We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“So much more than a holiday home.”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Lendal Tower

Lendal Tower
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom Master bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
Lendal Tower
The stunning four-poster bed located in the master bedroom
Master bedroom
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath
Luxury Roll Top Copper Bath 2
Master bedroom
Master bedroom
Second bedroom
Mezzanine floor bedroom
Living room
Living Room
Spiral staircase leading up the 4 floors of the Tower
Original water meter
Solid oak dining table
Kitchen
Kitchen
Roof Terrace
Roof Terrace and Museum Gardens
The beautiful secluded garden
Lendal Tower from a distance alongside Lendal Bridge
The Tower in the snow
The Tower in the snow II
Visit England 5 Star Grading
Visit England Gold Award Winning
Overview
Tower -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
58marionr
Preston, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“So much more than a holiday home.”
Reviewed 19 August 2017 for a stay in August 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Staying here for a week was a wonderful experience – a real part of York history and an ideal location. It was spotlessly clean everywhere and all bathroom and kitchen facilities were well equipped and modern. The roof top terrace was wonderful but getting up there could be a little challenging – I advise to plan ahead: take the glasses, bottle and snacks up a shopping bag, and the corkscrew, as it’s a long way down if you’ve forgotten something!
The garden was delightful in the sunshine – a private outdoor space but right in the middle of the bustle of York activity.
The beds and bedrooms were extremely comfortable and well appointed – real luxury.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anthony C
1 review
“A wonderful 14th century property perfectly restored with modern amenities!”
Reviewed 17 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

A wonderful 14th century property perfectly restored with modern amenities superbly combined with more traditional rooms. We really enjoyed our time here with family and friends and hope to return when we next visit England.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jul 2017
Thank you for your very kind review. We're delighted to hear that you enjoyed your time spent at the Tower with family and friends and we hope you come back to see us again soon (Next time you're back in England).

Best Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidi C
1 review
“Absolutely Fabulous!”
Reviewed 30 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

We stayed here for 4 nights. The building was amazing in every way! So rich in history, super clean, great location, great amenities. I just cannot say enough. Both Mike and Nathan responded immediately to us when we had a couple of questions, were extremely polite and wonderful owners. We would absolutely stay here again and have already recommended it to family and friends!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you so much for your kind review. It was an absolute pleasure having you stay with us and i hope you left with many fond memories of the property and the city.
We wish you and your family all the best and hope you can come back to join us again soon.

Best Regards
Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Superbuk1
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect historic rental in the best location in York”
Reviewed 8 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017
1
person found this review helpful

This was a great self-catering experience. There were three adults using the property, which meant that we had plenty of space. Two of the bedrooms are enormous and the third is a good size, so even with six adults I think you'd still feel you weren't on top of each other (although the smallest bedroom is on a mezzanine over the sitting room, so whoever is staying in that room would need to be the last to bed and the first one up not to be disturbed by other people sneaking down for cups of tea).

All of the fixtures and fittings were what you would hope for from a property that bills itself as a luxury rental - the bath in the top floor bedroom being a particular highlight. I would also add that the beds were incredibly comfortable with great mattresses (which isn't always the case in my experience of "luxury" rentals).

The location is also great - it's an easy walk to the station, you can see the Minster from the roof terrace. And if you're driving in, it's simple to find with private parking.
As a treat for a special occasion it definitely has the wow factor.

All of my interactions prior to arrival with the owners were great - they were helpful and prompt in responding to my emails. I would highly recommend Lendal Tower.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Jun 2017
Thank you for your review o the property. I'm delighted to hear that you enjoyed the property and the comfy beds! We hope you can come back to join us again for another special occasion or to reminisce on the time spent with us this year.

Best Regards

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
2 May 2017
Thank you so much for taking the time to write us such a wonderful review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay so much were impressed by many of the Tower's features. We would love to welcome you back in the future so please do get in touch when you are next visiting York!

All the best,

Mike & Nathan
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$378
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing