We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Tasty late lunch”

The Small World Cafe
Ranked #7 of 117 Restaurants in Hexham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$12
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Description: The Small World Cafe is a family run Licensed Coffee Shop in beautiful Hexham. We are open Monday through Saturday and serve fresh homemade food everyday. Daily newspapers and magazines add to the enjoyment of your visit. We source as many products as we can locally and are great advocates of "fresh is best". We offer the finests quality tea's and Coffee along with locally produced dairy products and cakes. Take away service is available everyday. We are a family run business with experience in the catering industry. We have a great passion for food and understand the importance of looking after you and giving you the quality of product you deserve.
Reviewed 14 September 2017

Tasty food: bacon, brie and cranberry baguette with coleslaw and salad followed by lemon cheesecake, with good service at a reasonable price.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank wishy1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Owner at The Small World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely review

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (232)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

70 - 74 of 232 reviews

Reviewed 11 September 2017

Visited this fantastic cafe after morning at the abbey, which it is opposite. What a great range dairy free and gluten free range they have! Delightful brunch with gluten free bread, great coffee (available with soya milk) and a wonderful selection of cakes and tray bakes, many of which were gluten and/or dairy free. So nice to have a decent choice for a change!

1  Thank mikespence2017
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Owner at The Small World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your lovely words about our range of specialist menu's that we have. We have worked hard to ensure that everyone who comes to the café can have an enjoyable experience even if they do have specialist dietary requirements.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 September 2017 via mobile

Both had really nice lunches, served quickly and the staff were very friendly! Would definitely go here a lot if we were locals!

Thank Katie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Owner at The Small World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words. I hope if you are visiting Hexham again you will pop in and visit us.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 September 2017

Super food lots of choice friendly atmosphere the waitresses are pleasant and efficient but watch out for the toasted teacakes they are huge!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Diane M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Owner at The Small World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Thank you for your kind words about our scones and teacakes. The scones are baked fresh on the premises every day and our teacakes are from local Rothbury Bakery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2017 via mobile

Very busy and had to wait for a table. Food was tasty and the portions were big for the price. Enjoyed the sandwiches for lunch.

Thank Kathryn H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Angela W, Owner at The Small World Cafe, responded to this reviewResponded 27 November 2017

Than you for your review. Apologies if you had to wait for a table. We can get very busy at lunchtime but I'm pleased you found the food tasty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Small World Cafe also viewed

Hexham, Northumberland
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 
Hexham, Northumberland
 

Been to The Small World Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing