We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Haven of Peace in the Traffic Madness of London”
Review of Hotel 55

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel 55
Ranked #467 of 1,081 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 1 September 2011

When compared to similarly priced hotels in the Ealing and Acton area this is a gem. Conveniently placed for the tube and an NCP car park, Hotel 55 was exactly what we needed. Whilst the rooms are not all spacious, and some a touch gloomy, they are of a high spec and the hotel has some very attentive and efficient, well trained staff. Of particular note is the high standard of continental breakfast with an excellent choice of cereal, pastries and fruit. I would definetely use Hotel 55 again and fully recommend it.

Room Tip: Rm 106 is light and overlooks the garden but not very roomy. Rm 107 is more roomy but faces a brick...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NowtFancy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (419)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

270 - 274 of 419 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2011

We stayed here for one night after having been out in London celebrating a 100th birthday.
We arrived after midnight, and received a friendly and warm welcome from the guy on duty. There was nowhere to park in front of the hotel, but parked by Ealing station just round the corner - which was very handy!
Our room on the second floor was on the small side, a bit of a rabbit warren to get there
(it is after all an old Victorian house!) but seeing that we only stayed for one night this didn't bother us at all. The room was clean, the decor very nice and with all the usual facilities; coffee/tea making, tv, spare blanket and I think it even had an ironing board in the wardrobe. The bed was extremely comfortable with nice crisp white linen, soft comfy pillows - and after a long day out in London, we had a good night's sleep before our long journey home the following day.

The bathroom, albeit small, was immaculate with a large shower cubicle and a powerful shower .. BLISS!! (great to see! as most places we visit seem to not bother cleaning the heads which consequently get clogged up due the hard water)
My husband usually has to spend some time cleaning the heads as he hates dribbling showers.. :o) The bathroom also had the complimentary soaps, shower gel and body lotions, together with a sewing kit and shoe shine - all very professional and handy.

Breakfast was Continental, all very nicely laid out in a clean restauarant. The staff here too were very helpful and polite - a real mix of various nationalities - so handy to practise our language skills.

The hotel itself is quite minimalistic, Avant Garde, and had a Japanese feel to it, and owned by an Indian gentleman. There did seem to be quite a bit of dust on the stairs and railings and some of the pictures on the walls really needed to see the a duster. We made this known at reception before we left, and were thanked for the feedback.
We thouroughly enjoyed our stay here and will come back as and when we need to be in the area. It was good value for money, so all in all a great find!

I would add, that this venue is not suitable for people with walking disabilities, there is no lift and if on the 2nd or 3rd floor - this would cause a problem

Room Tip: be careful with booking & paying on-line, the site is not secure with 'https' we did in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Baby-Babble
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2011

Would I stay here again? I'm not entirely sure. It is a bit out of the way, but at the end of the central line. Room was small and clean, but the shower constantly threatened to flood and the shades didn't close properly. The clerk who checked us in was very helpful and lovely; the clerk who checked us out seemed indifferent and didn't ask about our stay. The breakfast buffet was one of the best we'd seen our trip and the room it was laid out in was very cute; however, the room itself was our least favorite of the trip--I'd spring for a bigger room if you need to spread out or spend a lot of time in it. Bed was comfy which is important. Very good bargain for very expensive London, so I'd say it really depends on need!

  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kmartinez
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2011

Drove to watch take that at wembley. such a convenient location. bus stop right outside. 20 mins to wembley stadium. room very nicely decorated. VERY comfy bed. Breakfast was lovely. when they say limited parking there are 4 spaces out front. however right behind hotel is NCP car park by ealing tube station.

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kezzakh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 July 2011

Good hotel - great service offered good advice on transport to and from Wembley and we went with their suggestion of taxi which worked efficiently.

The bedrooms were small but immaculate and the same with the bathrooms. The bar area was good the restuarant we didnt use for the evening but we had breakfast there.

The breakfast was ok plenty of choice and lovely fruit salad served by pleasant staff.

A good find will definitely return!!

Room Tip: Ask for garden view room to avoid the busy main road noise at the front.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Fluffy04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
0.6 km away
DoubleTree by Hilton London Ealing
1.8 km away
The Fox & Goose Hotel
The Fox & Goose Hotel
#206 of 1,081 in London
1,092 reviews
1.2 km away
Hotel Xanadu
Hotel Xanadu
#285 of 1,081 in London
424 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 km away
Kingsland Hotel
Kingsland Hotel
#735 of 1,081 in London
437 reviews
14.7 km away
Church Street Hotel
Church Street Hotel
#528 of 1,081 in London
452 reviews
2.5 km away
Holiday Inn Express London - Ealing
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel 55? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel 55

Address: 55 Hanger Lane, London W5 3HL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#137 Family Hotel in London
#317 Business Hotel in London
#334 Romantic Hotel in London
Price Range: RM 367 - RM 834 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel 55 3.5*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel 55 is a 29 room boutique hotel just a 2-minute walk from North Ealing Tube Station. Stylish accommodation with free internet is 25 minutes from central London by underground. Each air-conditioned room at Hotel 55 features a king-sized bed, flat-screen TV with freeview and a Nespresso Coffee Machine. They also include L'Occitane toiletries and minibars. Momo Japanese Restaurant is located within the hotel and serves authentic Japanese cuisine. Continental breakfast is served daily and it only costs £8.50 Per person. Our guests can also enjoy a drink in the elegant 24 hour lounge bar. Wembley Stadium and Kew gardens are both within a 3-mile radius of Hotel 55. The M4 is a 10-minute drive and there is limited parking available, on a first come first served basis. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your Hotel 55 reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
55 Hotel London
Best Western London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing