We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A fantastic place!”
Review of El Inca Plebeyo

El Inca Plebeyo
Ranked #1,035 of 24,250 Restaurants in London
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$14 - US$36
Description: El Inca Plebeyo is a family-run restaurant, inspired by the richness of the Latin-American, and specially Ecuadorian culture and history which centres around food, friends, family, laughter, love and happiness. The menu is exciting to satisfy classical as well as adventurous tastes, based on the chef's experience in haute cuisine and fusions using the freshest of ingredients at affordable prices. All dishes are glutten and nut-free too. We aim to offer you an unforgettable experience from the moment you enter through the door with a friendly and welcoming environment making you feel as if you were stepping into Latin-America itself. The Head Chef, Jorge Pacheco, is passionate about showcasing his Ecuadorian culture and history through food, trained by Michelin-star chefs in the London - his menus are unique and a fusion of Latin flavours. Come join us, food lovers, for an unforgettable experience to try different dishes with genuine Latin character as well as any known favourites!
Restaurant details
Description: El Inca Plebeyo is a family-run restaurant, inspired by the richness of the Latin-American, and specially Ecuadorian culture and history which centres around food, friends, family, laughter, love and happiness. The menu is exciting to satisfy classical as well as adventurous tastes, based on the chef's experience in haute cuisine and fusions using the freshest of ingredients at affordable prices. All dishes are glutten and nut-free too. We aim to offer you an unforgettable experience from the moment you enter through the door with a friendly and welcoming environment making you feel as if you were stepping into Latin-America itself. The Head Chef, Jorge Pacheco, is passionate about showcasing his Ecuadorian culture and history through food, trained by Michelin-star chefs in the London - his menus are unique and a fusion of Latin flavours. Come join us, food lovers, for an unforgettable experience to try different dishes with genuine Latin character as well as any known favourites!
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A great neighbourhood restaurant, and if Islington isn't your neighbourhood, travel there! Warm, welcoming service from knowledgable staff.

The food is delicious. Today we had the hot prawn ceviche which was beautifully presented and extremely tasty - zesty with a little chilli kick. Along with a nice fresh broad bean salad with homemade cheese and yummy crispy fried green plantain....and that was just for starters.

The restaurant was quiet due to it being Easter Sunday night, but the atmosphere was lovely with warm lighting and South American music at just the right level. A great experience all round.

Extra info. My partner is a wheelchair user and found it easy to access the restaurant with step-free access at the front. Not sure whether they have disabled toilet facilities, but we didn't need them.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Kirsteen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorge p, Owner at El Inca Plebeyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Kirsteen,

Thank you very much for your kind review! It was really nice having you both and we are really happy you enjoyed our food and ambience.

The hot prawn ceviche is one of our signature dishes as we tried to blend the qualities of a ceviche from the coast of Ecuador, with the potatoes and white corn from the Andes. I'm really pleased you liked it!

The homemade cheese is also very special because I follow my mother's recipe from a rural town in Loja, Ecuador. She'll be very proud that her recipe is international and liked by many!

We hope to see you and your husband again! Join us on Facebook/ Twitter/ Instagram to keep in touch about our new dishes and any Ecuadorian/ Latin events, if you like.

Take care and hasta luego,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (127)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 127 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just had a fantastic meal at El Inca Plebeyo, great food by Jorge and warm, professional service by the front-end staff. Definitely(!!) a place to come back.

2  Thank Jose N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorge p, Owner at El Inca Plebeyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Jose,

Thank you very much for your review! I'm really glad that you enjoyed your meal at El Inca :) It helps us to make sure we keep up the standards and encourage us every day.

We are always introducing new dishes from Ecuador and also signature dishes, creations from Latin-America, so hopefully you can try them soon!

We are also very active on Facebook/ Instagram/ Twitter so if you would like to know about the latest, join us!

Take care and see you soon,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

What an experience we all had at this amazing restaurant. My husband came across this restaurant earlier this year and we had to visit! We were welcomed by a lovely lady who was our waitress, she also explained the whole menu to us and made recommendations too. Very helpful, patient and informative.
When the food arrived OMG!! It was delicious!! We were 4people, we all ordered different dishes for mains and starters so we had a big variety, thoroughly enjoyed making our own meze!!
We wanted to give our complements to the chef for our meal so the owner of the restaurant that is the head-chef came to talk to us. He was so charming and talked to us about the food and restaurant and his time working with Gordon Ramsey too!!
Highly recommend this restaurant, best Ceviche in town! wonderful food and wonderful service.

Maria Epiphaniou-Tavakkoli :)

1  Thank tabsnwjsbsjsk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorge p, Owner at El Inca Plebeyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Maria!

Thank you very much for your amazing review! We are very happy you had a great night with your husband and your friends and really enjoyed our menu and ceviches!

I'll pass your compliments to our waitress too, as well all really enjoy making your visit memorable and also sharing our love for our culture through food and drinks with you. It's like welcoming your welcoming you to our home and our country :)

We hope to see you soon for another Ecuadorian night! We are always introducing new flavours and new dishes to our menu, so if you like you can also join us on Facebook/ Instagram for the latest news!

Take care and see you soon,

Jorge




Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The Chef is creative and serves a refined Ecuadorian cuisine with a twist. My boyfriend and I love going there.
I always order the pork belly with sweet potatoes puree, tiraditos, the mushroom ceviche and... the chocolate fondant melting inside with a chilly whipped cream!! This is heaven for those who love the real taste of pure and dark chocolate!!

The only thing missing is maybe a little space to make a little salsa dance ;-)

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Rolirolle2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorge p, Owner at El Inca Plebeyo, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Rolirolle2017,

Thank you very much for your 5-star review and the compliments for the Chef! It fills us with enthusiasm.

It is our pleasure to serve the food that we love from our country. I'm really happy you know enjoy so many of our dishes and hopefully we can keep on impressing you and your boyfriend with these and new dishes in your next visits.

Take care and see you soon,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

When I visited this restaurant, I felt like I was back in Latin America. The staff were warm and welcoming, and the food was absolutely delicious. It is traditional Ecuadorian cuisine with a few modern twists. I highly recommend this restaurant if you are looking for an authentic Ecuadorian experience.

1  Thank danielacarlucci
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jorge p, Owner at El Inca Plebeyo, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Hi Daniela,

Thank your very much for your review.

We are very happy you enjoyed our Ecuadorian cuisine and atmosphere. Our dishes represent the hot Ecuadorian coast and the cosy Andes too, so you are, in a way, travelling to Ecuador through food! I’m glad you felt that way too!

We want our customers to have a break from busy London, and like you say, feel like they are relaxing in Ecuador for a few hours so we are very glad you enjoyed your evening.

We hope to see you again soon! Remember to like us on social media too @elincaplebeyo to keep in touch about new dishes and offers/events.

Take care,

Jorge

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Inca Plebeyo also viewed

London, England
 
London, England
 

Been to El Inca Plebeyo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing