We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2,804)
Filter reviews
2,804 results
Traveller rating
843
1,140
543
173
105
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
843
1,140
543
173
105
Show reviews that mention
All reviews swimming pool separate toilet executive room sofa bed car park half term reception area good size per day reception staff overlooking the river clifford's tower york centre walk into town family room short break ten minute walk
Filter
Updating list...
154 - 159 of 2,804 reviews
Reviewed 11 May 2018

Overall enjoyed our stay here but felt an additional £13 per night for parking was a bit rich, even when taking into account the central location.

Bar prices are excessive. Almost £13 for a glass of (nothing special) wine and a bottle of beer

Bed was lovely and comfy, staff helpful, breakfast well cooked and plentiful. Hot drinks should be just that, hot, not lukewarm. Our disabled access room was well decorated and spotlessly clean. However, the bathroom floor was inches deep in water after using the shower and there was no bathroom door - why the designers thought disabled guests don't need any privacy is beyond me!

Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank tourer123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear tourer123,

Thank you for your very valid feedback.

We are currently exploring the bathroom design.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 May 2018

We were at Novotel for the long weekend.The staff are warm and friendly.A big thank you to Jessica for looking after us.The breakfast was very good.I was quite impressed with the vegeterian options.The swimming pool was nice too.I also liked the children’s play area.Overall a very pleasant experience.Thank you!

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
1  Thank Hemlee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Hello Leena P,

Seems you had an excellent stay with us.

Thank you for the special mention to Jessica and we hope you will visit again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Location - was okay, around 15-30 minute walk from main area - shambles street.
Hotel - was good.
Room - was good.
Bed - was terrible, there was one queen bed which was okay, but the sofa bed was terrible. Apparently they don't accommodate for twin rooms, so they have sofa beds instead. You can feel the metal springs from the sofa. Worst night sleep.
Air conditioning was very good.
Bathroom - was good, toilet was separate from the bathroom, which was good, although toilet wasn't flushing properly.
Breakfast was included - was nice enough.
Service - good.
Wifi - fantastic.

Date of stay: September 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank VKNY44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear VKNY44,

Thanks for posting your thoughts.

You must have stayed with us some time ago, as we are delighted to say we are able to to offer rooms with 2 beds now.

Hope you will return to see our refurbished rooms.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018

The staff at Novotel were excellent. friendly, smiling, helpful and efficient. Check in speedy and efficient.
Please thank Manika and Reikha who were excellent breakfast staff and were very helpful with regard to my lactose and gluten free diet.
Car parking excellent and worth paying for in this prime location. Plenty of space when we were there. Small garden area overlooking river. Short walk along river to city centre.
Hotel facilities were very good, all areas clean . Lovely bedroom with everything one could wish for. Excellent comfortable lounge and bar area with helpful and smiling staff.

Room tip: we were on the first floor and heard no noise from the hotel. 2 lifts - efficient.
Date of stay: May 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank jodel2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear nhall0718,

Thank you so much for the great review as well as the special recognition of Menaka and Rekha.

We glad to have another extremely happy guest and look forward to welcoming you back again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2018 via mobile

Wonderful stay in a very welcoming environment. From the minute we walked in we recieved service that was better than some 5star hotels ive stayed in.
A few niggles in the room-not enough towels and air con not great. Plus a smell of sewage but the service was so good we did not make a fuss.
One member of staff in particular RICARDO went above and beyond for us. He catered for us when we ordered room service and later in the day he served us at the bar. He made a requested cocktail and with a smile on his face and jolly attitude searched how to make a WOO WOO and served it as if we were royalty. We felt very special and my daughter who was having her bday during our stay said “aw hes lovely hes made my birthday so special”. Really fab member of staff and he should be rewarded highly for his customer service.

Date of stay: May 2018
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank nhall0718
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaximeDupont, General Manager at Novotel York Centre, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Dear nhall0718,

We're grateful for the great comments.

We enjoy these moments to surprise our guests from the heart and I am pleased Ricardo did this for you.

Please accept my apologies for the few niggles and I hope we will be seeing you again.

Kind regards,

Kai

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews