We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 10:00 AM - 6:00 PM
Save
  
Ways to Experience Vindolanda
from US$67.71
More Info
from US$871.15
More Info
from US$86.98
More Info
from US$153.09
More Info
Reviews (2,260)
Filter reviews
2,260 results
Traveller rating
1,798
383
42
9
28
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,798
383
42
9
28
Show reviews that mention
All reviews roman army museum hadrian's wall archaeological site roman shoes well worth a visit taking place archaeological dig guided tour on display excellent museum large area joint ticket interested in roman history coffee shop roman times great place to visit fascinating place
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
29 - 34 of 2,260 reviews
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Suggest you get a guide as you'll learn something. A great place, very interesting and you'll come away knowing more than when you went in. Fascinating and still ongoing but the museum is of such quality. Great to see and the windows into Roman life is fascinatingly normal!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank oliverm927
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Most of the site is inaccessible to disabled people. The museum is good but very few of the paths are smooth and solid so it’s impossible for a mobility scooter or wheelchair user to see most of the remains. The current excavations were completely inaccessible.

The cost of admission should be halved (at least) for disabled.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Colonel_JB_Ormsby
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VindolandaTrust, Manager at Vindolanda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

We are sorry to hear that you were disappointed with the access for visitors with mobility difficulties. The Trust has invested in paths which allow access a large percentage of the site. As a heritage site, it is impossible to create paths to all areas, however we continue to look at the best options to increase accessibility where possible while also adhering to scheduled monument consent.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great blend of information, museum and being able to roam around the ancient stones. Alex was a witty and interesting tour guide… for a Scotsman!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank D4116ZSianc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
VindolandaTrust, Manager at Vindolanda, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thanks for taking time to review your visit, we will pass on your kind words to your guide.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Great tour by our guide Alex. He was very informative and you could tell he loved volunteering at the site. Fantastic ruins for any budding historian to visit and indeed anyone interested in Roman history. Museum was really interesting and packed with artefacts from the excavation which was fascinating. I’d recommend taking a packed lunch as the cafe sold out of a lot of things by 13:00 but their jacket potatoes and paninis were delicious.

Only thing I would say is when we arrived via the museum/cafe entrance we were told that the guided tour started at the courtyard. There were very few of any at all signposts that tell where the courtyard was and myself and about 20 others were waiting in the wrong place before asking a passing staff member who told us it’s in the building at the top of the site.

Apart from that hiccup it was a brilliant day out. Excavations continue so we’ll be coming back in a few years time to see what else has been uncovered.

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank Wanderer01817666645
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 August 2021

Went to the Roman Army Museum first and thought that was the indoor bit and this was just a few walls. How wrong we were. We arrived in time for a guided tour by a volunteer Val, who took a group on a 45 minute journey around the site. This was ideal as the size of the site is staggering and the archaeology uncovered was immense. We then went to the shop and cafe, to find a great museum displaying many of the finds and explaining what they believe happened.
After this visit we did not see the point in going to any of the other forts!

Date of experience: August 2021
Thank D4738UTdanielb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews