We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 August 2017 via mobile

Excellent base for our day spent tackling the 3 Peaks. Great room and great breakfast from very friendly staff. We also liked the bar including a wide range of ales and a great atmosphere. Good mix of locals and guests.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
Thank David Q
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (517)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

24 - 28 of 517 reviews

Reviewed 18 August 2017

Did the Carlisle-Settle rail journey & stayed 2 nights at the Lion. Room was very comfortable & the atmosphere in the bar/restaurant seemed to be buzzing all afternoon & evening. Good food & service in the restaurant as well as at the bar - the Settle meat pudding is fantastic. Dogs are not only welcome they seem to be pampered! Maybe we'll bring our cat next time (or maybe not). Easy walk to the station (150-200 m) even with luggage & good nice walks around the town. Thoroughly enjoyed our stay

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank grumpyolegit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2017

Lovely couple of days away in Settle. We stayed at The Lion and we had our dog Bubble with us, which was lovely. Great atmosphere, relaxed, convivial, food excellent and staff very helpful and friendly. Would definitely stay here again. We ate in the bar each night because we had our dog with us but it was very comfortable in there and the menu was the same as in the restaurant

Room Tip: We booked a character room, large with en suite bathroom and sofa - ours was at the front of the hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Joanne G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2017 via mobile

We had a gift voucher for the shop which we recommend highly for cheese lovers - better than Gloucester Services and on a par with La Fromagerie. Decided to stay overnight in Settle. Arrived at The Lion - warm welcome and clear instructions on parking which worked well. Nice large room (14) overlooking the main road and a bit of traffic noise at dawn. Town centre pub atmosphere , good beer. Dinner was excellent and generous, steaks - might share one next time. Breakfast similar . Staff helpful attentive and friendly - recommended sister property at Pooley Bridge - newly renovated . Overall a most enjoyable stay . Don't miss The Folly!

Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank baggins2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2017 via mobile

My family and I were looking for somewhere to eat in in settle when we came across the lion. From the outside the place looked very nice so we decided to give it a try. We went in and got shown to our table. The table was already set but the glasses were grubby and one water tumbler had what seemed like mould on it. We then waited about 20 minutes for our drink orders to be taken by this time we had decided on what we were having from the menu so we ordered both drinks and food at the same time. About another 10 minutes went by until our drinks arrived. We were served with two flat cokes and a flat lemonade. I wanted to tell the waiter the drinks were flat but he wasn’t very attentive so I took my coke to the bar to complain. I was told they would bring some more over. After a little while longer the waiter brought us some more drinks and they were just as flat as the last. On complaining again I was told it was the best they could do. An hour in and all we had be given was flat drinks and bad service so we decided to leave.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Rick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.6 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
368 reviews
1.7 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
331 reviews
7 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
617 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,040 reviews
28 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
429 reviews
32.4 km away
The Wheatsheaf in Wensleydale
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: RM442 - RM698 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing