We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (214)
Filter reviews
214 results
Traveller rating
131
52
9
16
6
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
131
52
9
16
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews the pub railway line sunday lunch hadrian's wall pie a large car park main building fish and chips lamb mince and dumplings the sticky toffee pudding varied menu piping hot stayed here for nights north tyne night stay evening meal
Filter
Updating list...
24 - 29 of 214 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2018

Have visited quite a few times over the years - always had excellent, friendly service and great food. Haven't been for a few years, decided to give it a go yesterday. Great, friendly service from the younger members of staff – efficient and working well under the pressure of a busy Saturday. The food could not faulted – good, homemade, decent country grub that can’t be beat.

The first person you saw walking into the restaurant, what I presume to be the manager on shift was damn right unfriendly, unwelcoming and hostile towards customers and to members of staff right in front of customers, very unprofessional and a bad impression – a definite downer on our visit.

She could do with learning to lower her voice when talking about other customers which could be heard clearly through the restaurant. Very unprofessional and a bad impression on the younger members of staff who she could learn a thing from about her attitude.
I will think twice about coming back– not a great addition to a place I’ve been coming to for years and always had great service. Big disappointment compared to previous visits here.

Date of stay: March 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank milliejdix
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 March 2018

First time I have been in since the dreaded floods. The bedrooms are excellent and have everything that you need for your stay, the décor is excellent. Comfortable beds, warm room thanks to the electric heating.
WIFI is great for doing work upon, so no complaints there.
Breakfast is cooked to order and good friendly service throughout- no complaints!

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Shimmy192
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 February 2018

We have been to the Boatside several times and always had an excellent Sunday lunch. However, our last visit on Sunday Feb 25 was really disappointing. I ordered Roast Lamb and requested the mint sauce. When the little jug arrived it was just vinegar with a few tiny shreds of mint floating in it. Mint sauce is not expensive so why they feel it is necessary to dilute it is beyond me. When the waitress came to clear the table she dropped a knife on my husband - she did apologise but made no effort to get a cloth to wipe his jumper. She did smile and say that she had done something similar to another customer - which did not go down well with us. We would have said something at the time but we were with friends and did not want to make a fuss.

Date of stay: February 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LesleyandRobin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2018 via mobile

Visited today with friends, we all agreed was the best Sunday lunch we have all had so like home roast !!
Staff delightful, great menu choice , all the roasts and many other choices .
Enormous Yorkshire puddings really fresh, and PROPER meat juice gravy.
Beef and lamb both perfect, lovely veg too.
You need to book , such a popular place .
Can’t wait to go back !!

Date of stay: January 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank sally308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 January 2018

We met friends for dinner in the restaurant - the atmosphere and food were wonderful. ALL the staff and owners were so friendly and nothing was a problem. We had also booked a room for the night and it was exceptional in every way, and very comfortable.

Date of stay: January 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieFaerie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews