We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Easter weekend away”

The Hole In The Wall
Ranked #119 of 944 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We decided to go to York for Easter, at least it saved me having to garden for four days! So a guest house in York. Lovely city. But very busy so we chose the Hole in the wall three days later we have not eaten anywhere else. Great beer it's Marston's. Great food and on Sunday night live music which was great too. If every pub in the UK was like this then we would have a great time every day

Thank PA & MB WADE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi PA & MB WADE

Thank you so much for such a positive review of the Hole in the Wall, it is really appreciated.

It sounds like you had a great Easter weekend in York and no gardening!

Hope to see you soon and thanks again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (961)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 961 reviews

Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Diane & I stopped by during a whistle-stop break on a National Holidays trip. We found the place welcoming and the staff attentive, We didn't eat but the food looked great and well-priced.

Thank Bruce H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Bruce H

Thanks for the splendid review.

See you on your next trip to York.

Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Great pub/restaurant close to York Minster . On a cold night the large fire inside tempted us into the bar which had only one table free . Staff were busy and a few delays but our steaks were tasty and very good value for money

Thank Alan W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi Alan,

Thank you so much for the lovely review. I will pass your comments on to the team.


Thanks again and beat wishes .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Lovely old pub - we went twice on Good Friday. We didn’t eat but the food we saw served looked very good - delicious doorstep sandwiches. They have a number of guest ales and an unbelievable range of gins which are all served in copa glasses with the right garnish. Staff are really friendly and helpful. We had our daughter with us and they very nicely explained children couldn’t be on the premises after 9.30 due to their license restrictions.

Thank AntoniaS0403
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
dico3d, Public Relations Manager at The Hole In The Wall, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Hi AntoniaS0403

Thank you so much for taking the time to leave us such an amazing review, I will pass your kind comments on to the team.

It's great to hear you enjoyed your food and found the staff to be helpful and friendly. We love our gin range too, which is your favourite?

Thanks again and best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Husband and I decided to have lunch here whilst on a day trip. We chose fish and chips and mushy peas. Had to wait for it to be freshly cooked. Tasted good. I only had a diet coke but husband was impressed with the types of beers on offer. Only downside was the ladies toilets being downstairs.

Thank jackie h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Hole In The Wall also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to The Hole In The Wall? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing