We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Holiday Inn York
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
Reviews (1,439)
Filter reviews
1,439 results
Traveller rating
359
581
342
113
44
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
359
581
342
113
44
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstadcaster roadcity centrerace coursecross keysexecutive roomsmall bathroomfree parkingreception staffbus stophotel restaurantcar parkbuffet stylewould stay againleave the carstayed one nightgood nights sleeptea and coffee
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
11 - 16 of 1,439 reviews
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Just checked out from a very comfortable one night stay at this hotel, still feeling full from the delightful breakfast. There’s everything you would expect from a buffet breakfast. Room was lovely, comfy bed and a comfy sofa. Tv was a bit bizarre, as in the channels were all over the place. No loud noises at night. Across the road from the hotel is a bus stop to take you to the city centre (bus number 4). It’s cheaper to get a single ticket even if you plan on returning by bus, unless your using the buses to go elsewhere. We walked back took 40mins but great exercise. My Fitbit went crazy!! Staff at the hotel really friendly.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank tiz2020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hi visited January 2018 Holiday Inn the staff were lovely very helpful, the room was spotless our TV was broken kept on going on and off told reception repaired straight away ,breakfast was excellent. Tip book breakfast when you arrive better price loads of parking spaces loverly hotel would highly recommend .The hotel is open late so if you fancy a drink and something to eat only a sandwich but very nice they charge you room rate but not that expensive .x

  • Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank diana s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

We are very grateful for the time you have taken to write such lovely feedback about your recent visit.

I will certainly pass this on to all of the staff to commend them for such great work.

We hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for one night. The room was clean, comfortable and quiet. The staff were excellent and nothing was too much trouble for them. The only thing that let it down was the breakfast, which we had delivered to the room. We got items we didn’t order and one thing was completely missed. It wouldn’t put us off staying there again and would recommend this hotel.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Hezdez1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Hezsez1,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review about your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York. Thank you for giving us valued details of your stay and i will certainly pass this on to our team at the Holiday Inn York. Please accept my sincere apologizes for the mistakes with the breakfast.
I can assure you this is not something we pride ourselves on and would expect our guests to receive what they have ordered. I will certainly take this up with our food and beverage manager to make sure that this dopes not happen again for any future guests.

If i can personally be of any further assistance please don't hesitate to contact the hotel and ask for Jade.

Thank you again for your feedback and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back to our hotel again in the near future.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We regularly use holiday inns, my husband has platinum status. Holiday inns are usually clean and tidy and this one is no exception. Reception staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was clean but we were disappointed to find only one shampoo and body wash to share between the two of us (luckily the Hubbie has no hair but we did struggle with the body wash!) usually we have bottles of water left in our room, not at this hotel though so had to go down the road to buy our own. No fridge, maybe our room wasn't the usual type we get? Bathroom was super small (no room to swing a cat) it was clean though. No flannels, is this a new holiday inn thing? I did struggle to wash my face without these kind of basics. The hotel bar seemed to have a lot of staff standing around talking. Saw someone waiting to be seated at restaurant but someone walked off ignoring them and other staff at bar didn't seem to want to help even after the couple walked off without being seated. I've been quite generous with the 4 out if 5 mainly due to reception staff and cleanliness.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
2  Thank Dushidoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on your recent stay with us at the Holiday Inn York.

I will certainly pass all of your feedback on to the relevant departments to assure that we action the above points for future visits.

Thank you again for choosing to use the Holiday Inn York and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more future events.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Good base for visiting York, ample free parking but you have to make sure that you register your licence plate number. Rooms are comfortable and well appointed. Restaurant was reasonable. I will definitely stay at this hotel again on my next visit to York.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
1  Thank Peter C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HIYork, Public Relations Manager at Holiday Inn York, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your wonderful feedback i will certainly pass this on to the relevant departments to let them know of the great work and to keep it up.


Thank you again for choosing to use the Holiday Inn York and we hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back for more future events.

Kindest Regards

Jade

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews