We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great little holiday apartment, with all the...”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
York, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
CLHWats
Johannesburg, South Africa
2 reviews
“Great little holiday apartment, with all the bells and whistles”
Reviewed 2 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015

On arrival we were greeted by Jerry, our welcoming host, who gave us a quick walk around. The apartment is located in a quiet street, and is few minutes walk from the centre of York. It's very well appointed, clean, modern, well maintained and comfortable. The beds were very comfortable. We felt at home instantly and had a wonderful stay at 59 St Deny's.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Juno136
Gloucestershire, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
24 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Perfectly Lovely Little House”
Reviewed 24 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

When trying to find somewhere for the whole family to stay in York for my son's Graduation, I stumbled across this rental by accident on the Tripadvisor site. What a happy accident that was!
The house itself is beautifully decorated and furnished, with a comfortable, homely atmosphere juxtaposed with gorgeous on-trend style.
Everything has been thought of and provided, with state-of the-art technology in the form of the TV, coffee machine etc, excellent kitchen equipment, lovely bathroom toiletries and fluffy towels, deliciously comfy beds etc etc, You name it, No 59 has it!
It goes without saying that everywhere was as clean as a whistle.
The owners are clearly people with excellent taste and a huge amount of thought has gone into creating a holiday home that exceeds all expectations.
The customer service provided is second to none. We were met by Jerry, the owner, on our arrival and after unloading were shown where to park the car in the free nearby parking space, about three minutes walk from the house.
The house is so central that I only needed to use the car once, to drop my son at the uni, about ten minutes drive away ( £6 in a taxi). We walked into the city centre, along the river, around the Minster, out for dinner, to go shopping... The whole of York is on the doorstep.
There is a teeny bit of traffic sound at night and you need to pull the blackout blinds under the bedroom curtains, but this is to be expected in the centre of a vibrant city. There is a handsome old church opposite the house though and no pubs or restaurants in the street, so no "kicking out time" noise.
There was a pint of milk and a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge, lots of tea and coffee and Betty's Tearoom biscuits provided. After unpacking we sat in the sunshine in the very private courtyard garden and congratulated ourselves on our find.
The cost of renting this lovely house to accommodate a family of four, the children being young adults, was so much better value than a equivalent hotel would have been, and much nicer, too.
My 19 year old daughter wants to live at No. 59 St Denys Road, and I think perhaps I do, too!

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: The interior of the house
Liked least: Traffic noise at night
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HJCButler
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Gorgeous cottage, great location”
Reviewed 21 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

Really lovely little cottage, spotlessly clean, nicely decorated, had everything we needed in a home-from-home way, plus thoughtful extras like bathroom toiletries, teas & coffees, milk and Prosecco in the fridge...
Very pleased with ourselves for selecting it as an alternative to a hotel, much more cost-effective for four of us, and we had somewhere to sit and relax together, make our own breakfast, cool our Prosecco in the fridge, sit outside when the sun was shining etc.
Even more chuffed when we realised the road with all the bars and restaurants (Fossgate), including the Blue Bicycle and Ambiente Tapas which had been widely recommended to us, was literally at the end of St Denys Street.
Easy to walk to anywhere, shops (essentials and mooching varieties) less than 150 yards away, yet a quiet little oasis.
Lovely, lovely, lovely. Would stay here again a million times.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Cleanliness and location
Liked least: Overlooked by office blocks, but no trouble as we stayed on a weekend
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kate M
Brighton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Lovely house, great location”
Reviewed 20 July 2015 for a stay in July 2015

The house is charming, very comfortable and furnished with style and quality. Very well appointed kitchen, excellent wifi signal. The whole house was flawlessly clean. Although the road is busy during the day, it's quiet at night. A stone's throw from any number of nice restaurants, and an easy walk to many of York's sightseeing attractions. The owners couldn't have been nicer: friendly, helpful and responsive and provided a generous welcome pack! I thoroughly enjoyed my stay.

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
21 Jul 2015
So glad you enjoyed your week in York. Taking the time to review us is much appreciated, as are all the positive comments you make. Perhaps you'll consider staying with us again in the future. We would be pleased to welcome you. Thank you.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
biscuitsg...
Burnley, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Home from Home”
Reviewed 31 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

My husband and myself and two friends have just returned from a weekend stay at this lovely house in the centre of York. You could not have asked for a better position, it was also very clean and really well equipped, we wanted for nothing! The owners kindly left a bottle of Prosecco in the fridge along with milk and biscuits as a welcome gift. It was a real home from home and would certainly return again. I would have no fear in recommending this rental to anyone.

Everything was provided for our comfort and made our stay most enjoyable. With four adults sharing there was plenty of space with two double bedrooms furnished tastefully and very comfortable. Beautiful bathroom with instant continual hot water whenever it was wanted. This is an exceptional letting and I'm so glad we chose to stay here instead of in a hotel.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: All of it!
Liked least: Nothing to dislike!
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$210
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing