We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

“Modern amenities surrounded by country grounds” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Nomad
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Modern amenities surrounded by country grounds”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 February 2012

Went with a group of friends for a spa weekend in January and didn't know what to expect. But overall, was pleasantly surprised.

When we pulled up to the entrance, it was a real surprise to see the grand modern building juxtaposed next to the historic manor house next door. Both are surrounded by vast green grounds, perfect for long walks.

Check in was fairly easy - similar to stays at other Crowne Plazas. Lobby decor seemed new and actually very contemporary in design. The rooms were another pleasant surprise - very stylish and new with a lavender, silver and white design palette, plus the topper beds and ironed sheets were a treat! Perfect for a quiet night's sleep in the country. The bathrooms include both a glass shower and a big bathtub. Both the room and the bathroom were very clean.

We had a special deal that included a 3 course dinner in the white and black 'mod' decor restaurant. Again, we didn't expect much at first, but was impressed by both the quality of the cooking and the portion sizes. Service was as good as in most city restaurants. Same for breakfast the next morning - lots of selections both hot and cold. Abundant food, clean and efficient service, relaxing time. We were very satisfied.

We also had booked treatments in the spa - though perhaps the treatments weren't enough of a draw to come here as a destination, the service was professional and all the amenities were modern, clean and new. As mentioned in previous reviews, the spa isn't attached to the hotel, so you will need to walk through the older manor house, then outside for less than 100 yards to reach the spa. Only shame when we were there was that the steam room was out of order and there was so much water on the ground by the pool and steam rooms. Made the ground very slippery to walk on -- forget about walking in the slipper given to you at the spa reception!

The weekend was very relaxing, helped by the all-inclusive nature of the hotel's amenities and the comfortable beds. Would recommend for a long-weekend away to get away from the city and enjoy the fresh air in the country.

Room Tip: Try to avoid a room right above the building as you will get some noise from new arrivals by car and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Neconoir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,227 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    406
    408
    257
    97
    59
See reviews for
225
511
14
222
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (255)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Manchester
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 February 2012

Stayed with family and made used of all facilities. We were aware that the spa was a short walk from hotel building and we were offered a ride in the porters golf buggy round there, which our 2 year old loved! The treatments were good but I would recommend booking well in advance. Children are allowed in the pool.

We got a reduced rate for golf and the course is surprisingly good (although long).

Breakfast was great and aside from pre cooked (good quality) breakfast they were more than happy to make fresh omelettes and poached eggs.

We all enjoyed dinner and there was a good selection of starters and mains.

All in all a very enjoyable stay. Rooms were modern and spacious (we had executive doubles and family rooms) and hotel has a really nice feel to it. Special mention goes to Alan who has worked there for many years and was extremely knowledgable about the resort and local area, plus he was a great help. Every hotel should have an Alan!

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lucy2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 February 2012

We went in a group of 6 girls for one night and had a lovely time. The hotel was in a beautiful setting with clean and modern interiors. The bedrooms were outstanding, bathrooms as well. Beds were amazingly comfortable and we all had a good night's sleep.

The spa is lovely too, although you do have to walk through muddy gardens to get there. The hotel does provide a chauffered golf buggy to ferry guests back and forth.

The pool was great, although no jacuzzi.

We had a 30min treatment included in our package and my therapist was brillliant. Although there is only three treatment rooms and one of those is a double bed room.

Overall, we had an amazing time and I'd recommend this hotel to anyone whether for a girls night in or a romantic getaway, it caters for all.

Can't wait to go back.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Leanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 January 2012



Maybe we made a wrong choice. If you want to feel special  You don't go to the chain owned hotel where the customers are numbers and staff is lost in the jungle of rules to follow forgetting the most important one - that everyone is different.
Everything we expected was there so why did it feel not quite right...
The best part of the hotel are grounds surrounding it. Absolutely stunning, unspoild beauty, giving you impression that you are in the middle of nowhere. Then you enter this huge hotel and are barely acknowledged by the reception staff offering you carefully learned smile, not quite reaching their eyes. Your journey begins. In the labyrinth of floors an corridors you find your modern little room.  As big as a cupboard It would have been cossy if not for the temperature in it- freezing cold!  Next there is a bar and if you are lucky like us, not booking the restaurant in advance, you end up eating there. The menu looks better than the food itself so I won't recommend. Finally the health club with the swimming pool and spa. No, don't put your bathrobe on because you have to leave the hotel and walk in the darkness to get there.
To complete this lovely trip lets have a cold bacon and sausages for breakfast ...
The lady at the check out will ask you if everything was ok with your stay but what could we say.  It is a four star hotel, it has everything it promises and yet it disappoints. It's not a place that makes you feel special.

  • Stayed January 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iwonab
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
GMHeythrop, Manager at Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford, responded to this review, 18 March 2012
Thank you for your comments, we are all disapointed that you did not fully enjoy your stay.

I understand that my team have tried to make contact with you, would you mind calling me directly on 01608 673333.
Regards
John Angus
Resort Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
116 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 January 2012

Booked for a quick night away, this hotel certainly is tucked away in the Cotswolds.
From my past experience of the area, the hotel used to be the Nat West training college years ago. So as you would expect with an ex-financial institution, very grand and lavish surroundings.
Plaque inside reception indicates that PM david Cameron opened the hotel in 2010.
So, hotel and staff all very nice. Food however wasn't the best I have tasted at the IHG restaurants. The top priced steak at aprox £22.00 really wasn't up to the mark. To even up the balance though, my wife enjoyed her chicken without issue.
One other point perhaps the designers of future IHG hotels may wish to take on board....you really shouldn't have to start moving bedside furniture in able to access the chair to sit at the desk!! The chaair in our exec room could only be accessed when the bedside table was pulled into the middle of the room : ) When you renovate a hotel of this size, issues like this shouldn't occur.
We skipped breakfast as £15 - £25 pp did seem somewhat steep.....wwe found a lovely Cotswold cafe serving locally produced breakfasts for half the price.

Room Tip: One tip.......Beware...if you don't intend to eat at the restaurant, there is only one pub in En...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank _forevergreen_Uk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chipping Norton
0.1 km away
Heythrop Park Resort
Heythrop Park Resort
#6 of 7 in Chipping Norton
3.0 of 5 bubbles 938 reviews
29.9 km away
De Vere Oxford Thames
36.9 km away
The Oxford Belfry
The Oxford Belfry
#2 of 2 in Milton Common
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,590 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
15.8 km away
Old Swan & Minster Mill
Old Swan & Minster Mill
#1 of 1 in Minster Lovell
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,640 reviews
14.5 km away
Eynsham Hall Hotel
Eynsham Hall Hotel
#1 of 1 in North Leigh
3.5 of 5 bubbles 1,117 reviews
24.8 km away
Macdonald Randolph Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford

Property: Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford
Address: | Heythrop Park Enstone, Chipping Norton OX7 5UF, England
Phone Number:
Region: United Kingdom > England > Oxfordshire > Chipping Norton
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Hotels in Chipping Norton
Price range (per night): RM464 - RM821
Hotel Class:4 star — Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford 4*
Number of rooms: 197
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, AAE Travel Pte Ltd, Agoda and IHG so you can book your Crowne Plaza Heythrop Park - Oxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing