It was rude and also disrespectful I was there with my mother and in bed, especially as it took two men from reception as though we had done something wrong. Room # 203!

Stayed: May 2017, travelled solo
Thank Elisacicc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Buckingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2017

I am sorry that you were disappointed with your stay and I apologise for any inconvenience caused.
Your comments have all been noted and will be passed on to the hotel manager to address and monitor internally to ensure that the high standards of facilities and services more usually associated with the Grange Hotels are maintained and improved.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2017

Stayed for 3 nights, and our room was huge. Very large comfy bed, with a wee kitchenette, which was a plus. All the facilities you need, and all the staff very helpful and friendly.
A couple of things which need to be put right. Firstly their is no grab handle in the shower, and the shower mat needs replacing as very worn (Room 202). The chair by the dresser is wobbly and most uncomfortable when doing make up etc., No face flannels.
Nice range of bathroom smellies !
Breakfast nice and fresh and lots of lovely fruit.
Positioned well and short stroll to a few restaurants in walking distance round the corner.
Would return definitely, to any of the GRANGE Hotels in the future.

Room Tip: Our room 202 was perfect and had a great larger than average bed !
  • Stayed: May 2017, travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karin60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nellie S, Guest Relations Manager at Grange Buckingham Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2017

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. I'm delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and you found our hotel, our rooms, amenities, breakfast and location all to your satisfaction. All your comments have been noted and we will do our best to improve on them.
We look forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back to a Grange Hotels soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Bloomsbury
Grange Portland Hotel
Grange Portland Hotel
#601 of 1,072 in London
178 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Clarendon Hotel
Grange Clarendon Hotel
#509 of 1,072 in London
547 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Blooms Hotel
Grange Blooms Hotel
#566 of 1,072 in London
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Bloomsbury
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
Grange Beauchamp Hotel
#298 of 1,072 in London
820 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange White Hall Hotel
Grange White Hall Hotel
#579 of 1,072 in London
647 reviews
Bloomsbury
Grange Lancaster Hotel
Grange Lancaster Hotel
#658 of 1,072 in London
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grange Buckingham Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grange Buckingham Hotel

Address: 39-40 Bedford Place, London WC1B 5JT, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Bloomsbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#348 Luxury Hotel in London
#374 Family Hotel in London
Price Range: RM629 - RM1,474 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Grange Buckingham Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Grange Buckingham Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buckingham Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing