We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average burgers ”
Review of Rox Burger

Rox Burger
Ranked #646 of 25,280 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$9 - US$14
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Groups
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations, Takeout
Description: HISTORY Established in 2014. Founded in 2014 by Fabrizio Bodnar Pires (a talented London chef hailing from Brazil) and Marcela Pires interior designer Rox Burger is a fun, new take on the gourmet burger industry. With a concept of 'never frozen ingredients', Rox Burger serves the freshest home-made food, offering a flavoursome selection of classic fare, recreated with a unique and original twist - and always 'seasoned with love'! We have something for every taste - whether meat-lover, vegetarian, health nut or connoisseur, your burger awaits! Simply put, exceptional quality at an affordable price, in a friendly environment. Rox Burger brings a little bit of Brazilian sunshine to SE London!
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Nothing special about this burger. The bread wasn’t fresh and the fried where cooked in a very old oil. Please change the oil more regularly, it is very bad for your health overusing it.

1  Thank alcalve
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela P, Public Relations Manager at Rox Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Dear Alcave,
Hello,

We are disappointed to hear you did not enjoy your visit to Rox Burger. Regarding the fries issue, you mentioned we have a recorded routine of our fryers being cleaned and the oil changed often, but we will be taking action about your comment as we take all feedback seriously. All of the food is made with high-quality fresh ingredients and is prepared, seasoned and cooked by us in store also, you also mentioned that our bun wasn't fresh, which I can't agree, due to the fact that we have dairy Freshly Baked Brioche Burger Buns delivered to us. You can also check our food hygiene rating which has been the highest possible since we opened in 2014 here:
http://ratings.food.gov.uk/enhanced-search/en-GB/rox%20burger/London/Relevance/0/%5E/%5E/0/1/10

Kind regards,
Rox Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

16 - 20 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018 via mobile

Simples....

Great burgers great wings great beer great staff. Great venue. So small but well worth getting a table smashing wings and burgers and a few beers then hitting local pubs. Took my family too staff were very accommodating given my baby a toasted bun.

Only downside I didnt like their fries hence i have wings with burger. Fair price for food but beer is overpriced for local London beer

Thank SuperKeen846
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela P, Owner at Rox Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hi there!

Thank you for taking the time out to write this review! We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Rox Burger! We are sorry you didn't enjoy our fries to happy you could find an alternative! We hope to see you again soon

Kind regards,
Rox Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2018

Love this little burger restaurant on Lee High Road. Delicious burgers and parmesan sweet potato fries. The staff are friendly and nothing is too much bother. Particularly found the young waitress with freckles, helpful and pleasant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela P, Public Relations Manager at Rox Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello Sarah,

Thank you for taking the time to write this brilliant review. We are delighted to hear you enjoyed your visit and your kind words about our staff are very much appreciated. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!

Kind regards,
Marclea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018

Having visited Rox multiple times each year since it opened I am so saddened to have to write this new review. The burgers have got worse in every conceivable way:
- Overall smaller by at least a third.
- Far fewer choices on the menu.
- Worse quality of ingredients.
- Dry burger buns.
- Seasoned only with tears of disappointment.

The service, drinks and chips are all still good but the burgers have been changed beyond recognition, seemingly only with profit and speed in mind. Keeping up with demand (and listening to margin-obsessed accountants to pay for that new central London location?) may have lead the owners away from the fantastic quality that gave them the reputation to expand.

I honestly thought my last burger at Rox looked and tasted more like a Whopper than the unique burger I gave 5 stars to a few years ago, I hope to be able to order THAT burger again one day.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank MeInAwesome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela P, Public Relations Manager at Rox Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hello,

Thank you for your review. Firstly at Rox Burger we update and change our menu on a yearly basis. This year we a trying a new concept which has not in any way affected the quality of our burgers. There has been no change to the meats or ingredients we use on our burgers. The only change we have made was to our buns as we are now using a new brioche style bun. It is true that our burgers have changed from 6oz to 5oz but we have also made the burgers significantly more affordable without any loss of quality as part of this new concept. We can assure you the changes have not been made on a financial basis. We are sorry to hear you feel our burgers have changed so drastically. For those sill looking for a larger burger you can add an extra patty and cheese for just £3 that would make our classic option just £8.80 for 10oz of meat

Kind regards,
Marclea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We came here after taking our daughter swimming having heard great things. Rox burger didn’t disappoint. I had the smokey and I can honestly say it was the best burger I’ve ever had, just divine! Soft, not overloaded and the mustard mayo was transcendent, it has a real twang like nothing I’ve ever tasted before. Our 4 year old daughter had a burger from the kids menu and nearly ate all of it which is very unusual for her, so needless to say we were delighted. Very reasonably priced too and friendly service. Will be back

Thank nataco81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marcela P, Owner at Rox Burger, responded to this reviewResponded 20 March 2018

Hello,

We are delighted to hear that you and your family enjoyed your visit to Rox Burger. Thank you for taking the time out to write this review! The smokey is definitely one of our favourites too. We already cannot wait to welcome you back!

Kind regards,
Rox Burger

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Rox Burger also viewed

 

Been to Rox Burger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing