We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Discovery Accomodation
Nearby Hotels
US$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$83
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (886)
Filter reviews
886 results
Traveller rating
333
206
137
85
125
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
333
206
137
85
125
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed apartmentstarfish houseswimming poolminute slotmini suiteroyal crescentmain receptionmain buildingthese apartmentsself cateringwashing up liquidscratch cardpublic car parktop floorliving areaparking spacecouple of nights
Filter
Updating list...
19 - 24 of 886 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2018

we really enjoyed our stay in Whitby we stayed in the discovery house in the bligh room a few steps to get up to the room so if your elderly ask for a ground floor room. our room was very nice fresh colours the chairs in the little living room, there is a telly and free internet when the telly is on the bathroom was lovely to and the bedroom with a kettle tea coffee etc and a hairdryer we would stay here again as it was lovely. We arrived at the office to check in around 11.00 am but we did not get our codes for our rooms till around 3.20pm by then we were ready to get into the room to freshen up and get back out to meet friends. There is car parking at the front of this accommodation but I think you must phone when booking to reserve a space I think the parking is nothing to do with the discovery and is around £10 a day I would personally book it next time less hasstle we did buy a scratch card from the discovery office that cost £5 for two days parking we were lucky to get a space up the street though, you can go back to the office if you want to have breakfast but we went to the singing kettle café £5.50 for a large yummy breakfast and friendly people. I would defo recommend the harbour view for fish and chips omg beautiful thick fish to and the chips were wedges the best like I said we would stay again very clean and lovely accommodation.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank a-hinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 April 2018

Recommended by a friend we were not disappointed. We stayed in Seabreeze near to the whalebones and we had a fabulous view if the sea. The room was clean and spacious and the building has been recently refurbished. Check in by text was easy. We had a slight problem with the bathroom door not closing properly and reported it, and someone came out straight away to fix it. We will definitely stay there again.

Stayed: March 2018
Thank julie j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 March 2018

mouldy walls, no toilet roll, no p trap on sink so room stunk of sewerage, no coffee tea milk or sugar, gaps in the doors of about an inch either side, had to ask for the broken toilet seat to be fixed and the bed sheets to be changed. hadnt been cleaned for atleast a year stay well away if you want a nice cheap room the hostel would be a better vacation !!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank hansonkeith19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

You booked our economy room at about £25 pppn which is one of our most popular rooms with 700 guests each year. None of the other guests found any of the problems you list, and we also checked the room after your stay.

The problem is you booked cheap and expected expensive and could not justify spending so little on your partner.

These are great value rooms for people who are on a budget, offering central accommodation at an affordable price.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018

We stayed at the “ captains rest “ from 16/3/18 to 18/3/18 paid £142 for two nights (£71 a night) £28 for breakfast too. The place was nice and clean, and was cosy like a cabin. I had the full english breakfast, and had only one of everything - which would of liked 2 sausages and bacon. So I didn’t think it was value for money to be honest. So I won’t be staying with Discovery accomadation again.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Esther T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 March 2018 via mobile

No personal contact during the booking. Once booked as a B&B we then find out Breakfast is not included in the price. Nor is any car parking. The room we were given was best described as a wooden box. On the first morning we had a conversation with someone who I assume was the owner during a breakfast that could be at best described as barely a Full English. However this was far better than the breakfast we had on the second day. 1 sausage 1 fried egg 1 piece of toast 1 small ramekin of beans and 1 of mushrooms and 1 coffee - £7:00 However the 3 ladies managing breakfast were worse than poor. It took us 15 minutes and going to them from our table to even be rudely acknowledged. 1 female server had a badly bandaged hand, but no protective glove. The cook had long hair hanging out of a cap that she constantly fiddled with. At no time did they ask us if we were pre paid guests or even enjoying our breakfast. We left after breakfast by simply walking out. Poor. We do not recommend this establishment. We will not be back!

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Richard M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DiscoveryAccomm, Manager at Discovery Accomodation, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2018

Dear Richard M

You did book the economy room at about £26 pppn you would not expect to have breakfast included at these rates. Why didn't you know what you had booked? The descriptions are clear, of what is included or not. We also send out additional information on how to book additional item, like breakfast and parking or swimming.

We have 8000 bookings a year with over 35000 guests with 98% of guests understanding what they have booked and are happy with the accommodation and service.

We offer good value for money accommodation in the heart of Whitby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews