We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic food with a wonderful sommelier”
Review of Spring

Spring
Reserve with OpenTable
Spring is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #1,335 of 24,835 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Trafalgar Square / Embankment
Description: Spring brings warmth and elegance within a beautiful dining space set in the New Wing of the iconic Somerset House, in the arts and cultural heart of London. At Spring food is celebrated for its conviviality and the joyfulness of sharing seasonal produce. Our cooking is heartfelt, wholesome, produce driven, and cooked by a team of people who are passionate about what they do and who feel truly privileged to work with beautiful ingredients. We hope to create an experience which not only sings on the plate but lingers in the memory. Restaurant Opening Times Lunch Monday to Saturday 12.00-14.30 Dinner Monday to Saturday 17.30-22.30
Reviewed 2 April 2018

This was our first visit to Spring and we know it will not be our last. It will bi on our list of must go to restaurants when we are in London. The food was perfectly suited to the season. My husband and I both had the tagliolini with sage to start which like any perfect pasta was made with dozens of egg yolks. We spend a lot of time in Italy and this pasta rivaled anything we have ever had there. I then had the slow roasted lamb with buttermilk potatoes and wild garlic and my husband had the onglet with jerusalem artichokes . It was hard to decide which was better. I love jerusalem artichokes but have never had ones that really brought out the flavor of an artichoke . Sprint mastered that with top quality techniques.
Besides the food we could not have been more impressed with the sommelier. he wisely guided us on our choice of a white wine to start and then a perfect red. He kindly even wrote down the information so that we could seek out the importers to locate the wine. He knew value and quality - a perfect combination.
We finished the meal with a rhubarb custard tart and an almond sorbet. It was a meal we will long remember.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank NTScull
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring R, Reception Manager at Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Dear NTScull

We are so pleased that your visit to Spring was such a memorable one! Our sommeliers are wonderful and there knowledge is excellent. I will be sure to pass on your kind words.

Kind regards
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (563)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

35 - 39 of 563 reviews

Reviewed 28 March 2018

Lovely decor and setting in Somerset House. Beautifully arranged space with smiley attentive staff. Food was delicious as always by Skye G.
We went for a lunchtime treat and left very happy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank MJohn2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring R, Reception Manager at Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2018

Took my Mother last evening for the scratch menu. I was a little nervous given the idea is you go with the flow and there is no choice. I think however if we had not liked any of the courses, we could have moved onto the a la carte menu, albeit at a much higher price.
Worries unfounded. Lovely staff who were friendly and attentive without being oppressive. We had two carafes of water immediately provided, one still and one sparking. Enjoyed a cocktail each then three beautifully balanced courses. First was a sort of brushetta which was light and incredibly tasty. Second a crab bisque with small pieces of cod and potato. As soon as the bowl arrived the scent was fabulous and we ate every drop. Then a glass of blood orange and rhubarb juice to cleanse the palate. Lastly a ramekin with base layer of sponge, rhubarb and a meringue topping. Light, fresh and all served with perfect timing to allow us to get to the theatre on time. My Mother was in raptures and to enjoy the quality of food and service and venue for £20 a head was amazing.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Hattonlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Spring R, Reception Manager at Spring, responded to this reviewResponded 30 March 2018

We are very pleased to hear that you enjoyed your meal with us at Spring. The Scratch menu is a wonderful way to enjoy Springs superb cuisine at an affordable price and with ingredients that are often overlooked. Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a lovely review. We look forward to seeing you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We were a group of 7 on Monday evening. One table was finishing as we arrived and there was only one other table occupied. We had cocktails first with some artichoke nibbles which were good. Our food was very good, but one of the starters was missing. The rest of us had finished before the missing dish was served. Little apology. Later one of our party (who has a loud laugh) was very kirtly told he was making too much noise and needed to be more quiet. In fairness he was a little loud, but it would probably not have been a problem if the restaurant had not been almost empty. The manner in which he was spoken to was rather unnecessarily sharp bordering on rude. I have always liked this restaurant, but felt rather uncomfortable on this evening and the standard if service was not up to my usual expectations.

3  Thank martinidoc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

First time I’ve ever eaten in a museum and enjoyed it. Thank you Petersham Nurseries, it’s brilliant. I’ll be back to Somerset House for both the culture and the food. Well done.

Thank AtlasShrugg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Spring also viewed

 

Been to Spring? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing