We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”
Review of The Lion at Settle

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Lion at Settle
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 29 September 2017

The Lion in settle.
Great place to stay in settle. Typical Yorkshire pub in a small town just north west of Skipton, with really good food and a good range of craft beers. Settle has one of the few well kept original railway stations on the Settle to Carlisle railway lines within a short walking distance of the hotel. Stayed there for 2 nights in mid September and the room was clean, very comfortable and the staff were helpful and keen to please. Parking in the town square next to the hotel is free for 2 hours with a parking disk until 5pm except Tuesday market day. Overnight parking is available quite close for a reasonable charge of £2.40. Loved Settle and loved Skipton, we will definitely go back there again.

Room Tip: Go for the superior rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank veryoldfart
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 511 reviews

Reviewed 26 September 2017

We only had one night here, the room was simply furnished but with everything one needs for a nice night.

The pub, bar and restaurant area were great - we had several pints from a great range of beers at the bar, before moving to the adjacent restaurant area.

The food was delicious and homely and offered excellent value. The staff were polite and attentive, and were knowledgeable.

We wished we had more time here.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SimonTLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 September 2017

We stumbled in this place when we were looking for a light lunch. The lounge is lovely, really homely and comfy and the staff super friendly and helpful. I had a superb cranberry, Brie and bacon sandwich and lovely chips. A really good memory of a stop off in Settle.

  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
Thank TheWhiteRabbit57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 September 2017 via mobile

The four of us were visiting Settle as part of a trip to Ribblehead viaduct.
We popped into the Lion for a quick lunch and were only looking for a snack. There was a snack and sandwiches menu which catered for everybody's taste which was reasonably priced.
There was an adequate collection of beers and lagers, and I particularly liked the Lancaster Bomber.
The "light lunch" arrived and we were all bowled over by the large size of the portions. Not for the weak of appetite! The quality of the food was good and tasty.
Service was friendly and we were made very comfortable. We also noted the effort the hotel had gone to to accommodate dogs.

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank jim3oaks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 September 2017 via mobile

I'm not sure what has happened recently in The Lion, but the whole experience of visiting here has changed completely.
The place was disappointing to say the least. Surly, miserable staff, not interacting with customers. Having been a regular customer, I won't be visiting again. There are nicer places in Settle to get a drink

Stayed: September 2017, travelled with friends
Thank Ranger-Bag-Pooch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Settle
0.6 km away
Falcon Manor Hotel
Falcon Manor Hotel
#2 of 4 in Settle
365 reviews
1.7 km away
The Craven Arms
The Craven Arms
#1 of 1 in Giggleswick
330 reviews
7.0 km away
The Traddock
The Traddock
#1 of 1 in Austwick
615 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
28.0 km away
Stone House Hotel
Stone House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Hawes
428 reviews
8.1 km away
Beck Hall Malham
Beck Hall Malham
#1 of 1 in Malham
1,037 reviews
9.3 km away
New Inn Hotel
New Inn Hotel
#1 of 1 in Clapham
563 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Lion at Settle? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Lion at Settle

Address: Duke Street, Yorkshire Dales National Park, Settle BD24 9DU, England (Formerly The Golden Lion Hotel)
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Yorkshire Dales National Park > Settle
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 4 Hotels in Settle
Price Range: RM421 - RM694 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Lion at Settle 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the picturesque market town of Settle in the heart of the Yorkshire Dales, The Lion at Settle is a characterful inn offering cosy rooms, locally sourced food and award winning cask ales. So whether you join us for a big family dinner, a quiet drink with friends or the dog, or enjoy a relaxing break we look forward to welcoming you to our dog friendly and family friendly inn. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your The Lion at Settle reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Lion At Settle Hotel Settle

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing