We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Class in every way”
Review of Plaza on the River

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Plaza on the River
Ranked #270 of 1,077 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 6 March 2012

We got cheap flights through Ryan air and decided to treat ourselves by booking a good hotel. We certainly were not disappointed. We booked a suite for 2 adults and 2 children. when we arrived the place oozed class, complimentary cocktails, fantastic decor and layout, and that was just reception. Our suite looked out on the river and we had a great view of the houses of parliament and the London eye. The suite was a one bedroom apartment with all mod cons. there is a great pub restaurant about 20 yards up the street called the Rose, had a great meal for a very reasonable price. Had a great trip

Room Tip: It migth cost a bit more but is worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Belfast11111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Belfast,
We are looking forward to welcome you back when visiting London next and thank you for your effort writing to Trip Advisor.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,625)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,100 - 1,104 of 1,625 reviews

Reviewed 6 March 2012

My family has had two stays in the two bedroom apartment suites here and absolutely loved it. The living quarters were so spacious - large closets, highest quality design and decor - leather couch and beautiful wood (well, actually I did not like one piece of art, but oh well...); the bedrooms were clean, quiet, and so comfortable. the two bathrooms were immaculate, and we enjoyed the kitchen as we all sat around the table for morning coffee or room service (which was very good.). That it is a suite with nice living area made it extra fun for our family, as we could have time together in beautiful space planning our day or watching tV at the end of the day. The view of the cityline and river was wonderful. There is a little grocery next door and an excellent restaurant in the Plaza, though it is true, to get to tourist attractions transportation is needed. It is not a remote location at all; it is just that it is across the bridge so it is not central, but then, the city is so spread out that it is hard to say what is central. We did take taxis but we did not mind, because coming back to our suite was like coming home. I hope we can come here again.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank April S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Washington DC,
We are always very please to read that our guests' had a great experience and will continue to serve all our guests' with passion and individuality. Looking forward to your next visit.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Stayed here on 29/12/12 for our wedding night. Staff were excellent and the room (River view 2 bed suite with balcony) was unbelieveable. Absolutely superb from start to finish!!

  • Stayed: February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cjl2106
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Uk
Thank you for taking the time writing to us and we wish you pleasant weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2012

yes you have to travel a bit to get to the main places. There is a bus stop just outside and they are frequent but takes longer. the tube is a little further to walk but more time efficient. The apartment was superb, we did get a free upgrade on arrival and those views both from inside the room and sitting on the balcony is fantastic. The little kitchen is very good even with a small coffee machine. All rooms can be closed off which gives you a nice feeling of individual rooms rather than a hotel with just one big room. The bar downstairs is great for a drink but its not noisy. The apartments are on one side then the hotel on another with the bar splitting it up in the middle which is an interesting concept but it works well. there is a small pool with some very nice lounges and daybeds. However it is expensive and you can still hear some traffic noise thats probably the downside. The windows are double glazed and when you open the doors to the balcony makes you realise how well it cuts down the traffic noise however when sleeping at night you can still hear some if your a light sleeper like me.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Thaihappy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 24 March 2012

Dear Perth.
I would like to say thank you for your comments on trip advisor and making the time to leave us your positive experience. We are looking forward to welcome you back in the near future and have a lovely weekend.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 March 2012

We were upgraded from a 1bed apt to a 2-bed apt which gave us that bit more welcoming space as we had a small birthday party gathering of friends and family. We had arranged in-room buffet dining and the food was scrumptious and so elegantly presented! The apartment had scenic views of the Thames and looked even better at night! Our room was decorated by prior arrangement with balloons and banners etc for a charge and we ordered a delicious Birthday cake gateau to share! The room decor was fresh, clean, bright and homely! There is plenty of storage space in the bedrooms as well as in the kitchen area. It is suitable for both short stay and long stay and is within walking distance of Vauxall tube station. The breakfast was an array of full English and continental delicacies. All the staff were extremely attentive, especially the Reception Manager and very accommodating with our requests. We were given complimentary drinks to have at the bar and we ordered some Tempura which was made to perfection and very well presented. The Lounge Bar area had a modern artistic flair with imagination! A great place to stay for so many reasons!

Room Tip: Higher floors give the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank time2chillout321
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plazaontheriver, Manager at Plaza on the River, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2012

Dear timetochillout321,
Thank you for your message on Trip Advisor and as always very please to see you had a brilliant Birtday with us.
Have a great weekend and we look forward seeing you soon.
Kindest Regards,
Albert van der Westhuizen
Resident Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Park Plaza London Riverbank
#380 of 1,077 in London
5,678 reviews
Southbank
Park Plaza County Hall London
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Southbank
Mondrian London at Sea Containers
Southbank
Park Plaza Westminster Bridge London
City of London
Apex Temple Court Hotel
Apex Temple Court Hotel
#67 of 1,077 in London
3,774 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Plaza on the River? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Plaza on the River

Address: 18 Albert Embankment, London SE1 7TJ, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#62 Business Hotel in London
#74 Family Hotel in London
#175 Romantic Hotel in London
#199 Luxury Hotel in London
Price Range: RM751 - RM1,502 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Plaza on the River 5*
Number of rooms: 66
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Agoda, Ctrip TA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Plaza on the River reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Plaza On The River - Club And Residence Hotel London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing