We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best night's sleep in ages fab hotel first class food”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 19 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 31 January 2012

Arrived in Whitby on Friday and found this fabulous hotel Bagdale hall luckily they had one room available - lovely four poster bed so comfortable -spacious immaculate .Mike the manager was so efficient and friendly. The hotel is spotless. The breakfast was one of the best ever . We will be booking back in again very soon but will book in advance as i am sure we were lucky . Within an hour we felt totally chilled out after a stressful few weeks. So many fab places to eat - Harrys bar andrestaurant is amazing . Gorgeous shops, lovely spectacular walks so many places to eat .

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kitty0325
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Oh no someone knows my name now everyone is going to expect fantastic deals and service, well im sure we can live up to your fantastic review. Look forward to you returning.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

520 - 524 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having recently stayed at this hotel, I would like to share my experience. We did not book before hand, as we did not know the area and decided to go away for the weekend and see where we landed! and I am glad we did. The hotel is excellent together with the staff and also the food. Due to short notice, we were given a great deal on the price of the room and dinner for both nights. The room was excellent with a massive king size four poster bed and lots of room. The bathroom was of a superior standard together with a separate bath and shower. The inside of the hotel together with the bedrooms was elegant and very clean but I noticed that some litter had blown in from the street and it remained their the whole stay! The hotel only has a two star rating and should certainly be given a higher star rating to reflect the quality of the rooms. If I return to Whitby again, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Bagdale again and would recommend to others.

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Not booking and you found a gem of a place to stay. Glad everything was above your expectations but il be having words with the litter bugs and apologise for the mess not been cleaned up during your stay. We look forward to you coming back and we will be litter free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Got a fabulous deal here 2 nights for the price of 1. ( £120 ) Stayed in room 2 in the hotel, the honeymoon siute, what a lovely spacoius room. Fantastic 4 poster bed, lovely original fireplace, gorgeous windows, car parking and only minutes into Whitby. All staff as usual where very friendly and helpful. Have now stayed in this hotel 3 times and i can honestly say that you will not be dissapointed by its charm. Breakfast as well fills you up for the day with a full english, toast and cerals. Lovely, thank-you to all the staff

  • Stayed: January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Paul L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Fantastic deal you got there, someone must really like you to give you them rates. Glad you have enjoyed all your stays with us and keep coming back. We do have a great location with car parking. Breakfast is always a treat and a good fill. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Been coming to Bagdale for many years and have stayed in all rooms and buildings, the friendly and welcoming staff always make it a pleasure none more so than New Years Eve when everyone joined in with the fun. We had a wonderful night, thanks to Mike and staff. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: All rooms acceptable, the four poster suites are beautiful for special occasions
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for a wonderful new years eve to. Glad you enjoyed it as much as we did. Hope to see you soon and same again for new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What a Wonderful Hotel ,we stayed for 1 night on Boxing day and from our arriving we were given a very warm welcome, we stayed in room 4 in the main hall , it was a beautiful large room, comfy bed , large seating area, tea coffee facilities , the bathroom was bright and airy with plenty of light and towels . The staff are a credit to the managment, nothing was ever too much trouble .The evening dinner was a joy , the dinning room is a very relaxing experience , the food is first class , and the breakfast was just as good . We look forward to returning very soon . The hotel is very clean and the standards are vey well maintained .The location of Bagdale Hall is perfectly situated in Whitby

Room Tip: Try to get a room in the main hall the rooms are wonderful . Most of the rooms are 4 poster but roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Another fantastic review. Looks like you really enjoyed your stay and the staff doing their job to a high standard. We do have a wonderful hotel and by the sounds you got one of the fantastic rooms we have to offer. Set in the heart of Whitby with great rooms and staff what more could you ask for? See you soon hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 19 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 19 in Whitby
877 reviews
0.5 km away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 19 in Whitby
463 reviews
0.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 19 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 19 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: RM642 - RM691 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing