We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“never want to leave”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of September Cottage

Rear view from the cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rear view from the cottage
Front view - Cliff Street View from the garden
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Rear view from the cottage
Front view - Cliff Street
View from the garden
Sitting room
Dining kitchen
View from the kitchen
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Snug
Top floor double bedroom
Twin bedroom, top floor
Galleried landing on top floor
Galleried landing, top floor
Landing window view
Another landing window view
View from the rear of the cottage
Our patio and garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Whitby, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
marie j
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“never want to leave”
Reviewed 13 October 2016 for a stay in September 2016

Lynne and family have been the best. We booked well in advance after checking it out on Trip Advisor, so pleased we chose this cottage. Set in middle of town, just off Flowergate, easy walking to everywhere. Set on three floors with 3 bedrooms, all double and two bathrooms, the style is quaint but comfortable, which is the style of the cottage. Very well cared for. The bedroom on first floor has three poster bed, en suite bathroom with good shower. Plus a small snug with views overlooking the town Second floor has two double bedrooms and bathroom, with views over the town from the to of the stairs. Everything is provided down to games and books, in case of rainy days. Plus the parking permits is great idea as parking is not easy in Whitby as still in October a very popular place to stay. Very good Wi-Fi ,tv mobile reception, .

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
15 Oct 2016
Thank you so much for your review. We really do appreciate your kind words. I wish that I could hope for a speedy return visit, but you do live rather a long way away to become a regular!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
212Stag
Drogheda, Ireland
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Great Cottage”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

This cottage has everything you could ever need, a real home from home and is a credit to the owners. I especially liked the views from the top floor, the owners even provide binoculars, a nice touch.
Personally I found it a little inconvenient not to have our car close by, this is obviously out of the control of the owners of the cottage who do their best to mitigate the issue by providing a parking pass for a large car park at the leisure centre.
One thing to note is there was building work being carried out across the road at the time of our stay and we were woken up every morning at 8:00 AM - not great when you're on holiday and looking forward to a good rest - again out of the control of the owners.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thank you for your review. I am pleased to report that the building work is now finished. You are quite right that parking is a problem in Whitby, but the narrow streets are part of the charm of the place. Better that they are not bulldozed and replaced by modern housing! Some people prefer to park up in the big car park than keep negotiating the town streets.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PEABRAIN1...
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Wonderful homely cottage”
Reviewed 14 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We have just returned from a week in September Cottage. It is perfectly situated for Whitby, within easy walking distance for the shops and restaurants. The views from the rear of the cottage are fantastic. Many hours were spent relaxing in the snug enjoying the view. The main bedroom was very spacious and cosy. The lounge was small, but not an issue for 2 of us as we were comfortable using other rooms. Sitting at the kitchen table for breakfast was the perfect to start the day...again, beautiful views. The cottage was clean and well equipped. A parking permit made it easy to park the car a short walk away in West Cliff. We can fully understand why visitors return to September Cottage...we didn't want to leave!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views.
Liked least: Lounge and leaving.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2016
Many thanks for your kind words. You are welcome back anytime!

The lounge is certainly on the small side but we hope that the other three sitting areas make up for it.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
fi_stuart
nottingham
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Amazing cottage”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We just left the cottage and I am totally bereft! It was lovely. Comfy beds, sparkly clean, snuggly bedding, fabulous period furniture.
There were just three of us, a couple in mid end suite and me commanding the attic.
The attic seating is amazing, we all sat drinking prosecco watching the storms, warm and comfy.
When it wasnt snowing/raining we sat in the lovely gardens, which are particularly useful for drying laundry.
Love this house, i cannot think of one thing wrong.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your kind words and enthusiasm! You are very welcome back any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Julie A
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fantastic cottage!”
Reviewed 24 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

We have just returned from a great stay at September Cottage! Superb views of Whitby harbour from all the windows at the back of the cottage which we could sit and enjoy from every floor. The cottage itself was perfectly situated with a short walk to the shops (no need to use the car, which was great!) and the layout of the cottage allowed us to spread out and relax. Everything has been thought of and the owners have gone out of their way to make sure everyone who stays here has a lovely, home-from-home experience. We will definitely be booking this cottage again for next year. Many thanks. :-)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
25 Apr 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We are very happy that you appreciated all that the cottage has to offer.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$195
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing