We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (689)
Filter reviews
689 results
Traveller rating
375
187
69
29
29
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
375
187
69
29
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe main hotelfour poster bedolde worldelovely old buildinglots of characterkipperscar parkingfirst classfull englishtown centresmoked salmonlarge roomplenty of choicestayed for one nightweekend breakbreakfast was excellenttoast
Filter
Updating list...
46 - 51 of 689 reviews
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Bagdale Hall Hotel on 29 October, not quite Halloween, but it was the Goth weekend, so it had a great spooky atmosphere! Surprised to see how close it was to the road, thought it would be set back, but it didn't detract from its calm and quiet ambience. Was a little disappointed that they had stopped doing evening meals, as the weather was not good for going out at night, but the breakfast was very good. Unfortunately, our four poster bedroom had very shy ghosts, we slept very well with no disturbances! Would definitely go back, hopefully our ghost hunting will be more fruitful another time!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old building, well kept. Room was pretty standard though in the lodge but certainly adequate, clean and comfortable. Shame that the bar wasnt busy as it would of added to the stay. Breakfast ws great with a good choice. At £110 i did it was overpriced for a night though. Ideal position for the town

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Friendly welcome from reception manager, room spotless and spacious , breakfast tasty and plentiful , this was our second stay this year , a hotel with history , its DNA is in the walls , top tip stay in the hall if possible you will not regret it , lovely place to stay , have booked to return again in March .

Room Tip: Stay in hall if possible
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collinbestford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 October 2017 via mobile

Recently stayed in the Hall for two nights, some 8 years since our last visit. Apart from the restaurant now being closed, everything else was as we remembered it. The building has lots of character and is ideally situated for town. Lovely friendly staff really do make you feel welcome. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay, and we won't leave it so long before our next visit.

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank drib01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 October 2017

Stayed one night but found the accommodation very basic and not really worth £120!! but more like £80 - £90 max.
Our room was in the Lodge which is a seperate building halfway up the road, a very steep hill called Spring Hill, at the rear of the original Bagdale Hall.
The room was rather dated with old pine furniture, and a small ensuite shower room.
Walls are thin and you can hear people talking and otherwise enjoying themselves!! in the next bedrooms as though you were in the same room with them.
However the bed was comfortable which made for a reasonably comfortable nights sleep.
Breakfast is taken in Bagdale Hall so you have to walk down the steep hill to the premises which can be tricky underfoot if wet or otherwise slippy conditions or you have mobility problems.
The breakfast was the usual cooked english, choice of eggs and kippers, cereals, fruit etc.. nothing fancy but fairly basic fare.
The hotel is located very close to the centre of Whitby and ideal for walking out into the town.
We also found ample on site parking outside the Lodge and possibly further parking at the car park at the rear of Bagdale Hall.

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank HoilidayExpert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews