We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A wonderful lunch”
Review of Wiltons

Wiltons
Ranked #59 of 23,866 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$49 - US$208
Cuisines: Seafood, British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Business meetings
Dining options: After-hours, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Neighbourhood: St. James's
Description: Wiltons, established in 1742, has consistently enjoyed a reputation as the epitome of fine British dining in London. George William Wilton provided the finest oysters to the traders of London"s Haymarket. Today Wiltons continues that tradition and continues to serve the finest oysters, seafood and game. Wiltons combines a modern philosophy on service with all that is traditionally British to create the perfect dining experience. If you are making a reservation for groups of 6 or more, please contact Wiltons directly. Should you have any special requests i.e birthday cakes or champagne, please advise Wiltons immediately upon making your reservation. We politely ask that gentlemen wear long sleeved shirts and long trousers, no sportswear or open toed sandals.
Reviewed 8 November 2017

What a great restaurant - it really is like stepping back into a beautiful, traditional old fashioned world where everything is done beautifully, from the perfectly prepared oysters, beautifully cured salmon and the most tender and delicious roast beef and Yorkshire pudding. All the vegetables were cooked to perfection and a proper, deeply flavoured jus was served which perfectly complemented the gorgeous, tender sirloin. The service was some of the best we had experienced anywhere in the world. We can't wait to return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Barbara F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear Barbara F,

Thank you for your glowing review. We are pleased to see that your meal was as it should be - perfectly cured fish and tender meats with their traditional accompaniments. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (682)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

20 - 24 of 682 reviews

Reviewed 7 November 2017

Once again we return to Wilton’s! What can I say superb staff and excellent service and the food as always exceptional. Every time we go we are reminded just what a fantastic restaurant this really is. Cannot recommend this enough.

Thank ddhagon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 9 November 2017

Dear ddhagon,

Thank you very much for taking the time to leave us a review. It is a great pleasure to know that your service is always excellent and the food superb (we cannot ask for higher praise!) It will be a pleaure to welcome you back "home" again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 October 2017

We had an early evening dinner, booked earlier that day. The welcome at the door was warm, and we were taken to our booth in the rear room. Service from all the staff was excellent; I had scallops followed by grouse (served off the bone) with all the trimmings. Excellent food and good wines to go with it. Yes, it’s expensive, but worth it. Great chat with the sommelier, who knows his wines. We’ll be back the next time we’re in London.

1  Thank al_in_muscat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear al_in_muscat,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review. It is a pleasure to read that you received a warm welcome and excellent service from my colleagues, as well delicious food and wine. We look forward to welcoming you back to Wiltons again on your return visit to London.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

First and last visit to the infamous Wiltons! Charming, bygone interior, spoilt by plethora of obsequious waiters! Only offered one tiny bread roll to begin with. My starter endive salad with pear slices was limp and unappetising! Venison rare, when I'd asked for it not to be. Didn't like to complain as it was a birthday lunch.

1  Thank Lichenplanus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2017

I know it is not long since my last review of this wonderful restaurant, but I just had to tell everyone not to be afraid of having the amazing Cheese Souffle as a dessert ! OMG . I am still dreaming about it .

Had my usual gorgeous Oysters and of course, in season, the Grouse , served on the bone or off ( my choice is always ON ) which was cooked to perfection, but that souffle ------------------Oh Wow ! Can't wait for my next visit .

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Westiegal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jo-AnnaND, Guest Relations Manager at Wiltons, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2017

Dear Westiegal3,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a second review! We are absolutely chuffed that your savoury "dessert" has left such an impression on you and that you are still dreaming of it! We look forward to welcoming you back again soon for more mouthwatering dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wiltons also viewed

 

Been to Wiltons? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing