We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
US$137
US$123
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
Hotels.com
Booking.com
US$137
US$123
View deal
SAVE US$14
Free cancellation until 26/06/21
PricelineUS$137
Expedia.comUS$137
TravelocityUS$137
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (272)
Filter reviews
272 results
Traveller rating
192
56
13
6
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
192
56
13
6
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews garden suite city centre safety measures lovely hotel breakfast buffet was good cooked to order minute walk single bed breakfast and evening meal one way system air conditioning unthank road car park the general manager birthday party wedding reception good size
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 272 reviews
Reviewed 30 April 2021

Wasn't sure what to expect from this hotel. The website makes it look cute and boutique, but on site it feels very much like a motel, with rooms spread around a car park. If all you care about it the room and friendly service, then this scores well. However, it isn't somewhere I would particularly want to stay for more than one night, or for anything other than a functional reason.

My room was very attractive and modern, however you could not have the curtains/blinds open without having someone look into the room from the car park. Also, it was extremely cold. I'd imagine that they are saving on heating bills and spreading people around the rooms during COVID. But I would guess the room temperature on arrival was 16c.

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank JT14
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2021

Thank you for your review. We have only just reo-pened our outside cottage rooms to essential workers only, so its a shame you were not able to experience our beautiful hotel fully functioning in all its glory. We look forward to fully opening again on the 17th May. I do apologise if you felt the room was cold on your arrival, but we do set a standard room tempreture of 22 degrees and please note, each room does have air conditioning, which you are more than welcome to set at the tempreture you desire. Thank you for also mentioning that you had a modern, attractive room and friendly service, it is appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2020

Beautifully decorated, really comfortable, outstanding food and the best team of people I've ever encountered. The George went straight to number one in our top places to stay in Norwich, and in fact the UK.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank SeaOtter63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 December 2020

Thank you very much for this brilliant review. We have just had to close again due to covid regulations so this review has really helped inspire us to remain positive and we look forward to welcoming you back to the George when you are next in Norwich.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2020

Visited Norwich to celebrate my wife's birthday. Very helpful and attentive staff . Covid measures excellent, ( was little concerned that the machine indicated several times that I had low temperature!) Room was comfortable , powerful shower in the bathroom. Breakfast . cooked was excellent, the best. Dinner was not adventurous but really well cooked and could not be faulted. ALL the staff were excellent. friendly. helpful and professional. Will definitely stay again.

Date of stay: December 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank JeremyPeterT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 17 December 2020

Thank you very much for your great review. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 November 2020

A very pleasant experience - all staff were extremely helpful and polite. The hotel felt very COVID safe and their COVID policies supported this. The room was very spacious with great decor - the bed was huge and very comfortable. Will definitely revisit!

Date of stay: October 2020
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank wendysears2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 November 2020

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are really pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 October 2020 via mobile

My husband and I were visiting Norwich and chose The George Hotel to stay in.
We arrived on the Friday and our room was charming.
However the real reason this Hotel is so special, is the staff.
The people who work for the Hotel should be so proud of themselves, you have made our stay so memorable.
We had a couple of evenings just sitting in the bar before bed and the staff, even though they had lots to do, chatted and joked with us. Alistair, Ash, Donna and Sally were so funny together, they clearly have a lovely working relationship that made us giggle along with them.
The lovely smiling welcome girls and breakfast waiting staff literally couldn't do enough for us. Our breakfast was delicious, despite the fact that the staff have so much more to do at the moment.
Now, I know that things have to be done a bit differently today and it's one of the reasons deciding to go away is tricky, but this Hotel has made such efforts to make everyone feel as safe as they can, without losing the comfort and atmosphere. Such a difficult thing to accomplish, so credit where it is due, I tip my hat to you and say "Bravo, you have done a wonderful job, keep up the hard work and David and I very much look forward to returning ".

Date of stay: October 2020
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank 45Rachel68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie Ashworth, General Manager at The George Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 27 October 2020

Thank you very much indeed for your wonderful review.We really do appreciate your kind comments and look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews