We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Local Museum”
Review of Whitby Museum

Whitby Museum
Ranked #3 of 52 things to do in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Striving to preserve an Edwardian atmosphere, this museum houses a variety of general collections.
Reviewed 2 April 2018

A really informative local museum which perfectly summarises the key historical influences that have helped to shape the town over the centuries. I'd recommend coming here to contextualise the town early on in your stay/visit, as it explains so many features found in the town from whale bones to boats to Cook.

Parking was a pain though, and we had to try several times for a suitable space to become available by the rear door as advised on the website - they had a meeting when we wanted to visit and I suspect some visitors took up the disabled spaces and were there for a number of hours. If accessibility is an issue this is a consideration. However, once inside no issues whatsoever and the staff were superb and a real credit to the site. Really enjoyed the visit.

1  Thank Sprigeteer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at Whitby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you for your review. I'm sorry that parking was an issue for you on the day of your visit, unfortunately we do only have 4 disabled parking spaces and these are shared between ourselves, Pannett Art Gallery & Pannett Park. I hope that this did not detract too much from your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (667)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"model ships"
in 31 reviews
"pannett park"
in 52 reviews
"stuffed animals"
in 14 reviews
"well worth a visit"
in 75 reviews
"fossil collection"
in 11 reviews
"mummified hand"
in 8 reviews
"natural history"
in 12 reviews
"treasure trove"
in 15 reviews
"eclectic collection"
in 8 reviews
"packed full"
in 14 reviews
"rainy day"
in 28 reviews
"dolls houses"
in 7 reviews
"interesting exhibits"
in 18 reviews
"whitby jet"
in 34 reviews
"glass cases"
in 10 reviews
"on display"
in 25 reviews
"captain cook"
in 41 reviews
Filter

42 - 46 of 668 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018

This is a great old fashioned museum full of interesting objects rather than displays and screens. A big focus on geology, showing some of the many fantastic fossil finds from the area.

Thank pattersa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at Whitby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2018

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018

Please visit this wonderful local history packed museum free for forces and on £5 for everyone else.

2  Thank Yelloh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at Whitby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you for your recommendation. The £5 entrance fee also lasts for the whole year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 March 2018 via mobile

Really cute museum. Does not take a super long time to get through. Has stuff from the city and surrounding areas. Fossils were my favorite part!

Thank keljay68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at Whitby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 28 March 2018

Thank you, so pleased you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 24 February 2018 via mobile

I visited here with my wife who is a wheelchair user. We parked up outside the museum in a small free car park with limited disabled spaces. Car park entrance is on St Hilda’s terrace. Entrance for the disabled is to the rear of the building at the car park. We arrived at 15:15 to have an hour looking around the exhibits as the museum closed at 16:30 but on entering and seeing how much was on show knew that it wasn’t going to be possible to have a look in detail. It cost £5 each to get in and that’s for a yearly pass. The staff on entering were very friendly and helpful. The cafe shut at 15:30 and by the time we had finished at the till we had 5 minutes to grab a quick drink but the lovely ladies on the till told us not to worry and phoned down to the cafe to see if they could remain open for us which they did. There is 3 floors with a lift. Lower floor just for the small Alice in wonderland themed cafe and toilets. The top floor a small themed exhibition and the ground floor is the main museum. It is marked out as sections ie fossils, whitby jet, taxidermy. mainly in one large room and there is just so much on show for such a small space although I managed to navigate my wife’s wheelchair around the tight aisles there were some tight squeezes.

Thank gazken1981
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Operations M, Manager at Whitby Museum, responded to this reviewResponded 2 March 2018

Thank you for your review. We are delighted that you enjoyed your visit and managed to sample the delightful tea room as well as the museum. Please take advantage of your annual pass and visit us again so that you can enjoy all the exhibits you didn't have time for.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Whitby Museum also viewed

 
Whitby, Scarborough District
 

Been to Whitby Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing