We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (706)
Filter reviews
706 results
Traveller rating
386
191
71
29
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
386
191
71
29
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviews four poster bed the main hotel olde worlde lovely old building lots of character car parking kippers full english first class town centre smoked salmon stayed for one night large room plenty of choice weekend break breakfast was excellent toast
Filter
Updating list...
578 - 583 of 706 reviews
Reviewed 29 January 2012

Having recently stayed at this hotel, I would like to share my experience. We did not book before hand, as we did not know the area and decided to go away for the weekend and see where we landed! and I am glad we did. The hotel is excellent together with the staff and also the food. Due to short notice, we were given a great deal on the price of the room and dinner for both nights. The room was excellent with a massive king size four poster bed and lots of room. The bathroom was of a superior standard together with a separate bath and shower. The inside of the hotel together with the bedrooms was elegant and very clean but I noticed that some litter had blown in from the street and it remained their the whole stay! The hotel only has a two star rating and should certainly be given a higher star rating to reflect the quality of the rooms. If I return to Whitby again, I would have no hesitation in staying at the Bagdale again and would recommend to others.

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Phillip S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Not booking and you found a gem of a place to stay. Glad everything was above your expectations but il be having words with the litter bugs and apologise for the mess not been cleaned up during your stay. We look forward to you coming back and we will be litter free.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2012

Got a fabulous deal here 2 nights for the price of 1. ( £120 ) Stayed in room 2 in the hotel, the honeymoon siute, what a lovely spacoius room. Fantastic 4 poster bed, lovely original fireplace, gorgeous windows, car parking and only minutes into Whitby. All staff as usual where very friendly and helpful. Have now stayed in this hotel 3 times and i can honestly say that you will not be dissapointed by its charm. Breakfast as well fills you up for the day with a full english, toast and cerals. Lovely, thank-you to all the staff

Date of stay: January 2012
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gizz1759
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 7 February 2012

Fantastic deal you got there, someone must really like you to give you them rates. Glad you have enjoyed all your stays with us and keep coming back. We do have a great location with car parking. Breakfast is always a treat and a good fill. Hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2012

Been coming to Bagdale for many years and have stayed in all rooms and buildings, the friendly and welcoming staff always make it a pleasure none more so than New Years Eve when everyone joined in with the fun. We had a wonderful night, thanks to Mike and staff. Looking forward to our next visit.

Room tip: All rooms acceptable, the four poster suites are beautiful for special occasions
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Glenda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2012

Thank you for a wonderful new years eve to. Glad you enjoyed it as much as we did. Hope to see you soon and same again for new year.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2011

What a Wonderful Hotel ,we stayed for 1 night on Boxing day and from our arriving we were given a very warm welcome, we stayed in room 4 in the main hall , it was a beautiful large room, comfy bed , large seating area, tea coffee facilities , the bathroom was bright and airy with plenty of light and towels . The staff are a credit to the managment, nothing was ever too much trouble .The evening dinner was a joy , the dinning room is a very relaxing experience , the food is first class , and the breakfast was just as good . We look forward to returning very soon . The hotel is very clean and the standards are vey well maintained .The location of Bagdale Hall is perfectly situated in Whitby

Room tip: Try to get a room in the main hall the rooms are wonderful . Most of the rooms are 4 poster but room 4 is not .
Date of stay: December 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nicole B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Another fantastic review. Looks like you really enjoyed your stay and the staff doing their job to a high standard. We do have a wonderful hotel and by the sounds you got one of the fantastic rooms we have to offer. Set in the heart of Whitby with great rooms and staff what more could you ask for? See you soon hopefully.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 December 2011

My wife and I stayed overnight to meet friends, at Bagdale Hall and had a delicious meal in a great restaurant not the usual menu but a menu that goes with the 16th century building I had Venison Pate and Roast Pheasant what a welcome change from the usual. We had a room actually in the hall a 4 poster bed in a lovely old room. If you like old hand carved oak paneling and great open stone fireplaces then this is for you. Built in the 15 hundreds just the sort of place to chill out, the staff are very efficient both on reception and in the dinning room a true Historical oasis in a modern world. Will definitely be staying there again.

Date of stay: November 2011
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mawdeep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bagdale, Manager at Bagdale Hall Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 January 2012

Great to see people appreciating how wonderful the building is along with the staff. Food again living up to the high expectations we try to deliver. We look forward to your return visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews