We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Stayed with my son whilst watching Whitby Town”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
White Horse and Griffin
Ranked #9 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 15 August 2017

Visited Whitby to watch a tournament at Whitby Town Football Club, staff were attentive as we checked in & advised of the best places nearby to park our car (£8.00 for 24 hours at local council car park)
Booked a table for 2 at short notice & despite being advised they were fully booke dthey squeezed us in as were were guests
Food was good with decent sized portions, the steak was cooked just as had been requested.
Wine was good & reasonable priced.
Room was a little small with old wooden furniture but thats what we expected at such an old building, bathroom facilities wre enmodern & very clean

Room Tip: Soom rooms have a forward aspect which would overlook Whitby
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Stephen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 525 reviews

Reviewed 13 August 2017

We had a nice stay and lovely meal in the restaurant. The Lobster & crab salad was delicious. Our room was at the top, so a few stairs were climbed but would recommend the place to anyone who didn't struggle physically with stairs.

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Waynegreaves
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2017

We stayed here for the first time for one night in August in the Bagatelle room. It cost us £95 for bed and breakfast.
The room was tiny and right at the very top of the property stairs were very steep. We were worried about fire escape, as there were no sprinklers and no alternative exits.
The breakfast was lovely. There was a selection of hot and cold choices and the staff were nice.
Drinks in the bar were very expensive, the same price as we had paid in London the weekend before.
The room was poorly appointed, there was no hairdryer in the room and the electrics went out during our stay.
If given the option do not stay in Bagatelle room. We were really disappointed, as we had this B&B recommended as a nice place to stay in Whitby.

Room Tip: Do not stay in Bagatelle room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Heather P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2017

We had a meal at WH&G on Friday 28th July and had an excellent meal - crab scotch egg and mackerel starter, superb ... steak perfect, lemon sole excellent ....... so booked again for Sunday 30th .... and wished we hadn't bothered! Same starters, not bad at all, although not as good as Friday .... but both had cod, chips and mushy peas for main ... one with batter one without .... without not bad, but not good ... the batter however, was overdone, far too crispy and a slightly charred taste, left most of it ..... but beware the mushy peas - left a very unpleasant aftertaste of ammonia - either too much bicarb or not enough/no sugar to sweeten ... or both!!!

  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Service
1  Thank KimBowden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2017

Not cheap due to its location and history. Rooms looking tired, noisy upper rooms when your below. Poor wifi in certain areas. Shocking bathroom, poor layout and not clean, hotel bathrooms should sparkle not look dull. Change in staff I believe who some were a little terse, mixed service both at dinner and breakfast. Meals ok....ish but not what they used to be. Suggest the management look at how the rooms are cleaned.

Room Tip: Top floor but be considerate to below rooms, seagulls a nightmare
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank AndyScunthorpe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
3.2 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,118 reviews
0.2 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
460 reviews
0.4 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,190 reviews
0.5 km away
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Bagdale Hall Hotel
#5 of 20 in Whitby
646 reviews
4.3 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
869 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to White Horse and Griffin? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about White Horse and Griffin

Address: 87 Church Street, Whitby YO22 4BH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: RM352 - RM648 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — White Horse and Griffin 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The White Horse & Griffin is an almost 450 year old Coaching Inn, the first built in Whitby to serve the route to London. Operating these days as a Restaurant with Rooms it is situated on an unspoilt cobbled shambles near the base of Whitby's famous 199 Abbey Steps. The building is technically on 3 floors but is actually on 7 different levels. It boasts 10 unique and quirky bedrooms full of history and character. The walls are bumpy, the stairs are narrow and the ceilings are low. The Bistro/ Restaurant is cosy and heated by an open fire. The food is outstanding with the signature dishes (such as the Seafood Meze for 2 & the Fillet Sharing Platter) saying much about the place - great quality, great quantity, designed for sharing and, as with much in life, you get what you are prepared to pay for. The WH&G is best suited to couples and groups who want to get away, eat great food, drink good wine, meet new people, join in with the atmosphere and then retire to a hand-made bed with a hand stuffed mattress to regroup before a chef-cooked breakfast. As well as a comprehensive English Breakfast choices in the morning also include Fortune's Kippers, Smoked Haddock, Kedgeree, Scrambles, Omlettes, Fresh Fruits and Honeyed Porridge. A major benefit is that the heart of unspoiled North Yorkshire and its Coast is outside the front door in either walking or steam train distance. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your White Horse and Griffin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
White Horse And Griffin Hotel Whitby
White Horse And Griffin Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing