We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Meal with family before show at New Theatre”
Review of Wig & Pen

Wig & Pen
Ranked #91 of 702 Restaurants in Oxford
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$20
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Perfect place to have dinner before a show at the New Theatre Oxford. Booked a table in advance. Very accommodating. Adam was exceptionally fantastic as a host to us when we arrived. This is our fourth get together before a show and will go back next time. Food was lovely, hot and fast. Perfect atmosphere. Love it here. Been on many occasions, when not going to a show and all I can say is, it’s rightt up my street. All the staff are lovely and go out of their way to help you, but have to thank Adam for this particular occasion

Thank Kerrie720
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvanstone00, General Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Thank you for the great review, I will make sure Adam ( who is new) gets to hear that have singled out his work. We look forward to seeing you when you next pop in

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (352)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

22 - 26 of 352 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

I wanted to have a good pub fish n' chips experience on my trip.
And this place was an excellent choice that I accidentally stumbled upon after already giving up on finding a good place to eat.
You order at the counter and they bring the food to the table (find one first - I was lucky to come into the restaurant before a football game started) and got a table. The staff was friendly, the toilet was clean.
The food was delicious and the portion was large. An excellent example of a good fish n' chips portion!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank tinkiebellie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvanstone00, General Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 3 April 2018

Hello, many thanks for taking the time to leave us a great review. Really pleased you enjoyed your visit and I agree the fish and chips are excellent. We hope you pop in again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

Nice setting... Friendly staff... Good service... Nice music... We had a delicious fish and chips... The fish is fresh and crispy and tasty ... The French fries are crispy and tasty... It is recommended

Thank Issa M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvanstone00, General Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 31 March 2018

Thank you very much for your review, really appreciate you taking the time to leave us your comments. I think we have the best fish and chips in town and it looks like you really enjoyed them too

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 March 2018 via mobile

This is a Weatherspoon's and serves great food and drink especially for anyone on a budget. A full english breakfast for £3.99 and great meals for not much more.
The staff here are freindly and the bar area is exceptionally clean. Would definately recommend for anyone doing Oxford on a budget.

Thank Sue G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2018 via mobile

Good place for a pint and lunch. Fish goujon sandwich was nice although could have done with a bit more seasoning and jacket potato was pleasant. Staff were friendly.

Thank Frizznut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Pvanstone00, General Manager at Wig & Pen, responded to this reviewResponded 8 March 2018

Thank you for our review. We hope to see you again soon

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Wig & Pen also viewed

Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 
Oxford, Oxfordshire
Oxford, Oxfordshire
 

Been to Wig & Pen? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing