We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!!”
Review of Ate O'Clock

Ate O'Clock
Reserve with OpenTable
Ate O'Clock is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #125 of 994 Restaurants in York
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$10 - US$37
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special Occasion Dining, Romantic, Business meetings
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: Nestled down an alley in the center of York you’ll find Ate O’Clock restaurant. Our recently refurbished restaurant now seats 100 people, offering indoor & outdoor dining. The restaurant offers a relaxing, friendly atmosphere with courteous, efficient staff. Our menus use fresh, local produce, cooked to order, and mostly home-made. Outside allows for lunch in the sun, a pre-dinner drinks area, or after dinner coffee chill-out zone. The seating arrangements, parasols and outside heated lamps make the area comfortable all year round.
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Visited York for my 30th with my partner and come across this walking round the streets of York in the afternoon, so popped in and booked a table for the evening. What a find! The food was lovely! 2 x steals dinners cooked to absolute perfection! Up there with the best steak I’ve had before. Can’t knock the speed of service , standard of service or quality. Was an excellent choice of restaurant and lovely food and surrounding to go with it. We had pudding after as we enjoyed the mains that much we couldn’t go without trying desert, it didn’t disappoint!
£64 for a beer, glass of wine , 2x steak meals and 2x puddings, can’t grumble with the quality of food!
Will return again when we are next in York and recommend to family and friends .

5  Thank Ashleymtfc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteYork, Public Relations Manager at Ate O'Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi,

Thank you so much for leaving such a detailed review! I’m so glad you had such a great time with us and really look forward to welcoming you back soon!!!

Big Love
The Ate Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (1,438)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

153 - 157 of 1,438 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

First visit.Booked in for 8.00.
Unfortunately most of the specials board were not available.
Cocktails were £5.00 each on specials but again were not available,but were available for £8+!
Apart from the above the staff were very polite and welcoming and the food was very good.
Well worth a visit.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank GYDR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteYork, Public Relations Manager at Ate O'Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi,
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you

I’m sorry you were disappointed with the lack of special offers available, we keep fresh stock in house so unfortunately and due to popular demand on occasion we do run out of our 8Oz rump steaks that we have on offer.

I am however very glad that you enjoyed your experience with us and would recommend popping down on a weekday when we have our specials on for sure!

Look forward to seeing you soon!

Big Love,
The Ate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Heard great things about this restaurant so decided to pop in for lunch. Staff all looked miserable, had to wait ages for our food and then the order was wrong so had to wait for another to be cooked. Wouldn’t recommend and won’t be returning

5  Thank cjm992015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteYork, Public Relations Manager at Ate O'Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi,
Sorry for the delay in getting back to you.

Thanks for taking the time to review us, I’m sorry that you had a poor experience with us, we normally have a very happy and bubbly front of house team so I’m not sure what was wrong on that day and I do apologise for this! Also many apologies for the delays you experienced.

We would love you to come back and see us in action on another occasion so we can show you our true style of service!

Look forward to welcoming you back!

Big Love,
The Ate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018

Staff didn't check back on us during our meal, which consisted of stale bread, tiny portions and worst of all warm creme brulee with a scrambled egg like texture. They didn't seem bothered about this at all and didn't compensate us or apologise. Would not return.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Louise B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteYork, Public Relations Manager at Ate O'Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Louise,

I’m so sorry you didn’t have a great experience with us, we are currently implementing a massive training scheme with our staff to ensure these mistakes don’t happen in the future, with regards to the food I will be sure to pass your feedback to the kitchen so we can look at where we are going wrong.

It would be great if you would try us again so that we can show you how we really do service!

Big Love
The Ate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Lovely feel, great service and quality food. Highly recommended. Pretty grown up environment but perfect for families (our kids are 12,14,16).

2  Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AteYork, Public Relations Manager at Ate O'Clock, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2018

Hi Paul

Thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review, glad you enjoyed our little spot as much as we do!

Big Love,
The Ate Team.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Ate O'Clock also viewed

York, North Yorkshire
 
York, North Yorkshire
York, North Yorkshire
 

Been to Ate O'Clock? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing