We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, pleasant midweek stay.”
Review of Bagdale Hall Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bagdale Hall Hotel
Ranked #5 of 20 Hotels in Whitby
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Staying in Bagdale annex townhouse. Very large clean room in keeping with the period property. Four poster bed. Ultra modern large bathroom. Wall TV. Tea and coffee. Parking. Breakfast, restaurant and bar in main hotel three doors down.
Near bus and rail station. Close to all attractions in Whitby. Fab for money paid.
Will be back.

Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
1  Thank malleksues
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (647)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

2 - 6 of 647 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My Wife and I fell in Love with Whitby some years ago and on each visit as we drove down the hill into Whitby, Michelle always commented on The Bagdale Hall Hotel to our
right " That looks Full of Character and we ought to stop there one day", our Wedding Anniversary Treat for this year gave us the ideal opportunity to fulfil that wish.
We arrived early in Whitby, Officially we could not book into the Hotel till after 2pm
but thought we would ask if we could Park the Car and book in later, Mike on Reception
was really obliging Indeed would have allowed us to use our Room despite being before
Noon when we arrived, the Car Park is just behind the Hotel and to have the Car Parked
up for those who know Whitby is a massive Plus !.
We shopped and shopped and returned to the Hotel Mid Afternoon to then sample a couple of pints in the company of Mike who was Incredibly knowledgeable of the Hotel's History and freely offered advise on where to eat that evening, The Hotel closed
it's Restaurant when they lost their Highly Rated Chef earlier in the year, however this did not detract in anyway the "Wonderful Bagdale Hall Experience" that we were having.
Mike did tell us about the Ghost in Room 2 but then went on to tell us about the Old Lady who has been seen in Room 1, guess which room we were in ?......Room 1 !, from that moment we named her "Mary" who Incidentally watched the Football With me later that Evening whilst my Wife slept. Room One was Spacious with a Four Poster Bed that offered us the Best Night's Sleep ever !, the room was beautifully clean, full of character
and no wonder that a Ghost would want to stay there for Hundreds of Years. We ate out that Evening but on our return were again met by Mike who's seventeen years at the Hotel have certainly given him "Customer Skill's" of the Highest Level.
We went down for Breakfast at 8am and were met by Mike's Wife ( we did not ask her name) who apparently has been at the Hotel eighteen years and was simply charming and attentive, Michelle and I ordered a Full English but could have Indulged in a array of Fruit and Cereal, our Food arrived promptly and was Fantastic in keeping with the whole experience, I did however question the Room Charge just checking that we had not had to pay for "Mary" staying with us the previous evening !!! All those times we had passed Bagdale Hall Hotel when visiting Whitby, one thing for sure We will not be passing it again.........you gave us a Perfect Anniversay Treat.

Room Tip: Phone the Hotel to book then you can guarantee staying in the Main part of the Hotel
See more room tips
Stayed: November 2017, travelled as a couple
3  Thank David H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2017 via mobile

Stayed at Bagdale Hall Hotel on 29 October, not quite Halloween, but it was the Goth weekend, so it had a great spooky atmosphere! Surprised to see how close it was to the road, thought it would be set back, but it didn't detract from its calm and quiet ambience. Was a little disappointed that they had stopped doing evening meals, as the weather was not good for going out at night, but the breakfast was very good. Unfortunately, our four poster bedroom had very shy ghosts, we slept very well with no disturbances! Would definitely go back, hopefully our ghost hunting will be more fruitful another time!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Jeanne R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 October 2017 via mobile

Lovely old building, well kept. Room was pretty standard though in the lodge but certainly adequate, clean and comfortable. Shame that the bar wasnt busy as it would of added to the stay. Breakfast ws great with a good choice. At £110 i did it was overpriced for a night though. Ideal position for the town

Stayed: October 2017, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Pip C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 October 2017

Friendly welcome from reception manager, room spotless and spacious , breakfast tasty and plentiful , this was our second stay this year , a hotel with history , its DNA is in the walls , top tip stay in the hall if possible you will not regret it , lovely place to stay , have booked to return again in March .

Room Tip: Stay in hall if possible
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank collinbestford
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Whitby hotels
2.9 km away
Raithwaite Estate
Raithwaite Estate
#2 of 20 in Whitby
2,132 reviews
3.9 km away
Dunsley Hall
Dunsley Hall
#4 of 20 in Whitby
877 reviews
0.5 km away
White Horse and Griffin
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Pier Inn Whitby
The Pier Inn Whitby
#6 of 20 in Whitby
463 reviews
0.3 km away
The Angel Hotel
The Angel Hotel
#1 of 20 in Whitby
1,203 reviews
0.2 km away
Resolution Hotel
Resolution Hotel
#7 of 20 in Whitby
1,181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bagdale Hall Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bagdale Hall Hotel

Address: 1 Bagdale, Whitby YO21 1QL, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Whitby
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Whitby
#8 Romantic Hotel in Whitby
Price Range: RM638 - RM687 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Bagdale Hall Hotel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 26
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Bagdale Hall Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bagdale Hall Whitby

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing