We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“would highly recommend”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Ranked #199 of 1,068 Hotels in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“would highly recommend”
Reviewed 5 March 2012

I have just returned from a weekend break , and would have no hesitation in returning to this hotel again. It was spotlessly clean , the location was excellent as it was just around the corner from Tower Hill tube station. The staff were helpful, polite & cheerful. We had a fantastic & reasonably priced meal in the evening & breakfast was tasty with plenty of choice.

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank teresa208
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,173 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,163
    783
    156
    46
    25
See reviews for
804
622
74
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (242)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Limerick, Limerick, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
17 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2012

Close to tube, close to many bars and restaurants and we always felt safe. Staff were very friendly and helpful and area is very quiet at night. Location - perfect

Room Tip: 205 and 207
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wioleta L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 March 2012

In short this is a nice decent hotel and i would stay again.

I like to leave more detailed reviews though so if you want to know more about my experience - read on.

I've just spent a week at this hotel on business and must say I was pleasantly surprised. Having stayed at the Newcastle Central & Birmingham Canal Side branches of this hotel group recently and had bad experiences I wasn't holding out much hope for this one!

On arriving the check in was short and the staff helpful (although clearly reciting a script they must be told to go through for every guest - seemed quite robotic) and I was safely in my room in less than 10 minutes - a personal best for any Premier Inn I've stayed at!

The room again surprised me, my previous 2 rooms with this chain were small grubby and very cold. This was huge, nice big bed, plenty of room and spotless even the bathroom was a good size, being able to dry myself without knocking elbows on a wall is also a first for me in a Premier Inn. The only downside to the room was that it overlooked a small but very busy road - the emergency services favourite route too from the amount of sirens I could hear.

Couldn't fault the cleaning staff who cleaned every day and replaced towels, they did start rather early though bumping and banging in empty rooms at around 7am - but they located and delivered an iron and ironing board for me so I was thankful for their early start then (even though they barely understood a word I was saying)

The restaurant was very nicely decorated well laid out and had a nice atmosphere about it, its in the basement though so no windows and zero natural light. The food was OK - it's clear to me now that Premier Inn have exactly the same menu in every hotel which I don't think is that great when you think of all the regional variations available. That aside the food was well served and I had no complaints and the staff once again were very polite and attentive, one particular member of staff during breakfast (Manuel) was hillarious, enough to brighten up anybody's morning even for someone like me who is not a morning person. Thanks for being so cheerful Manuel! :)

One thing I'll say about the staff is that although they are extremely polite, helpful and attentive, I didn't meet one English member of staff all week, which I understand in the capital, but is not a great help when you end up having to repeat yourself quite a lot.

On a whole the hotel was good and I enjoyed my stay so have no complaints. Premier Inn need to extend the work they've put in to their capital city hotel to other locations in the country which are clearly lacking - London is not the centre of the world guys...

Room Tip: If you want to avoid the road noise maybe ask for a room at the back of the hotel - but i don't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Paul E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
haverfordwest
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 February 2012

We arrived at about 8.pm and received a warm welcome, the family room was a good size with two extra single beds and the bathroom had a large walk in shower. Both were very clean.

The location of the hotel is excellent, only five minutes walk from Tower Hill tube, Tower of London and Tower Bridge.

There is a Costa Coffee lounge by reception which serves light refreshments at reasonable cost.

We will hopefully return Soon

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lynn v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2012

This is by far the best premier inn I've stayed in

Great rooms - decent size for London
Service - service is outstanding
Food - evening meals are excellent, cooked fresh
Staff - very friendly
Rooms - very clean

I've stayed in a lot of premier inns and this is by far my favourite

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Svernon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these London hotels
Whitechapel
Premier Inn London City (Aldgate) Hotel
Southwark
Premier Inn London Tower Bridge Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Bank (Tower) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Shoreditch
Premier Inn London City (Old Street) Hotel
City of London
Premier Inn London Blackfriars (Fleet Street) Hotel
Whitechapel
Travelodge London Central Tower Bridge
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel

Property: Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel
Address: 24 Prescot Street, London E1 8BB, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > London > Whitechapel , East End / East London
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#75 Best Value Hotel in London
#76 Family Hotel in London
#120 Romantic Hotel in London
#202 Business Hotel in London
Price range (per night): RM447 - RM838
Hotel Class:3 star — Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Around the corner from the Tower of London and minutes from Canary Wharf, Bank and Liverpool Street ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Premier Inn London City (Tower Hill) Hotel London
London Premier Inn
Purple Hotel London
Sleep Inn City London Hotel
Purple Hotel City London

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing