We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic accomodation”
other travellers have booked this property
Templetons of York.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Templetons of York.
48 inch Freeview HD television and DVD player. Kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
32 reviews
Templetons of York.
48 inch Freeview HD television and DVD player.
Kitchen
Juliet balcony.
South facing
Zip and Link king bed.
Dressing table.
Free wi-fi. BT Broadband.
Heritage shower and bath.
Hot water on demand.
Birds eye view.
ROKU Streaming internet TV
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 32 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
macarthur...
newcastle upon tyne
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic accomodation”
Reviewed 12 August 2015 for a stay in July 2015
1
person found this review helpful

I usually stay in B&B's when I go to York, however, I will only ever use this place from now on. The accomodation is really like home from home and you want for nothing. There is coffee, tea bags and sugar already there. A lovely touch was a bottle of wine and a pint of milk waiting in the fridge when you arrive. The place is immaculate and so comfortable. It didn't seem like a holiday let as it is very well equipped and has everything you need even down to a first aid kit. I don't think I can sing the praises of this place enough. I am really looking forward to my next trip to York and I won't be staying anywhere else. It is only a short walk to the railway museum and approximately a 10 minute walk from the town centre, easy to find with secure entrance. An absolutely lovely stay was had by all.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
John C
Melbourne, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
51 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Comfortable in York”
Reviewed 1 July 2015 for a stay in May 2015

The two of us spent a weekend (3 nights) in late May 2015 and found this first floor apartment in a collection of accommodation blocks of different but similar style located close to the York railway station and the National Railway Museum (the latter I would certainly recommend, even to the non-engineering enthusiast as it is a wonderful collection and presentation on the age of steam railways and the impact on society). As you approach Bishopfields Drive, a long circular street where the unit is located take the right hand entry point exiting out of Phonenix Blvd, as this will provide you with the shortest route, otherwise you will walk in a long circle looking for the right number. A car parking space and permit is allocated to the apartment but we came in on the train and found that the city tourist sites were all in convenient and pleasant walking distance and if you really needed it there is a bus route to the city along Leeman Road the main connecting thoroughfare. If you needed it there is Hertz Car rental site In Leeman road close to the apartment and Europcar, which we used on departure is located next to York station. The apartment (separate bedroom and lounge room with associated kitchenette and the bathroom with bath and shower above the bath), is really presented to a very high standard. There are nice fittings and framed period posters of a bygone time promoting steam rail travel destinations, which is quite fitting given the proximity of its location to the National Railway Museum. Prior to arrival you get by email information detailing key collection arrangements and advice on some of the apartment features and in the apartment itself there are ample instructions and advice about using apartment equipment and advice on eating and tourist options which is always helpful when you are a stranger with limited time arriving into a new abode. I communicated with the proprietor, Bill Templeton by email while I was there but he provided a contact phone number if you needed it, so you would be able to talk directly. The Wifi was effective. The kitchen was great (and had a dishwasher if you wanted it) and there was a twin tub clothes washer, which was very effective. There was a bottle of wine, shortbreads and ground coffee provided as a rather nice greeting. In all, it’s a very comfortable, professionally presented, convenient and well located short-term accommodation option in York.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The iconic train travel posters
Liked least: Similarity of the exterior of the building to the other units making initial location a bit confusing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Katie W
Billingshurst, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great apartment with an excellent location”
Reviewed 7 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
2
people found this review helpful

Bill and Dawn's apartment in York is in an excellent location, great to have a parking space. The apartment has everything you would need, even a welcome bottle of wine. Next time I return to York we will be using this apartment again. Thanks for a great service with good communication and attention to detail.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and parking space
Liked least: Soft bed
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robert820
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
“comfortable and clean”
Reviewed 21 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015

The apartment is cosy and a great base for staying in York. We have stayed in York on a number of occasions, and will return. Hopefully we can stay here next time. Also Bill and Dawn organize things very well. Thanks Robert & Jean

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: comfortable clean and ideal location
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TimothyF5
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
104 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Excellent accomodation near York for a reasonable price”
Reviewed 2 January 2015 for a stay in December 2014
1
person found this review helpful

William and Dawn (we have never met in person) were excellent with communication from the moment we made our booking on Trip Advisor. They confirmed our booking and provided comprehensive information on the property and how to gain access. Before our arrival we received a text letting us know it was ready for us, with some useful instructions on how to use the heating system - very nice to know in late December. When we arrived we found a wonderfully and tastefully decorated apartment that uses the golden age of rail travel as a theme, with subtle Art Deco detailing here and there. This is very appropraite as the apartment is less than 3 minutes walk away from the National Railway museum. There was useful information to hand on York, local shops and places to eat. Also there was a Roku TV service and a nice DVD collection for TV viewing. A nicely kitted kitchen, with a pint of semi and full milk waiting and a chilled bottle of wine for us to enjoy. I usually take rented/self-catering flats when I holiday, and I must state that there was no scrimping on cleaning materials, tea, coffee and other basics. My only complaint, and this really is one of personal preference, is the bed was a bit soft, but other than that, what a great place to stay - very comfy, nicely decorated and everything in its place. The walk to York is about 10 minutes, but is a really nice walk along the river and a very nice way to enter the city of York. A really can find no fault with Templetons, and would have no hesitation in recommending them

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Nice decoration, Golden age of rail travel
Liked least: soft bed, slight smell of stale smoke in bathroom
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Apr 2016
"Thank you for that great review- if you or your friends ever want to visit again and we are full don't forget that we have an even bigger sister property Hendersons of York nearby (hendersonsofyork on social media), contact us directly for the best rates"
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing