We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous place, fantastic food,wine and service!”

L'Escargot Restaurant & Cocktail Bar
Reserve a table
2
Fri, 03/12
20:00
Ranked #976 of 24,329 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$133
Cuisines: European, French
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Soho
Description: L'Escargot is the oldest French restaurant in London. However, even though a Soho legend, it has kept itself very much up-to-date. Relaxed atmosphere, friendly staff, good food and wine, and all reasonably priced. There is no formal dress code (although nudity is discouraged !). L'Escargot has been host to stars of stage and screen for many years; previous guests include, Coco Chanel, Nigel Havers, Mick Jagger, Elton John, Kate Moss, Judy Dench, and the late Princess Diana. Pre-theatre and post theatre dining is popular and theatre and dinner packages are available. You may just pop in for one course and a cocktail or glass of wine - we look forward to welcoming you. Dogs are welcome, allergies are accommodated, vegetarian and vegan options are always available.
Reviewed 12 October 2021

Fabulous restaurant in Soho. Excellent food,wine,service and Art on the walls . If you want to wine and dine in style this is your place. Absolutely brilliant!

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank natasha679
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (1,033)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

15 - 19 of 1,033 reviews

Reviewed 10 October 2021 via mobile

Exceptional food, impeccable service. The best restaurant in East Suffolk.

George Pell and his team have created something very special at L’Escargot Sur Mer. A warm welcome to what already feels like an established classic. Suffolk has been waiting years for a restaurant that showcases the flavours of the seaside this beautifully.
I cannot recommend it more highly.
Excellent vegan options, a deceptively simple yet perfectly balanced menu accompanied by a fabulous wine list.
We will come again, and again.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Charity20
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 8 October 2021

Brian and his team here run an impeccable ship. The experience was brilliant from the warm welcome to the friendly service and first class food
Whilst it’s not cheap, we never felt our value for money was being compromised. And the creme brûlée…best one I have ever had!

Would definitely recommend coming here

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank tobys119
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 October 2021

Returning to L’Escargot - and to Soho - lets you think that life is getting back to normal. A light supper with friends involved four half lobster and, for me, a share of the soufflé with my wife. It was all absolutely delicious. Although the lobster was reasonably priced I would happily have paid more for more, though if I had ordered a whole lobster I would have felt short changed.

Date of visit: October 2021
Thank Ken D
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 September 2021

It is always a pleasure to be back at L’Escargot. The Greek Street neon signs lure you into the Georgian town-house and the moment you enter you are in for a treat with stunning art-deco style interior, famous artworks and lovely atmosphere. My friend and I visited for a Saturday lunch and we had a splendid time. Snails for a starter is a must - that’s the specialty. Tournedos Rossini and the Sole Veronique are outstanding and the wine list is extensive. The Grand Marnier soufflé is delightful.
What makes L’Escargot so special is the hard working and friendly staff. Special thanks to Nuno and Reda for looking after us so well.

Date of visit: September 2021
1  Thank 313hakanm
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed L'Escargot Restaurant & Cocktail Bar also viewed

 

Been to L'Escargot Restaurant & Cocktail Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.