We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad service!”
Review of Big Moe's Diner

Big Moe's Diner
Ranked #3,269 of 24,831 Restaurants in London
Price range: US$4 - US$32
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Whitechapel
Description: Big Moe's Diner has recreated the classic 50s-style American Diner. We offer authentic American diner food including burgers, steaks, hot dogs, ribs and pizzas. We also have amazing ice-creams, waffles, cakes, shakes and other classic diner desserts
Reviewed 2 April 2018

I've been to this Diner several times but it's never been this bad. I went here with my sister and it was very quiet (very surprised as it's usually never this quiet), we were seated straight away. We decided to order 'Big Moe's Platter' and 'Big Moe’s Full Rack of Lamb Ribs' with an extra portion of chips as a main to share. The starters came quickly and was very nice, even before we could finish the starters the mains came. I was very shocked to see how small the ribs were, as I've not been here for a few months I just assumed that the portion size was reduced. But it just seemed to get worse, upon picking up the ribs to eat there was a very strong scent with it, like meat that's been cooked but a day or two ago! It didn't smell like the BBQ because there was barely any sauce on it, I start to eat it and the meat was very tough and they must of not used enough dry rub as it was very bland as well. The scent was the biggest turn off so we decided to speak to a staff member, the staff member called the manager and he was very rude! When he smelt the meat he said that it was the BBQ flavor and how they make it different, he then suddenly asks us "What do you want me to do about it, there is no point of us arguing, what do you want". No one apologized or anything, very rude staff, it felt as though they were mocking us, as if we were being strange!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank jonieeesam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmoe123, General Manager at Big Moe's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear jonieeesam,


Thank you for your review. We are sorry to here that you didn't enjoy your last visit here, please kindly send us an email so we can look into resolving the issue for you.

info@bigmoesdiner.co.uk

Kindest regards,
Big Moe's Team
Delete Response

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (413)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

40 - 44 of 413 reviews

Reviewed 21 March 2018

Gives a fairly authentic feel and taste of a USA Route 66 type diner.Good food choice, which was well cooked and presented with good portion sizes. Only thing that stopped it being 5* for us was the fact that the service was quite slow even though the place was not busy when we were in.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anita37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmoe123, General Manager at Big Moe's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Anita37,

Thank you for the feedback! Sorry to hear the service was below par. Hopefully our service is quicker for you next time as we try our best to make all our guests happy.

Kindest regards,

Big Moe's Diner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2018 via mobile

So nostalgic place, full of 50's decoration. We had some coffee and dessert (chocolate cake and apple pie - delicious!!!) We'll surely come back again for dinner. Great place!

Thank Penny M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmoe123, General Manager at Big Moe's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Penny M,

Thank you for the feedback! We look forward to your visit again soon.

Kindest regards,

Big Moe's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2018 via mobile

We had decided to go to Moe’s Diner after our original reservation at a venue near by wasn’t met. We were looking for somewhere else to eat and had previously had a look, so we decided to give it a go.

The diner looks and feels very authentic we some great songs playing in the background. I especially like the Chevy in the middle of the restaurant.

We order the Big Moe’s platter as we couldn’t decided what to have everything tasted amazing especially the three dips. We then had the burgers which tasted wonderful and even better than the others ones we had tried in the area, the chips were nice and crispy and very hot. For dessert we shared the strawberry and chocolate waffle, this was very yummy.

The shakes taste authentically American, we particularly liked the malt ones.

Overall a superb experience the staff were all polite pleasant and helpful especially Farhan and Rafaela. We will definitely be coming again. Highly recommended.

Thank TravelEatsLDN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmoe123, General Manager at Big Moe's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear TravelEatsLDN,

Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass on the great feedback to Farhan and Rafaela. Hopefully we will get the opportunity to serve you again soon.

Malt shakes are our favourite too ;)

Kindest Regards,
Big Moe's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

Cute little place,
Good food,
Polite and friendly staff,
fast internet,
a nice and relaxing atmosphere.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alfred L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bigmoe123, General Manager at Big Moe's Diner, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2018

Dear Alfred L,

Thank you for the feedback, we hope to see you again soon!

Kindest regards,
Big Moe's Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Big Moe's Diner also viewed

Barking, Barking and Dagenham
 

Been to Big Moe's Diner? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing