We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Wonderful..!”
other travellers have booked this property
Brackenlea Cottage, Harbottle, Northumberland National Park
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Brackenlea Cottage, Harbottle, Northumberland National Park
Harbottle Crags from Harbottle Castle The king-size bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
25 reviews
Brackenlea Cottage, Harbottle, Northumberland National Park
Harbottle Crags from Harbottle Castle
The king-size bedroom
The lounge area
The king-size bedroom
The double bedroom
The lounge area
Luxury furnishings
The lounge and TV area
The kitchen area
The kitchen area
The reading corner
The fireplace
View of Harbottle Crags and the Drake Stone from the Castle ruins
View North towards The Cheviots from Harbottle Castle ruins
View of Harbottle Crags from the village
The view from Harbottle village up to the Drake Stone and Harbottle Crags
The front door
The lovely view from the bedroom window!
The bathroom stag!
Brackenlea Cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Northumberland National Park, Northumberland, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 25 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Dianne G
Manchester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Wonderful..!”
Reviewed 4 April 2017 for a stay in March 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Had a lovely 4 night stay at Brackenlea. Cottage has everything you could need. Comfy bed, wifi, well stocked kitchen. The area is perfect. Walks start from the doorstep (Drake Stone) and following the River Coquet. Further away are the Simonside and Cheviots. Would receommend.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Apr 2017
We're so happy you enjoyed your break and thank you for your kind review - its so appreciated! Would love you to stay again one day.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Deborah Y
Whitby, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Lovely cottage in great position”
Reviewed 3 April 2017 for a stay in February 2017
3
people found this review helpful

Harbottle is a pretty village with a small quirky pub. The house was in a lovely position with great views and walking from the doorstep. It was very comfortable, clean and well equipped. We had a great week and had some fantastic walks. The Cheviots are absolutely beautiful and completely unspoilt. We also spent a day at the coast and walked from Beadnall to Craster, stopping at Low Newton for lunch. A great day, beautiful beaches and a castle en route! Our dog loved it too!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Apr 2017
Thanks so much for your fantastic review! You did all the things we love to do too! You are more than welcome to come back again!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lucyvc84
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed 3 January 2017 for a stay in January 2017
5
people found this review helpful

Brackenlea cottage is just wonderful! The cottage itself is well presented and the owner Sean was very helpful before and during our booking. The kitchen had everything needed for a short stay, the beds were comfy and the living room was cosy with the fan heater fireplace. The large selection of books and DVDs were a bonus as were the welcome crisps and biscuits after a drive from London.

The village is very small (the nearest shop is about 8 miles away) so come prepared for your stay where possible. The local pub opens in the evenings only, we popped in for a drink but no food is served here. The walk to Drakes Stone was a nice way to pass an hour or two and the views are lovely.

We would highly recommend this cottage and would definitely visit again (maybe during summer when the rain will not lessen the chances of star gazing so much).

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Jan 2017
What a lovely review from our special New Year guests! Its wonderful to imagine people enjoying such quality time with their friends and family in our cottage. You are more than welcome to return, hopefully luckier with cloud cover so you can fully enjoy the Dark Sky Park!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lorraine...
Richmond, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
Reviewed 28 November 2016 for a stay in November 2016
6
people found this review helpful

We have just got back from a wonderful weekend at BrackenLea Cottage,
We had a great time, visiting friends from the area, walking eating and drinking,
The cottage had everything you could need, there were four adults staying here and we managed with one bathroom, the house was very warm especially the bedrooms,
We ate out on the evenings and visited the local pub The Star,I think everyone needs to visit here it has been in the same hand for 43 years, as well as it being a pub it is also a shop, Ann does a great job keeping it open and sell wonderful local Hepple gin.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Everything
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Nov 2016
Thank you so much for your lovely review. We're so glad you all had a great weekend and hope Ed and his friends can do it again soon! We'll be more than happy to accommodate you again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ian M
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“wonderful holiday”
Reviewed 7 November 2016 for a stay in October 2016
6
people found this review helpful

Brackenlea Cottage is located in a quiet corner of one of the most outstandingly beautiful areas of Britain.

The cottage is exceptionally equipped, and most importantly, comfortable.

One your doorstep are the beautiful beaches of Northumberland; the historic castles and Lindisfarne; and of course Keilder National Park.

Highly Recommended

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Felt like home rather than a holiday let
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Nov 2016
Thank you sincerely to this lovely family who were our first return guests, having also stayed not long after we started renting the cottage, in Autumn 2015. Returning guests are the ultimate compliment!!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$107
/
Night
Week
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing