We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good fun and great atmosphere ”
Review of The Malt Cross - CLOSED

The Malt Cross
Certificate of Excellence
Dining options: After-hours
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Amazing food, fantastic atmosphere and staff... and the ethos behind the set up is the icing on the cake!! We had the chops with bacon... highly recommend!!

Thank JusiC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malt C, Manager at The Malt Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 24 April 2018

Hello JusiC

Thank you for leaving us a review.

We're so glad you enjoyed our atmosphere, food, staff and ethos!

Hope to see you again soon.

Malt Cross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (302)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

11 - 15 of 302 reviews

Reviewed 31 March 2018 via mobile

Went here to one their Friday night gin tasting evenings which we’d been bought as a present.

These are held in the cellars beneath the pub. There is one cellar with tables, chairs and benches. Be aware the seating is hard and not particularly comfortable and there seems to be no heating, although we’d didn’t find it cold on a cool March evening.

There were just under 20 of us. We started with a Dutch fore runner to gin and then tried four different gins. There was a selection of tonics to try with them plus a plate of several fruits to add to them. It was interesting to see how a slice of orange, grapefruit, strawberry etc changed the gin.

This process was accompanied by an interesting history of gin and descriptions of each product. At the end we all chose the one we wanted another glass of.

This was an interesting and informative hour plus.

Thank David A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malt C, Manager at The Malt Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello David A

Thanks for leaving us a review.

We're so pleased you enjoyed your gin tasting and found it interesting and informative!

Our caves tend to be a steady 14 degrees or warmer once they are filled with a group of people so we don't usually need heating down there for our gin tasting events.

Thanks

Malt Cross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2018 via mobile

Beer - good
Sausage - curly
Burger - gluten free and amazing
Atmosphere - cosy but modern
Fairy lights - impeccable
A little drunk - yes

Our new fave lunch spot, happily surprised with fantastic flavour and great service.

Thank Leahqueenofgravy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malt C, Manager at The Malt Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2018

Hello Leahqueenofgravy

Thank you for leaving us a review.

We're so glad you enjoyed our bangers & mash, burgers and beer and are very flattered to hear you found our fairly lights impeccable!

We hope to see you again soon.

Malt Cross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018

Visited for the first time yesterday and what a treat, a really treasure of a venue, splendid atmosphere and the place has a lot of history with a plenty alcohol choices in very pleasant surroundings.

    • Value
    • Service
Thank TeamWard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malt C, Manager at The Malt Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi TeamWard

Thanks for leaving us a review.

We're so glad you discovered us and enjoyed our beautiful music hall and our drink selection.

We hope to see you again soon

Thanks

Malt Cross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2018 via mobile

We had an absolute blast gin tasting in the caves at the malt cross! 5 gins to try and plenty of history to boot too!

Thank Cinders1990
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Malt C, Manager at The Malt Cross, responded to this reviewResponded 26 March 2018

Hi Cinders1990

Thanks for leaving us a review.

We're delighted to hear you had an absolute blast gin tasting in the caves and enjoyed learning about our history.

Thanks

Malt Cross Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Malt Cross also viewed

 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
Nottingham, Nottinghamshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing