We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Hedley House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hedley House Hotel
Ranked #15 of 45 Hotels in York
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds, England, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing!”
Reviewed 19 February 2012

This was our first time away alone together and we had a fantastic time. The hotel was beautiful and all the staff were so friendly and helpful. The location of the hotel was perfect for getting into the city and was very easy to find. The room was very very comfortable and we slept soundly every night and the breakfast in the morning was fantastic wonderful home cooked food and service with a smile even at 8 am :D. All in all the staff made our stay completely perfect and we hope to return again soon. If anyone is looking to book a trip to you I would reccomend Hedley House every single time.

Room Tip: We were in room 2 and it was lovely, not too far up the stairs if you have heavy suitcases and its l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MelH-P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,525 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    823
    496
    141
    46
    19
See reviews for
237
858
35
58
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (338)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
central scotland
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 18 February 2012

We booked this as a midweek getaway, and we would definitely stay again................we had such a lovely time. The staff were really friendly and informative, the rooms were a good size, well maintained and clean, and there wes also a well stocked bar. The location was ideal and just a few minutes walk from the city centre.
Whilst we were there, we noticed that the hotel also had self catering accommodation which we would certainly be interested in, in staying on our next visit.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skislickers
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 February 2012

This was a return visit to Hedley House and we were not disappointed. We were given a very warm welcome on arrival. Our room had everything we needed and was comfortable. Although our room was at the front of the property, it was very quiet. The only criticism was that there was barely room to walk between the foot of the bed and the wall. However, this was mainly due to it being a king sized bed which was very comfortable. It was good to have free parking behind the hotel. We didn't need to use the car as we could walk to the city centre within 10 minutes.We would recommend this hotel to our friends.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy624
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 15 February 2012

Very friendly and helpful staff. Spotlessly clean. Brilliant breakfasts - lots of choice. Quiet location (with car park), yet only 7 or 8 minutes easy walk to York Minster. Room well equipped, comfortable bed and cosy (snow outside!). We ate in the restaurant one evening - tasty home cooked food, very pleasantly served. All in all, we thought Hedley House was good value for money and we'll certainly return next time we visit York.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PeterJ60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 February 2012

This hotel was booked as a romantic birthday weekend away treat, and I have to say, it was brilliant, within 20minutes stroll of the town.
The staff were all friendly and welcoming. The room was cold at first on arrival but once the radiator was turned up the room was lovely to stay in with a small ensuite. The food was a full english with cereals and fruit available which is as stadard in majority hotels. .

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Luke W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these York hotels
1.4 km away
Hotel Indigo York
Hotel Indigo York
#4 of 45 in York
1,083 reviews
0.5 km away
Dean Court Hotel, BW Premier Collection
0.7 km away
The Grand Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 km away
St Denys Hotel
St Denys Hotel
#1 of 45 in York
574 reviews
1.5 km away
Mount Royale Hotel & Spa
1.3 km away
Hotel du Vin York
Hotel du Vin York
#17 of 45 in York
1,440 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hedley House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hedley House Hotel

Property: Hedley House Hotel
Address: 3 Bootham Terrace, York YO30 7DH, England
Region: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > York
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in York
#4 Spa Hotel in York
#5 Family Hotel in York
#10 Romantic Hotel in York
Price range (per night): RM440 - RM2,236
Hotel Class:3 star — Hedley House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hedley House Hotel - A 3 Star Silver Award Hotel, within an 8 minute walk of the city. All rooms en-suite & all recently refurbished. Free wireless internet access. Off street car-parking, restaurant & lounge bar. 6 person outdoor aqua spa. Ample parking charged £10 per day. Electric car charging station Free wifi Deluxe rooms available with Apple TV ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Hotels.com so you can book your Hedley House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hedley Hotel York

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing