We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Lovely Cottage, great location”
other travellers have booked this property
exterior view
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
exterior view
Harbour view from bedroom dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
42 reviews
exterior view
Harbour view from bedroom
dining area
kitchen/diner
ivory decorated bedroom
luxury bathroom
Entrance to Laverick Steps
View of Whitby and cottage location
Whitby view
Whitby view
Whitby Abbey
Robin Hoods Bay
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 42 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Lesley G
Hartlepool, UK
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely Cottage, great location”
Reviewed 4 May 2017 for a stay in April 2017

The cottage is spotlessly clean and has everything you need for your break. We didnt cook anything but noticed plenty of utensils, lovely hospitality goods and also a bottle of wine. The bathroom was large and again spotless and modern. The stairs are a bit of a challenge but we soon got the hang of them. I also left our phone chargers which were posted back promptly. All in all a great stay would definitely recommend

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
6 May 2017
So glad you enjoyed it and thanks for the family recommendaction!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrsSportB...
Doncaster, England (United Kingdom)
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Another Fabulous Stay”
Reviewed 22 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Our second visit to this charming little cottage and it certainly didn't disappoint. I don't think we'd stay anywhere else in Whitby now. The welcome pack is a lovely gesture. Laverick Steps is spotlessly clean and very comfortable, the temperature in the cottage was just right for us and we always had hot water. Lovely view from the bedroom overlooking the harbour and great for people watching! The cottage is in a perfect location. We prepaid for a parking permit from the Tourist Information Centre (£7 per day) left the car in the long stay car park for the duration of our stay and it was safe leaving it overnight. The permit is valid in Whitby, Scarborough, Filey, Sandsend, Staithes and Robin Hoods Bay. We absolutely love this cottage and would have no hesitation recommending it to family and friends.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Apr 2017
So glad you had another good stay and we look forward to your return visit
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lynneedge...
Shirenewton, United Kingdom
1 review
“Cosy harbour cottage - just perfect”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

Fantastic position overlooking harbour and close to all attractions in Whitby. Beautifully decorated throughout and everything provided for a relaxing stay. Luxurious bathroom, spotlessly clean and a real romantic getaway - can't fault it!

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Jackdog85
Wigan, UK
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Lovely, clean accommodation in a good location”
Reviewed 25 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

This is a very nice little property, set on three floors, adjacent to the River Esk and about 10 minutes' stroll from the town. On the ground floor is a small but well-equipped kitchen/sitting room. Middle floor is a quite large bathroom with screened over-bath shower. Top floor is bedroom, with good views across the river to the town. The winding stairs are quite compact, as the owner says, and not suitable for people with limited mobility, but no problem for super-fit individuals like us!
Parking is a bit tight on the road outside: if you see a space, grab it and leave your car there for the duration if you can.
Whitby is a pleasant town with plenty of restaurants. Our favourite was the Marine, not cheap but very good and quite trendy, so booking is essential.

How easy was it to book the property?
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Debbie C
Blackpool, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Cosy cottage in perfect location”
Reviewed 4 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We really enjoyed our weekend, the photos really do not do it justice. Everything you need is provided and there were some lovely extra touches such as a bottle of wine, a pint of milk and biscuits. The bed linen and towels were good quality. We spent hours looking at the view from the bedroom window, perched on the high stools, drinking wine! There are 2 good pubs nearby and it is 2 minutes walk to the centre of Whitby.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: View from the window
Liked least: Cigarette butts outside
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 May 2016
So glad you enjoyed your stay. Do come back!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing