We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Home Away From Home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Emperors Wharf

A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
A perfect base for exploring the historic city of York with its many tourist attractions Bathroom with shower over bath.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
79 reviews
A smart riverside apartment, situated in the heart of York.
A perfect base for exploring the historic city of York with its many tourist attractions
Bathroom with shower over bath.
Fully equipped kitchen
Views from the terrace, across the city centre to York Minster and Cliffords Tower
Everything you need for a celebration, romantic break ....or to simply chill out
Fully equipped for self catering
Fully equipped for self catering
Comfy king size (5') bed with pocket sprung mattress
Quality cotton bed linen and towels
1st floor apartment, overlooking Skeldergate and hotel gardens
FREE parking in secure underground car park.
The communal terrace overlooks the River Ouse
Stroll the historic streets to find a huge variety of shops, cafes, bars and restaurants
Famous Shambles is just a 10 minute walk away
Enjoy the historic city sights nearby.
Clifford's Tower and the Castle Museum are just across the river
York's Christmas market
Everything you need for a great city break. ENJOY!!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 79 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
dkb60
Ontario Canada
Level 6 Contributor
405 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
“Home Away From Home”
Reviewed 15 November 2015 for a stay in November 2015

When we decided to return to York it was a given we'd stay at Emperors Wharf. We enjoyed our second visit as much - if not more - than our first. Maggie's attention to detail and concern for her guests is exemplary. If you have the opportunity to stay in this flat seize it tout suite! Perfect location, well equipped with everything you need. It is simply the best of York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thank you for your kind words. It's always a pleasure to see our guests returning to stay again and enjoying the apartment so much. Hope to see you again next year! Best wishes Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
s_wright5...
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“excellent apartment”
Reviewed 19 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

Emperors Wharf is a great place to stay in York.Everything is a easy walk away so the car can stay in the secure parking area under the apartments. The apartment is spotlessly clean and very well furnished with everything you need for your stay. Really nice touches like the welcome pack and Maggie meeting you on arrival to to show you everything you need to know to make your stay a good one. We love to visit York and Emperors Wharf is now the place we will return to when we visit. If you are looking to stay in York, you will not be disappointed if you stay here. Highly recommended.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Great to hear how much you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for your review. Best regards, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian B
Rochester
Level 6 Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Another great stay”
Reviewed 14 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This apartment is in a great location, perfectly clean and welcoming and this was our second stay. The owner, Maggie, asks you what you want in your welcome pack and is there to greet you when you arrive. Free parking on site is a huge bonus. Overall, a very comfortable home from home experience, we will visit again next year.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
Thanks for your review. I look forward to welcoming you again next year! Best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandra R
Brigg, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect!”
Reviewed 13 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

One of the nicest places in York my husband and I have stayed.

Spotlessly clean (gorgeous towels and bedding), really nice welcome pack, perfect position for shops, restaurants etc. and secure parking. Would I recommend to a friend.....already have!

Thank you very much Maggie...... :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The apartment was spotless.
Liked least: Nothing.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2015
So glad to hear that enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again. Best wishes, Maggie
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TiaMaria2...
Scottish Highlands, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Fantastic Location”
Reviewed 11 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015

This was our 5th visit to York and was one of the best places we have stayed in so far,beautiful,modern apartment yet cosy and homely,spotlessly clean and had everything we needed,the welcoming pack of bread,milk,butter,wine and chocs was just lovely plus there was tea,coffee and sugar and was plenty things in the bathroom to use ,eg wee bottles of shampoo?shower gel,soap,face cloths ect,fab shower Very comfy bed,had great sleep and do'nt normally when away.was so handy for everything and added bonus of the secure under ground parking,the apartment is in a very nice,pleasant area,very quiet.overall we had a fantastic 4 days in our Favourite city , would highly recommend apartment this to visit York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: everything
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Oct 2015
Pleased to hear what a fantastic time you had. It will be a pleasure to welcome you to stay again when you return to your favourite city. Thank you for your review.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing