We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A really delightful cottage, a home from home, so...”
other travellers have booked this property
The house from the private garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The house from the private garden.
Farm house from the Air Garden view from the raised patio.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
38 reviews
The house from the private garden.
Farm house from the Air
Garden view from the raised patio.
The Lounge with open flame gas fire and large tv.
The Lounge
Fabulous views from the raised patio
The Kitchen with Washing machine, Dryer, Dish Washer,Fridge and Freezer
The Kitchen with Washing machine, Dryer, Dish Washer,Fridge and Freezer
Master Bedroom with TV
The Cosy single room with TV
The Cosy single room with TV
Garden view from the patio
Field view from the raised patio
The Bathroom with Electric over shower
The Bathroom with Electric over shower
Looking from the Lounge to the Dinning room
View from the Conservatory doors
Local sights
Views
Our car park
Roman Wall just 1 mile away.
House front.
House front.
The Dinning Room.
The Dinning Room.
The Conservatory.
The Conservatory.
View from the conservatory.
Family Bedroom.
Master Bedroom.
Family Bedroom
Master Bedroom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
3 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 6
Hexham, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 38 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Diana Jen...
1 review
“A really delightful cottage, a home from home, so much to do and see in Northumberland!”
Reviewed 19 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

We stayed at Frankham Fell Farm House for five days and felt really welcome and enjoyed an extremely comfortable holiday. The cottage is fantastic, a home from home, well-equipped and really spacious. I loved having a look around the cottage, the layout is interesting with a very wide staircase dividing the dining area / kitchen and the lounge. The kitchen is really well-equipped and we were presented with a lovely welcoming gift of drinks and treats. The bathroom has a shower over the bath and the heated towel rail gave us lovely warm towels in the morning and at night. The beds were nice and comfortable and the bedding, towels and tea towels all smelled really nice and fresh.

The conservatory is a great place to sit in the evenings to enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside except for one night when we were treated to a really impressive thunderstorm with lightening lighting up the sky - fantastic :)

We loved hearing the sheep and the birds in the morning when we woke up, along with the dogs next door who were eager for their early morning walks.

There's plenty to do and see in the area. We visited Lindisfarne Island, Warkworth Castle, Hadrian's Wall from Housesteads Forte and The Old Gaol in Hexham. Hexham is just a few minutes drive away with a Tesco's Extra and a Costa Coffee in the same car park inside Next.

Our only grumble is that we should have booked for longer! Would definitely recommend and would love to go back again. Thank you for a wonderful place to stay.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The remoteness but also the easy access to Hexham
Liked least: There wasn't anything that I disliked
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Sep 2016
Hi Diana
Thanks for taking the time to review our house. I really appreciate your lovely comments and I am so pleased you enjoyed your visit to Northumberland. Hope to see you again very soon. Thank you.

Ian Robertson
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Hi Ngairi
Thanks for taking the time to review our farm house it's most appreciated. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again sometime.
Best regards
Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Geoff W
Hemel Hempstead, Herts
Level 5 Contributor
61 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Cracking place to stay”
Reviewed 26 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

Booked the farmhouse for a long weekend, as an alternative to staying in B&B or hotel for 6 family members. So glad we did, as there's plenty of space, it's very comfortable, well equipped and we found it so much more relaxing than a hotel alternative. Yes, we heard the dogs barking from the kennels a few times, but it wasn't intrusive and the location, the views, the walks, the lovely garden and surprisingly lovely weather more than made up for it. A car is essential though, as it's way out in the country about a mile north of Fourstones village, just off the A69 and about 2 miles south of the Military Road and Hadrian's Wall. We all loved our weekend there and would have happily stayed longer if normal life didn't intervene!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable - home from home.
Liked least: Occasional barking from kennels next door.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 May 2016
Hi Geoff
Thanks for your review. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope you all come back again soon.
Best Regards

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Steve W
Isle of Man, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Great Location and Facilities.”
Reviewed 27 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Very nice traditional farmhouse with lots of country atmosphere. Everything you could need in the house with great kitchen, comfy sitting room and nice large bedrooms. Immaculately clean.

The views are great. A nice garden to sit outside or the conservatory to sit and enjoy those views. Nice large parking area, and no noise from the kennels.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The rural location and views.
Liked least: The road in is a bit bumpy, and might be tricky if I bring my Ferrari next time!
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Apr 2016
Hi Steve
Thank you for your review. I am so glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again the next time you are visiting your family.

Ian.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sue1200
Darlington, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Nice place to stay”
Reviewed 8 April 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Lovely location. Ideal for walking holiday. Very comfortable. Incredibly clean. Don't be put off by the idea that the cottage is located next to the owner's kennels -there was no noise which I must admit I had been expecting.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
18 Apr 2016
Hi
Thanks for your review it's greatly appreciated. I glad you had a nice stay.

Best Regards

Ian
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing