We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful people”
Review of Cave du Cochon

Cave du Cochon
Ranked #261 of 937 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$2 - US$16
Description: Wine bar and bistro, sister restaurant to Le Cochon Aveugle. Serving sharing boards, cheeses, charcuterie as well as small plates. 100-bin wine list, focussing on low-intervention wines from around the world.
Restaurant details
Description: Wine bar and bistro, sister restaurant to Le Cochon Aveugle. Serving sharing boards, cheeses, charcuterie as well as small plates. 100-bin wine list, focussing on low-intervention wines from around the world.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I cannot speak highly enough of Cave du Cochon. My partner suffers from epilepsy, which can be worse after a drink. Often we get treated terribly when he has a seizure as folk assume it’s the drink. However we were having a lovely evening in Cave du Cochon when the seizure came and the staff could not have been more understanding and generous. They went out of their way to make sure we were looked after and I am so grateful. So different to most places. 100% recommend.

Date of visit: August 2021
Thank Dream68138584921
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (98)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 98 reviews

Reviewed 1 August 2021 via mobile

Fantastic choice of wines and one of the best pizzas outside of Italy. Pizzas were better value than the cheese board we’d had the night before. Yes, it was so good we came back the next day!
This was a great find, friendly service and lovely atmosphere, a little haven for wine lovers. Don’t go if you’re on budget though!
Thoroughly enjoyed.

Date of visit: July 2021
Thank karenj431
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 26 July 2021

Really, really enjoyable pizza and lovely wine. Still dreaming about the smoked Lindisfarne oysters.

Date of visit: May 2021
Thank JuliaM_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 21 July 2021

Wish I had read the reviews before our visit. We ordered the meat & cheese platter, what a mistake, £32 for hardly enough to make a small sandwich let alone a starter for two, way way over priced, an absolute joke.
We were so shocked at the size and quality of the food that we paid up and left.
Be Warned.

Date of visit: June 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Capt-Morgan1960
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 28 June 2021 via mobile

The only thing great about this place was the service. We ordered a glass of wine from the blackboard (which cost £11) and it tasted like the bottle had been open for a few days… The charcuterie board was ridiculously priced. With that kind of price you would expect the cured meat to be of a much higher quality, but it was mediocre. The staff, however, were very nice and friendly. Overall it was a let down :(

Date of visit: June 2021
Thank 208chit
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Cave du Cochon also viewed

 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Cave du Cochon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in Malaysia. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.